LAW.coLAW.co

Rhode Island Joint Reinsurance Association v. Brenda Ricci

2026-07-30

Authorities cited

Opinion

majority opinion

Supreme Court

No. 2023-251-Appeal.

No. 2024-246-Appeal.

(WC 15-518)

Rhode Island Joint Reinsurance :

Association

v. :

Brenda Ricci et al. :

NOTICE: This opinion is subject to formal revision

before publication in the Rhode Island Reporter. Readers

are requested to notify the Opinion Analyst, Supreme

Court of Rhode Island, 250 Benefit Street, Providence,

Rhode Island 02903, at Telephone (401) 222-3258 or

Email [email protected], of any typographical

or other formal errors in order that corrections may be

made before the opinion is published.

Supreme Court

No. 2023-251-Appeal.

No. 2024-246-Appeal.

(WC 15-518)

Rhode Island Joint Reinsurance :

Association

v. :

Brenda Ricci et al. :

Present: Suttell, C.J., Robinson, Lynch Prata, Long, and Indeglia (ret.), JJ.

OPINION

Justice Long, for the Court. The defendants, Brenda and Ernest Ricci (Mrs.

Ricci and Mr. Ricci, respectively) (together, the Riccis or defendants), appeal from

a final judgment of the Superior Court entered following a jury verdict in favor of

the plaintiff, Rhode Island Joint Reinsurance Association (RIJRA or plaintiff), on

count I of RIJRA’s complaint for declaratory judgment and on all counts contained

in the defendants’ counterclaims. The Riccis also appeal from the denial of their

motions for a new trial. 1 This action arose as a result of a dispute regarding insurance

1

In reviewing the brief initially submitted by RIJRA, it has come to this Court’s attention that numerous quotations in that brief are not contained in the cases to which they are attributed. In fact, some quotations in the brief do not appear in any case that this Court has been able to locate. Additionally, in one instance, a citation is attributed to a case that does not exist; in another instance, a quotation attributed to the trial justice cannot be found in the trial transcript or the appendix. While we

-1-coverage for a rental property owned by the Riccis. For the reasons set forth in this

opinion, we affirm the judgment of the Superior Court and the trial justice’s denial

of the motions for a new trial.

Facts and Procedural History

We glean the following facts from testimony elicited at trial and the record of

proceedings in the Superior Court. In February 2014, Mrs. Ricci2 purchased a

property at 876 Ten Rod Road in North Kingstown (the property) for $21,000 at a

foreclosure sale. Subsequently, Mrs. Ricci obtained a dwelling and personal liability

policy from RIJRA for the property for the period of February 27, 2014, to

February 27, 2015. At the time of purchase, an individual named David Christian

(Mr. Christian) lived in the property; he had purchased the property via quitclaim

deed in 2012. The Riccis opted to allow Mr. Christian and his family to remain in

the house and pay them rent; the parties executed a two-year lease on March 1,

have addressed this matter with the responsible attorneys, we take this opportunity to reiterate in no uncertain terms that advancements in technology do not absolve attorneys from their obligations to ensure the accuracy and veracity of their filings. 2

Mr. Ricci bid on the property at the foreclosure sale and assigned his bid to his wife; Mrs. Ricci purchased the property. She was the sole named insured on the insurance policy.

-2-2014. 3 The Riccis also agreed to allow Mr. Christian, who had been in the process

of renovating the house, to continue with his renovations.

Mr. Christian paid rent for March but refused to pay the April rent. In the

midst of this dispute over rent, Mr. Christian sought an inspection of the property.

The inspection occurred on April 29, 2014, after which the building and zoning

official for the Town of North Kingstown issued a notice of condemnation to Mr.

Christian detailing the code violations. Specifically, the inspector noted electrical,

mechanical, and plumbing systems in “a hazardous condition”; a lack of sanitary

work surfaces and kitchen floor; missing windows on the second and third floors;

openings in the eaves and soffits; and the possibility of exposed lead paint and

asbestos.

Mrs. Ricci filed a complaint for eviction for non-payment of rent in District

Court on April 23, 2014. Mr. Christian then filed a verified complaint and motions

for temporary restraining order and preliminary injunction for protection from

unlawful eviction on April 29, 2014. The temporary restraining order was granted

that same day and stipulated that Mrs. Ricci must “pay for all lodging and living

3

Only Mrs. Ricci was listed on the lease as the landlord.

-3-expenses.” Mrs. Ricci ultimately received a judgment for possession against Mr.

Christian on June 11, 2014. Mr. Christian subsequently vacated the premises.

