LAW.coLAW.co

WEST v. POLLARD et al.

Supreme Court of Georgia1947-07-11No. No. 15877
202 Ga. 549

Summary

Holding. The court affirmed the dismissal of the action, holding that the insured failed to demonstrate substantial compliance with the policy terms necessary to effect a change of beneficiary because he took no affirmative action himself—merely intending or promising to make a change, without actually requesting the change from the insurance company, does not suffice.

This case addresses when an insured person may successfully change the beneficiary of a life insurance policy. The court distinguished between two types of beneficiary designations: those that are absolute and vested (which cannot be changed without the beneficiary's consent) and those that are explicitly revocable (which allow the insured to change the beneficiary according to the policy terms). When a policy permits revocable beneficiary changes, the beneficiary does not obtain a vested right but retains a contractual right to the policy proceeds unless and until the insured properly exercises the change right.

The court established that substantial compliance with the policy's change procedures is generally sufficient—meaning if the insured has completed all actions within their control and only ministerial acts by the insurance company remain, the change takes effect even if not finalized before death. However, the insured must take some affirmative action; mere intention to change is insufficient. The court found that the insured's only effort here was asking his daughter to request the necessary forms from the company, with no evidence that any actual request was ever made to the insurer itself, falling short of the required compliance.

Summary generated by law.co from the public-domain opinion. The opinion text itself is public domain.

Key issues

  • Requirements for effectively changing a revocable beneficiary designation in life insurance
  • Distinction between vested and revocable beneficiary rights
  • Meaning of 'substantial compliance' with policy change procedures
  • Whether insured's intent alone, without affirmative action, effects a beneficiary change

Procedural posture

The case came before the court following the trial court's sustaining of a general demurrer and dismissal of the plaintiff's action.

Authorities cited

No cited authorities resolved to law.co cases yet.

Opinion

majority opinion

Candler, Justice.

(After stating the foregoing facts.) In an ordinary life-insurance policy, where no power to change the beneficiary is reserved to the insured therein, the issuance of the policy confers a vested right in the person so named as beneficiary, and the insured can not change the contract in this respect without the consent of the designated beneficiary. Bilbro v. Jones, 102 Ga. 161 (29 S. E. 118); Perry v. Tweedy, 128 Ga. 402 (57 S. E. 782, 119 Am. St. R. 393, 11 Ann. Cas. 46); Roberts v. Northwestern Nat. Life Ins. Co., 143 Ga. 780 (85 S. E. 1043); Farmers State Bank v. Kelley, 155 Ga. 733, 736 (118 S. E. 197); Merchants’ Bank v. Garrard, 158 Ga. 867 (124 S. E. 715, 38 A. L. R. 102); Central Nat. Bank v. Hume, 128 U. S. 195 (9 Sup. Ct. 41, 32 L. ed. 370). The rule, however, is different where the insured names a beneficiary by revocable designation, as in this case, thus expressly reserving the right to change the beneficiary. In such event, the beneficiary acquires no vested right or interest in the policy, and upon compliance with the terms of the contract the insured may change the beneficiary. Nally v. Nally, 74 Ga. 669 (58 Am. R. 458); Merchants’ Bank v. Garrard, supra; Ogletree v. Ogletree, 127 Ga. 232 (55 S. E. 954); Hawkes v. Mobley, 174 Ga. 481 (163 S. E. 494). However, since the naming of a beneficiary in a contract of insurance is an integral part thereof (Merchants’ Bank v. Garrard, supra), it can not be said that a beneficiary named in a policy has no rights therein because he has no vested rights. The beneficiary has a right to the proceeds of the policy of insurance, subject to the right of the insured to change the beneficiary according to the terms of the contract; and the right of the beneficiary to have this contract carried out in the manner provided for is as binding upon the insured as his right to change the beneficiary is binding upon the designated beneficiary. Niblack’s Accident Insurance & Benefit Societies, p. 415, § 218. Each of the policies in the instant case contains a provision giving the insured a right to change the beneficiary by and with the consent of the insurer. It has been held a number of times by this court that a substantial compliance with the terms of the policy respecting a change in beneficiary is sufficient. If the insured has done substantially all that is required of him, or all that he is able to do, to effect a change of beneficiary, and all that remains to be done is ministerial action of the insurer, the change will take effect though the details are not completed before the death of the insured. 4 Cooley’s Briefs on Insurance, 3769; Nally v. Nally, supra; Brown v. Dennis, 133 Ga. 791 (66 S. E. 1080); Brown v. Dennis, 136 Ga. 300 (71 S. E. 421); Smith v. Locomotive Engineers’ Mut. Life &c. Ins. Assn., 138 Ga. 717 (76 S. E. 44); Barrett v. Barrett, 173 Ga. 375 (160 S. E. 399, 78 A. L. R. 962). In the Barrett case, supra, this court held that the insured had substantially complied with the terms of his policy, so as to effect a change of beneficiary, where he had signed the insurer’s printed forms for that purpose, and executed an affidavit which he was required to sign, and transmitted these documents to the company through its agent and explained his inability to submit therewith his policy, as required by the contract, where a change of beneficiary was desired by the insured.

In our opinion, the allegations contained in the petition in the instant case do not show such a compliance with the terms of the policies as is necessary to effect a change in beneficiaries. Some affirmative act on the part of the insured is required. His mere intention or desire to do so will not suffice to work a change of beneficiary. Smith v. Locomotive Engineers’ Mut. Life &c Ins. Assn., supra; Niblack’s Accident Insurance & Benefit Societies, § 218; Freund v. Freund, 218 Ill. 189 (75 N. E. 925, 109 Am. St. R. 283); 29 Cyc. 132, 133. In this case no request for a change in beneficiary was in fact made to the company or even so much as signed by the insured. In Smith v. Locomotive Engineers Mut. Life Ac Ins. Assn., supra, it was held that, where a mutual benefit association issued a certificate to a member, in which his mother was designated as the beneficiary, it not appearing that the right to change the beneficiary was restricted, nor the method prescribed, the insured at the time being an unmarried man, who subsequently married, and as an inducement thereto agreed that, if the woman would niarry him, she should be made the beneficiary in the certificate in place of the member’s mother, and where it appeared that the member never did anything to carry out such contemplated change, but promised from time to time to have the change made, and about two years after the marriage wrote his wife that he had written the association requesting the change of beneficiary to be made, the beneficiary named in the certificate was, upon the death of the member, entitled to the benefit fund due upon the certificate as against the widow of the member. In this case, as shown by the petition, the only effort made by the insured to obtain the consent of the company to change the beneficiary in the policies was a request made to his daughter that she secure from the insurance company the forms which it required him to sign as an application for that purpose, but so far as the petition shows no such request was ever made. We do not think that the allegations of the petition show such a substantial compliance with the terms of the policies as would be necessary to effect a change in beneficiary upon the application of equitable principles. Accordingly, it was not error to sustain the general demurrer and to dismiss the plaintiff’s action.

Judgement affirmed.

All the Justices concur, except Bell, J., who dissents.