LAW.coLAW.co

Charles L. WARD, Appellant, v. Anthony J. CELEBREZZE, Secretary of Health, Education and Welfare, Appellee

United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit1962-12-11No. No. 19380
311 F.2d 115

Summary

Holding. The court affirmed the Secretary's denial of disability benefits, holding that because medical evidence showed Ward's impairment was remediable through available treatment, it could not satisfy the statutory requirement that a disability be of long-continued and indefinite duration; therefore, the findings of the Secretary were supported by substantial evidence.

Charles Ward, a former automobile mechanic, suffered a ruptured disc in his neck and shoulders following a car accident. After surgical removal of the disc failed to eliminate his pain, he sought Social Security disability benefits. The Secretary of Health, Education and Welfare denied his claim, finding that despite residual pain, Ward retained the ability to perform some type of substantial gainful work. Ward challenged this decision in district court, which affirmed the Secretary's determination.

The appellate court identified two key evidentiary issues. First, medical testimony was conflicting: Ward's family physician believed him permanently disabled, while multiple neurosurgeons testified he retained or could develop work capacity. However, no witness identified any specific work Ward could perform given his claimed pain levels. Second, and crucially, the neurosurgeons indicated that Ward's condition was medically remediable through treatment, suggesting his impairment was not yet permanent in nature. The court determined that under the Social Security Act's definition of disability, treatment must be exhausted and found ineffective before an impairment can be deemed permanently disabling.

Summary generated by law.co from the public-domain opinion. The opinion text itself is public domain.

Key issues

  • Whether substantial evidence supported the Secretary's finding that claimant retained capacity for substantial gainful work
  • Scope of appellate review of substantial evidence determinations already reviewed by a district court
  • Whether a medically remediable impairment can constitute disability under the Social Security Act
  • Whether disability exists when medical opinion supports work capacity but no specific work is identified

Procedural posture

Ward appealed the district court's summary judgment affirming the Secretary's denial of Social Security disability benefits under Section 205(g) of the Social Security Act.

Authorities cited

No cited authorities resolved to law.co cases yet.

Opinion

majority opinion

JONES, Circuit Judge.

The appellant, Charles L. Ward, was an automobile mechanic. After being in an automobile accident, Ward began having pain in his neck and shoulders. It was found that the pain resulted from a ruptured disc. Treatment did not eliminate the pain and the disc was removed by surgery. He obtained employment as a gate watchman at which he worked for about two years. He left this job and has not since been employed. He sought to establish a period of disability under Section 216(i) of the Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C.A. § 416 (i). The administrative proceeding resulted in a decision of the Secretary of Health, Education and Welfare that, although Ward continued to have some pain in his neck and back, the evidence did not show his over-all ability to be so severely affected as “to continuously prevent” him from engaging in some type of substantial gainful work. The jurisdiction of the District Court for the Northern District of Georgia was invoked to review the decision of the Secretary. The district court entered a summary judgment affirming the Secretary’s decision. An appeal from that judgment is before us for determination.

The issue before the district court, under Section 205(g) of the Social Security Act, was whether the finding of the Secretary on the question of disability was supported by substantial evidence. It is urged before us by the Secretary that the scope of review, which should be applied by this Court, in a substantiality case where a district court has passed upon the question, should be limited to a determination of whether the district court misapprehended or grossly misapplied the substantial evidence test. The Secretary would have us apply the same standard of review which is followed by the Supreme Court, in its review of the decision of a court of appeal in a case where the initial review is made by that court. Universal Camera Corporation v. N.L.R.B., 340 U.S. 474, 71 S.Ct. 456, 95 L.Ed. 456; N.L.R.B. v. Pittsburgh Steamship Co., 340 U.S. 498, 71 S.Ct. 453, 95 L.Ed. 479; O’Leary v. Brown-Pacific-Maxon, Inc., 340 U.S. 504, 71 S.Ct. 470, 95 L.Ed. 483. The Government makes an appealing argument that the Congress did not intend that there should be a review of the evidence by two courts for a determination of the substantiality of the evidence. However plausible this contention may be, we are not persuaded that we should depart from the judicial precedents holding otherwise. Flemming, Secretary, v. Booker, 5th Cir. 1960, 283 F.2d 321; Roberson v. Ribicoff, Secretary, 6th Cir. 1962, 299 F.2d 761.

Disability, as defined by the Act, means inability to engage in any substantial gainful activity by reason of any medically determinable physical or mental impairment which can be expected to result in death or to be of long-continued and indefinite duration. 42 U.S.C.A. § 416 (i) (1). The family physician was of the belief that Ward was permanently disabled. The neurosurgeons who examined Ward, and there were several of them, were pretty well of a single mind that he was, or would become in a reasonable period, capable of doing some type of work. The difficulty with their testimony is that they do not, nor do other witnesses, point to any kind of work which could be done by a person suffering the pain which Ward claims he suffers when engaging in activities such as might be productive of wages. The evidence presents a doubtful question on present disability. Hicks v. Flemming, 5th Cir. 1962, 302 F.2d 470; Varnado v. Flemming, 5th Cir. 1961, 295 F.2d 693; Butler v. Flemming, 5th Cir. 1961, 288 F.2d 591; Flemming v. Booker, supra.

The evidence does not end, however, with testimony as to the present disability of the appellant. The hearing examiner, in his report, set forth “that the reports of all the neurosurgeons who saw claimant and who, from training, are best qualified to determine the remediability of claimant’s impairment, which is primarily a matter of pain, clearly show that his condition is remediable and his ability to work could be substantially improved” [by surgery]. The record supports the finding. Under a similar definition of disability this Court said, “Not until treatment has been tried and is found unavailing can it be said that a reasonable certainty of permanence appears.” United States v. Hammond, 5th Cir. 1937, 87 F.2d 226. The foregoing language was recently quoted and followed in a decision by the Fourth Cir cuit in a Social Security disability case. There it was said:

“An impairment which is presently capable of being classified as remediable cannot meet the requirement that it be ‘of long-continued and indefinite duration’. We think it plain that the express terms of the Act require a reasonable showing of the permanence of the disability.” Bradey v. Ribicoff, 4th Cir. 1961, 298 F.2d 855.

The findings of the Secretary are supported by evidence. The inferences drawn are reasonable. Neither the Secretary nor the district court misapprehended or misapplied the law. The judgment of the district court is

Affirmed.

. 42 U.S.C.A. § 405(g).