When Mr. Ricci visited the property on June 15, 2014, the house was empty,

and he discovered damage he believed had been caused by Mr. Christian and called

the police. Mr. Ricci had only visited the house once previously, after his bid had

been accepted at the foreclosure sale; at no point had Mrs. Ricci ever set foot on the

property. As part of the police investigation, an officer questioned Mr. Christian,

who stated that “[e]verything he took out of the home he had a receipt for” and that

he was “within his right to leave the home as he did.” On June 30, 2014, Mrs. Ricci

filed an insurance claim with RIJRA on the property, alleging that the damage had

occurred as a result of vandalism.

RIJRA hired Flanagan Claims Service (Flanagan), which inspected the

property for the reported damages on July 8, 2014; Flanagan, in a letter to Mrs. Ricci,

summarized its conclusions: “Our inspection revealed the damage to the dwelling

was the result of unfinished remodeling and we found no evidence of vandalism.”

The letter also expressly stated that RIJRA “fully reserves unto itself all

defenses * * *.”

On October 19, 2015, RIJRA filed a single-count declaratory judgment action,

seeking a judicial determination about the parties’ rights and obligations under the

policy. The Riccis answered the complaint and added counterclaims for declaratory

-4-judgment seeking a determination that RIJRA was required under the policy to

proceed to an appraisal of the property, among other claims. In February 2017,

RIJRA moved to bifurcate, or in the alternative, stay defendants’ counterclaims

“unless and until they obtain a judgment entitling them to insurance benefits under

their policy of insurance with RIJRA.” After a hearing on the matter, a justice of the

Superior Court granted the motion and stayed the counterclaims. In May 2019,

RIJRA moved to amend its complaint with leave of court to add a second and third

count alleging that the Riccis had made material misrepresentations and engaged in

fraud. The Riccis answered the amended complaint but did not object to RIJRA’s

motion to amend, and the motion was granted by rule of court.

The Superior Court held a weeklong jury trial in late October and early

November 2022. Mrs. Ricci was represented by counsel, and Mr. Ricci represented

himself. Before the trial began, the trial justice heard motions in limine on

October 25, 2022. The relevant motions will be discussed where appropriate.

Trial began on October 26, 2022. The Riccis presented their case first.4 They

called Mrs. Ricci; Gary Tedeschi, the building official and zoning enforcement

officer for the Town of North Kingstown; Patrick Dowling, Jr., an attorney who

represented them in a number of real estate transactions; Officer Michelle Kinney, a

4

At the hearing on the motions in limine, the parties discussed the order of proof during trial. The trial justice ultimately granted the Riccis’ motions to be heard first.

-5-patrol officer with the North Kingstown Police Department; William D’Amico II, a

public adjustor; Mr. Ricci; and Karen Valente, a senior property examiner with

RIJRA. RIJRA opted not to call any witnesses; because Mr. Christian was not

available, his deposition was offered by RIJRA and read into the record. During

deliberations, the jury sent the trial justice the following question: “With regard to

the first question on the verdict form. What is considered to be alleged damage?

For example, is the alleged damage that which is contained in Exhibit I, the

Performance Adjusting Estimate?” After conferring with the attorneys, the trial

justice sent back her answer: “Yes, Exhibit I, the Performance Adjusting Estimate is

considered to be alleged damage along with any other evidence that has been put

properly before you with respect to the issue of damage that you deem appropriate.”

The jury reached a verdict on November 2, 2022, answering “No” to the

question, “Do you find that Brenda Ricci and Ernest Ricci have proven by a fair

preponderance of the evidence that the alleged damage occurred between

February 27, 2014 and June 15, 2014?” Because they answered no, they did not

have to reach the other two questions on the form: “Do you find that Brenda Ricci

and Ernest Ricci have proven by a fair preponderance of the evidence that the

damages alleged were caused by vandalism?” and “Do you find that Rhode Island

Joint Reinsurance Association has proven by a fair preponderance of the evidence

that Brenda Ricci or Ernest Ricci or both intentionally concealed or misrepresented

-6-any material fact or circumstance; or engaged in fraudulent conduct; or made false

statements concerning their insurance claim?” Counsel for Mrs. Ricci asked to poll

the jurors, who each confirmed that they agreed with the result on the first question

of the verdict form.

The trial justice entered judgment in favor of RIJRA on November 10, 2022.

The judgment stated that (1) Mrs. Ricci’s insurance policy for the property did not

cover claims relating to the alleged vandalism loss; (2) RIJRA had no obligation to

reimburse defendants for any claims related to the alleged vandalism loss; and (3)

RIJRA is entitled to deny coverage for and disclaim liability for any claim related to

the alleged vandalism loss at the property. The trial justice also entered judgment in

favor of RIJRA with respect to all counts contained within Mrs. Ricci’s

counterclaim, as well as Mr. Ricci’s counterclaim.

The Riccis separately filed motions for a new trial; the trial justice held a

hearing on December 14, 2022. She denied the motions, and the Riccis each

appealed both the judgment and the denial of their respective motions for a new trial.

Issues Presented

On appeal, the Riccis allege a litany of errors. 5 They argue that the trial

justice erred by: (1) denying several of their motions in limine; (2) declining to admit

5

Mr. Ricci joined Mrs. Ricci’s brief in this Court. As such, we refer to the Riccis jointly in addressing their arguments. In the proceedings below, the Riccis filed separate but substantively identical pleadings and motions.

-7-several pieces of evidence that the Riccis attempted to introduce at trial; (3) failing

to accommodate their requests related to jury instructions; and (4) denying their

motions for a new trial. They also argue that RIJRA breached the implied covenant

of good faith and fair dealing. A number of these errors relate to two central issues

that came up repeatedly at trial: RIJRA’s ability to mount a case on its fraud claim

and whether to send the case to appraisal. We will address each assignment of error

in turn.

Motions to Preclude RIJRA from Presenting Evidence of Fraud

The Riccis argue that the trial justice erred in denying their motions in limine

to preclude RIJRA from presenting evidence on its fraud claim and admitting

evidence of fraud. During the hearing on the motions in limine, the Riccis cited

Optical Works and Logistics, LLC v. Sentinel Insurance Company, Limited, 525 F.

Supp. 3d 295 (D.R.I. 2021), for the proposition that an insurer cannot present

evidence about arguments it did not make to the insured when it refused to cover a

claim, but the trial justice found the facts in this case distinguishable. She also noted

that “[t]hese arguments most probably should have been made at that time [i.e., the

time RIJRA moved to amend their complaint] in this [c]ourt’s opinion.” The trial

justice continued that, to suggest that RIJRA is “trying to pull a fast one and add a

fraud count here is,” in her opinion, “completely unfounded.” She then denied the

motions.

-8-The Riccis now allege that this was error. It appears that the crux of their

argument is that RIJRA acted improperly in amending its declaratory judgment

action five years after the Riccis first reported the loss and over three years after it

filed the initial action. They argue, “[w]hether Ricci had or had not objected to

RIJRA’s Motion to Amend the [Declaratory Judgment] action, or whether Ricci had

or had not raised any affirmative defenses, does not excuse the failure of RIJRA to

comply with the mandate of the law and its fiduciary duty * * *.” The Riccis cite

Hahn v. Allstate Insurance Company, 15 A.3d 1026 (R.I. 2011), for the proposition

that if an insurer refuses to submit a claim for appraisal, then it must specify with

particularity the reason for the denial of coverage. The Riccis also cite Optical

Works and Briere v. National Union Fire Insurance Company of Pittsburgh, 116

F.4th 32 (1st Cir. 2024), for the notion that an insurer should not be permitted to

introduce defenses at trial that were not included in its denial letter. The Riccis

further argue that the trial justice erred by not permitting Mrs. Ricci to introduce

testimony that RIJRA added this fraud claim because it had realized that its original

defenses lacked merit.

We review “the grant or denial of a motion in limine for an abuse of

discretion.” Salvatore v. Palangio, 247 A.3d 1250, 1258 (R.I. 2021) (quoting State

v. Marte, 92 A.3d 148, 150 (R.I. 2014)). Here, it is evident that the trial justice did

not abuse her discretion in denying the Riccis’ motions in limine to preclude RIJRA

-9-from presenting evidence of fraud. None of the cases cited by the Riccis provide

support for their position. Both Optical Works and Briere involved defenses raised

by insurance companies in breach of insurance contract suits; but here, the fraud

claim was one of the counts in RIJRA’s declaratory judgment action. See Optical

Works, 525 F. Supp. 3d at 301; Briere, 116 F.4th at 33-34. As the trial justice

observed, this case is “different from cases where the insurance company is trying

to add testimony at trial, or present testimony at trial with respect to additional

theories or reasons for denial of coverage. It’s just not the case here.” Rather, RIJRA

filed the instant action for declaratory relief, and requested a stay of adjudication of

defendants’ counterclaims, explicitly “for the purpose of determining the parties’

respective rights and obligations under a[n] * * * insurance policy issued by [RIJRA]

to Brenda Ricci.”

Through this claim of error, the Riccis attempt to relitigate (or rather, litigate

for the first time) something that should have been argued when RIJRA first moved

to amend its complaint to add the counts for fraud. To argue for the first time in the

weeks leading up to trial after years of discovery that RIJRA should be estopped

from litigating a central part of their amended complaint defies logic. It was well

within the trial justice’s discretion to allow RIJRA to present evidence related to the

claims in its amended complaint, especially after there had not previously been any

sort of registered objection. The Riccis also had the opportunity to rebut evidence

- 10 -of fraud during the trial itself. To suggest that admission of that evidence was so

prejudicial as to warrant a new trial is therefore unsupported. The trial justice did

not abuse her discretion in denying the Riccis’ motions in limine to preclude RIJRA

from presenting evidence on fraud.

Denial of Request to Send the Matter to Appraisal

The Riccis also argue that the trial justice erred in declining to order that the

matter go to appraisal between RIJRA and the Riccis. During the hearing on the

motions in limine, the issue arose in the context of the Riccis’ motions to allow them

“to [i]ntroduce, [p]resent and [a]dmit [e]vidence on [i]ncreased [c]ost to [r]epair

[p]roperty [b]ased on [p]resent [c]ost [v]alue and [r]eplacement [c]ost.” The trial

justice sought confirmation from the parties that if the Riccis prevailed at trial, the

case would be submitted for appraisal; counsel for RIJRA agreed, but counsel for

Mrs. Ricci disputed that they had reached an agreement. After some discussion, the

Riccis agreed to pass the motions without prejudice. 6 Counsel for Mrs. Ricci

brought up the issue of appraisal again when trial began and asked whether it would

be permissible for him to mention it during his opening statement. The trial justice

responded that appraisal was beyond the scope of what should be covered, given that

“[t]his is about liability, not damages.” She noted, “It’s not an issue. * * * [A]s I

6

Although it appears that the trial justice understood this decision to pass the motions as tacit acceptance of the appraisal submission agreement and the scope of the dispute for trial, the Riccis continued to contest this throughout trial.

- 11 -understand it, the parties have agreed that if the jury finds in your favor, then the

defendant or the insurance company has agreed” to submit the matter for appraisal.

Appraisal came up again during the direct examination of Mr. Ricci. The trial justice

responded, “They agreed to appraisal. We’ve gone over this. They’ve agreed.” The

issue came up again next when RIJRA moved at the close of the Riccis’ case for a

judgment as a matter of law. Counsel for Mrs. Ricci brought up the appraisal issue

in his objection to the motion. The trial justice responded: “You continue to talk

about the appraisal process. It’s agreed to. In the event that you prevail in the end,

the company will go to appraisal.”

The Riccis again allege on appeal that the insurance policy contained a

provision that afforded “either party the right to have disputes over the amount of

loss resolved through an appraisal process.” They claim that RIJRA “refused to

submit to an appraisal.” By filing a complaint for declaratory judgment, the Riccis

allege that RIJRA reframed the dispute to be about the “scope of coverage” rather

than the “scope of loss,” which was improper. Despite the Riccis’ numerous

attempts to convince the trial justice to order the matter to appraisal, she refused,

which they allege is reversible error. We interpret defendants’ assignment of error

as a question of the admissibility of evidence, namely, whether the trial justice erred

in preventing them from presenting evidence related to interest on the cost of repair.

To the extent that the Riccis also challenge the trial justice’s decision rejecting their

- 12 -request to send the matter to appraisal, they cite no authority for the proposition that

suggests that the trial justice (1) had this authority and (2) neglected to use it as

compelled by law. 7

“The admissibility of evidence is within the sound discretion of the trial

justice.” Estrella v. Janney Montgomery Scott LLC, 296 A.3d 97, 103 (R.I. 2023)

(brackets omitted) (quoting Cappuccilli v. Carcieri, 174 A.3d 722, 729 (R.I. 2017)).

“[T]his Court will not interfere with the trial justice’s decision unless a clear abuse

of that discretion is apparent.” Berman v. Sitrin, 101 A.3d 1251, 1259 (R.I. 2014)

(brackets omitted) (quoting Morel v. Napolitano, 64 A.3d 1176, 1179 (R.I. 2013)).

This Court will uphold a trial justice’s decision to admit evidence unless the trial

justice clearly abused their discretion and the evidence is both prejudicial and

irrelevant. Accetta v. Provencal, 962 A.2d 56, 60 (R.I. 2009).

By the plain language of the insurance policy issued by RIJRA to Mrs. Ricci,

“either [party] may demand an appraisal of the loss” if the parties “fail to agree on

the amount of loss.” After the Riccis requested the opportunity to present evidence

on interest, the trial justice evaluated the scope of RIJRA’s claims and the Riccis’

counterclaims and concluded that appraisal fell outside the scope of issues at the

7

The Riccis reference G.L. 1956 § 27-5-3, but this chapter is about fire insurance. Even so, § 27-5-3 merely includes language for the provisions of a standard fire insurance policy, including for appraisal. Nowhere in this section is there language to suggest that a trial justice has a mandatory (or really, any) role to play in these sorts of disputes.

- 13 -trial. Based on the language of the insurance policy and the claims raised by both

parties, the trial justice’s decision was eminently reasonable. She repeatedly noted

that there would be an opportunity to submit the damages for appraisal if the Riccis

prevailed at trial. Given that appraisal would only become relevant if a jury found

that the Riccis’ claims were in fact covered under the insurance policy, the trial

justice did not abuse her discretion in refusing to allow the Riccis to introduce

evidence at trial regarding the amount of their loss.

Motions to Preclude RIJRA from Introducing Evidence of Fraud in Mr.

Christian’s Deposition

The Riccis also argue that the trial justice erred in admitting allusions to or

discussions of fraud that appeared in Mr. Christian’s testimony. The Riccis first

moved to preclude RIJRA from introducing any evidence of fraud in the deposition

of Mr. Christian or, in the alternative, from introducing the deposition transcript at

all, during the hearing on the motions in limine. They argued that they were not

prepared to cross-examine him on the issue of fraud at that deposition because

RIJRA had not yet filed its amended complaint to include the fraud claim at that

time. The trial justice queried whether counsel for Mrs. Ricci was at the deposition,

to which he answered affirmatively. The trial justice then denied the motions to

exclude the transcript. The parties revisited the issue during trial once the Riccis

rested and RIJRA endeavored to read Mr. Christian’s deposition transcript into

evidence. Both sides submitted objections to certain pages or lines, asking those

- 14 -excerpts not to be read aloud. Many of Mrs. Ricci’s objections were withdrawn or

overruled. Before the deposition was read into evidence, counsel for Mrs. Ricci

renewed the objection to the introduction of any deposition testimony about fraud,

which the trial justice denied once again.

The Riccis argue here that “RIJRA first raised fraud allegations * * * almost

a year after having taken Christian’s deposition.” They claim they were “blindsided”

because “[f]raud was not a pleaded defense when the deposition occurred.” They

continue, “RIJRA clearly had fraud in mind * * * [covering] the topic extensively in

the deposition, addressing all the information it knew for years but had held back

from Ricci. Yet the Ricci’s [sic] had no prior knowledge RIJRA would elicit such

testimony and were unprepared to address these unpleaded allegations.” As a result,

Mrs. Ricci objected to the introduction of the deposition at trial because “she lacked

opportunity to cross-examine Christian on the later-added fraud count.” Because

her objections during the hearing on the motions in limine and during trial were

denied, the Riccis conclude that there was prejudicial error.

We consider whether the trial justice’s decision to allow the discussion of

fraud in Mr. Christian’s deposition transcript into evidence was an abuse of

discretion. Estrella, 296 A.3d at 103. The Riccis do not allege a specific basis for

error before this Court, nor is one at all apparent from the record. The admission of

this deposition comports with both Rule 804(b)(1) of the Rhode Island Rules of

- 15 -Evidence (former testimony of an unavailable declarant) and Rule 32(a)(3)(B) of the

Superior Court Rules of Civil Procedure (permissibility of deposition testimony at

trial for an out-of-state witness). We find it notable that Mrs. Ricci’s counsel was at

the original deposition and failed to re-depose Mr. Christian after RIJRA filed its

amended complaint. To suggest that the Riccis suffered any prejudice is therefore

unfounded when they had ample opportunity to cross-examine him about RIJRA’s

fraud claim both at the deposition and following the amendment of RIJRA’s

complaint. The trial justice’s decision to deny the motions to exclude any mention

of fraud in the deposition was therefore reasonable and should not be disturbed.

Introduction of the Text Messages

The Riccis assign error to the trial justice’s rulings not to admit text messages

Mr. Christian sent Mr. Ricci, which illustrated the increasing animosity in their

relationship. The Riccis first attempted to introduce text messages between Mr.

Christian and Mr. Ricci while Mr. Dowling, the attorney, was on the stand. Counsel

for RIJRA objected on hearsay grounds, which the trial justice sustained. Counsel

for Mrs. Ricci noted his objection to the trial justice’s decision to bar the admission

of the texts. While Mr. Ricci was on the stand, counsel for Mrs. Ricci once again

tried to introduce the text messages by asking him to read them into the record;

counsel for RIJRA objected again on hearsay grounds. The trial justice queried

whether the messages had been authenticated, to which counsel for Mrs. Ricci

- 16 -replied that they had been in the eviction proceeding. The trial justice disputed that

that authentication was sufficient and noted that the Riccis had not laid the proper

foundation for them to come in. She concluded that the messages were hearsay and

sustained RIJRA’s objection. When counsel for Mrs. Ricci brought up the replyletter doctrine as a strategy for authentication, the trial justice noted that she would

be amenable to this method but noted that they still had “to establish a foundation.”

She gave counsel for Mrs. Ricci the opportunity to research alternative hearsay

exceptions and exemptions under which the Riccis could seek admission of the texts

over the weekend recess.

Counsel for Mrs. Ricci broached the issue of introducing the text messages a

final time when court resumed after breaking for the weekend. He presented several

avenues for admission of the texts, arguing for their introduction under the present

sense impression exception to hearsay, as a declaration of state of mind, or a business

record. The trial justice rejected the first justification because “[t]hese text messages

refer to the past tense, not the present tense” and, as to the latter two, concluded that

those exceptions did not apply. She sustained the objection. Ultimately, the only

text message conversation admitted at trial was a brief exchange between Mr.

Christian and Mr. Ricci about which counsel for RIJRA asked Mr. Ricci during his

cross-examination. The Riccis did not object to the questioning of Mr. Ricci about

these texts, nor when RIJRA sought to admit this brief conversation in full.

- 17 -The Riccis contend before this Court that the trial justice’s decisions not to

admit text messages Mr. Christian sent Mr. Ricci violated Rule 106 of the Rhode

Island Rules of Evidence (the rule of completeness) because RIJRA had used

excerpts of conversations to impeach Mr. Ricci while he was on the stand and they

wanted to use Mr. Christian’s responses “to rebut adverse inferences or provide

context.” The Riccis also argue that they had established authentication and

foundation for the text messages, contrary to the trial justice’s finding.

The exclusion of the text messages is a question of admissibility of evidence,

so we consider whether the trial justice abused her discretion. See Estrella, 296 A.3d

at 103. The rule of completeness does not apply here. The Riccis sought to introduce

hundreds of texts between the two men over a period of months. Rule 106 cannot

be stretched in this way, especially when the Riccis do not explain what they are

trying to contextualize and why it would require so many texts sent over such a long

duration. See, e.g., 1 Christopher B. Mueller & Laird C. Kirkpatrick, Federal

Evidence § 1.44 at 297 (4th ed. 2013) (“The point of Rule 106, after all, is not to

insist on completeness as an end in itself, but to allow others to insist on admitting

enough of a statement to put it in appropriate context.”). The text messages that

were admitted stand on their own; they were used to impeach Mr. Ricci on

cross-examination and offer evidence of his state of mind of immense animus toward

Mr. Christian. Even if the trial justice had erred, the Riccis would still have had to

- 18 -surmount the ruling that the messages sent by Mr. Christian were inadmissible

hearsay. On appeal, the Riccis do not attempt to contest the trial justice’s ruling on

hearsay, but it is clear that she did not err in concluding that the text messages were

inadmissible. The trial justice therefore did not err when she declined to admit this

plethora of text messages, and we affirm her decision to deny the Riccis’ attempt to

introduce them.

Introduction of the Eviction Proceeding Transcript

The Riccis also submit that the trial justice erred in refusing to admit the entire

transcript of the eviction proceeding when she permitted RIJRA to impeach Mr.

Ricci with certain portions of the transcript. Counsel for Mrs. Ricci first broached

this issue on the morning of the second day of trial. He anticipated that RIJRA would

use the transcript to impeach Mr. Ricci when he took the stand; counsel argued that

under Rule 106, the Riccis were entitled to have the rest of the transcript admitted,

or at the very least, that counsel for Mrs. Ricci should be permitted to review the

transcript in its entirety. The trial justice questioned why counsel had not ordered

the transcript in the first place and confirmed with RIJRA that it did not intend to

introduce it. The trial justice concluded that Rule 106 does not apply if the document

is not going to be introduced (i.e., used only for impeachment purposes). During

RIJRA’s cross-examination of Mr. Ricci, RIJRA showed him an excerpt from his

testimony during the eviction proceeding to refresh his memory but did not introduce

- 19 -the transcript as an exhibit. Counsel for Mrs. Ricci renewed the objection and noted

the exception once again.

Before this Court, the Riccis aver that “it was error to allow RIJRA to use only

portions of a transcript from the [eviction] trial to impeach Ernest Ricci, without

allowing Ricci to introduce the entire transcript for context or rehabilitation.” They

seem to renew their Rule 106 argument raised by the failure to allow in the text

messages between Mr. Christian and Mr. Ricci.

The exclusion of the full eviction proceeding transcript is another question of

admissibility of evidence. See Estrella, 296 A.3d at 103. Rule 106 in full reads:

“When a writing or recorded statement or part thereof is introduced by a party, an

adverse party may require him or her at that time to introduce any other part or any

other writing or recorded statement which ought in fairness to be considered

contemporaneously with it.” R.I. R. Evid. 106. As the trial justice noted in denying

the Riccis’ request, RIJRA had already indicated that they would not be introducing

the transcript; she correctly concluded that Rule 106 applies only when a statement

is actually introduced and that it was therefore inapplicable. Given that the Riccis

could point to no other rule or caselaw to support their argument, we conclude that

it was reasonable for the trial justice to deny this request.

- 20 -Jury Instructions

On appeal, the Riccis argue that the trial justice committed two distinct

reversible errors related to the jury instructions: (1) by declining to instruct the jury

on the definitions of “vandalism” and “fixtures” and (2) by refusing to include an

instruction that the loss could have occurred from theft. We will address each

assignment of error in turn.

Counsel for Mrs. Ricci noted before the jury entered on the last day of

testimony that their proposed jury instructions offered “several definitions of

vandalism.” After the close of testimony and after both sides rested, the trial justice

gave the parties the opportunity to weigh in on her jury instructions. After counsel

for RIJRA made his suggested additions and deletions to the instructions, counsel

for Mrs. Ricci made his. Specifically, Mrs. Ricci’s counsel asked the trial justice to

include language that the damage could have occurred as a result of “malicious[]

mischief, or theft.” The trial justice declined to do so because “the original claim

was for vandalism,” which is “the way the claim was presented to the insurance

company.” Mrs. Ricci’s counsel noted his objection.

We review jury instructions de novo. Armour v. Bader, 316 A.3d 1164, 1173

(R.I. 2024). “This Court examines jury instructions in their entirety to ascertain the

manner in which a jury of ordinarily intelligent lay people would have understood

them.” Mangiarelli v. Town of Johnston, 289 A.3d 560, 566 (R.I. 2023) (brackets

- 21 -omitted) (quoting Riley v. Stone, 900 A.2d 1087, 1092 (R.I. 2006)). “We do not

examine single sentences or selective parts of the charge; rather, the challenged

portions must be examined in the context in which they were rendered.” Id. (quoting

Riley, 900 A.2d at 1092-93). The “trial justice fulfills his or her obligation to charge

the jury properly by framing the issues in such a way that the instructions reasonably

set forth all of the propositions of law that relate to material issues of fact which the

evidence tends to support.” King v. Huntress, Inc., 94 A.3d 467, 482 (R.I. 2014)

(quoting Morinville v. Old Colony Co-operative Newport National Bank, 522 A.2d

1218, 1222 (R.I. 1987)). “An incorrect charge warrants reversal only if a jury could

have been misled to the prejudice of the complaining party.” State v. Ros, 973 A.2d

1148, 1166 (R.I. 2009) (quoting State v. Graham, 941 A.2d 848, 855 (R.I. 2008)).

Refusal to Instruct on Definitions of “Vandalism” and “Fixtures”

The Riccis assign error to the trial justice’s “refus[al] to instruct the jury on

‘vandalism’ and ‘fixtures.’” However, neither counsel for Mrs. Ricci nor Mr. Ricci

ever objected on the record to the trial justice’s decision not to include definitions of

vandalism and fixtures in the jury instructions. Indeed, there was no mention

whatsoever about the definition of fixtures during any of the discussions on jury

instructions. As such, this argument is waived. See Super. R. Civ. P. 51(b) (“No

party may assign as error the giving or the failure to give an instruction unless the

- 22 -party objects thereto before the jury retires to consider its verdict, stating distinctly

the matter to which the party objects and the grounds of the party’s objection.”).

Refusal to Include Instruction on Theft

The Riccis further allege that the trial justice erred in rejecting their request

for a theft instruction, arguing that it is possible that the damage could have occurred

as a result of theft during the period between condemnation and Mr. Ricci’s June

visit.

The jury instructions stated, “The insured, Brenda Ricci, bears the burden of

proving by a fair preponderance of the evidence: (1) that the loss occurred within the

policy period; and (2) that the loss was a covered loss under the insurance policy.”

The first question on the verdict form asked the jury whether “Brenda Ricci and

Ernest Ricci have proven by a fair preponderance of the evidence that the alleged

damage occurred between February 27, 2014 and June 15, 2014[.]” This was the

only question the jury answered, as there was no need to go any further given that

the failure to prove that the damage happened during the period of coverage defeated

the Riccis’ case. However, the second question asked whether they proved that “the

damages alleged were caused by vandalism[.]”

Although the Riccis properly objected to the trial justice’s decision not to

include language about theft in the final jury instructions, their argument fails. There

is no evidence to suggest that the trial justice’s decision not to include a theft

- 23 -instruction prejudiced the Riccis’ rights in the case. See Ros, 973 A.2d at 1166. The

only question on which the jury deliberated was whether the damage occurred within

the policy period, so the cause of the damage—whether theft or otherwise—was not

a question ever considered by the jury. There was therefore no opportunity for any

alleged error to undermine the Riccis’ theory of the case and therefore no basis for

reversal.

Motions for a New Trial

The Riccis argue that the trial justice erred in denying their motions for a new

trial. In their motions for a new trial, they argued that the verdict was (1) “contrary

to the credible weight of the evidence, and not supported by sufficient evidence”;

(2) “contrary to the unbiased and uncontradicted evidence of multiple witnesses”;

(3) “contrary to applicable case law”; (4) “contrary to the law, the evidence and the

weight thereof”; (5) “ignores and is contrary to all reasonable inferences”; and (6)

“fails to respond to the merits of the controversy and fails to administer substantial

justice” and that “the charge to the jury was improper * * *.”

“We review a trial justice’s decision on a motion for a new trial with

deference.” Kazarian v. New London County Mutual Insurance Company, 331 A.3d

984, 990-91 (R.I. 2025). We “will affirm a trial justice’s decision on a motion for a

new trial as long as the trial justice conducts the appropriate analysis, does not

overlook or misconceive material evidence, and is not otherwise clearly wrong.”

- 24 -Zarembka v. Whelan, 176 A.3d 485, 487-88 (R.I. 2018) (quoting Bitgood v. Greene,

108 A.3d 1023, 1028 (R.I. 2015)). “In considering a motion for a new trial, the trial

justice sits as a super juror and is required to make an independent appraisal of the

evidence in light of his or her charge to the jury.” Dextraze v. Bernard, 253 A.3d

411, 416 (R.I. 2021) (quoting Letizio v. Ritacco, 204 A.3d 597, 602 (R.I. 2019)). “If,

after conducting this analysis, the trial justice concludes that the evidence is evenly

balanced or that reasonable minds could differ on the verdict, she or he should not

disturb the jury’s decision.” Id. (quoting Letizio, 204 A.3d at 602).

During the hearing on the motions for a new trial, after hearing the parties’

arguments, the trial justice began her decision by reciting the correct legal standard

and the process of her review. She recited the procedural history and summarized

the Riccis’ arguments.

The trial justice evaluated each of the Riccis’ assignments of error in turn.

She first considered the relevant evidence and testimony presented at trial. After

discussing the witnesses’ testimony, she observed: “An exhaustive review of the

record evidence points to one conclusion. With respect to Mr. Ricci’s testimony,

there’s not enough ink in the pen to document his inconsistent statements and false

statements contained in his testimony.” She determined that the jury’s verdict was

supported by the weight of the evidence, concluding, “[a]fter independently

assessing the credibility of the witnesses and affording the testimony the appropriate

- 25 -weight, this Court concludes that the verdict is correct.” She then mentioned the

Riccis’ contention regarding the jury instructions and charge but noted that they did

not object to either the verdict form or the jury charge, so their arguments on both

were waived. She next addressed the contention that she erred in denying the Riccis’

motions to preclude RIJRA from submitting evidence on fraud. She maintained that

the cases cited by the Riccis were inapposite and perceived no error in her denial of

their motions. She similarly concluded that allowing the deposition of Mr. Christian

into evidence and her refusal to admit the glut of messages between Mr. Christian

and Mr. Ricci were proper. She then denied the Riccis’ motions for a new trial.

We note that defendants failed to properly transmit the hearing on the motions

for a new trial transcript to this Court. Article I, Rule 11(a) of the Supreme Court

Rules of Appellate Procedure requires that “[p]romptly after filing the notice of

appeal the appellant shall comply with the provisions of Rule 10(b) and shall take

any other action necessary to enable the clerk to assemble and transmit the record.”

Although the Riccis attempted to order the transcript from the hearing on their

motions for a new trial, it was never received by this Court. As we have noted, “[t]he

appellant, not the clerk, is responsible for the timely transmission of the record and

the transcript under our rules.” Small Business Loan Fund Corporation v. Gallant,

795 A.2d 531, 533 (R.I. 2002). Normally, this Court would not rule on an issue

before us without a transcript, but in this case, RIJRA included the full transcript as

- 26 -an appendix to its brief in this Court, so we will undertake its review. On the merits,

however, the Riccis’ argument fails.

Our review of the trial justice’s decision reveals that she properly performed

her function. She applied the appropriate standard, conducted the correct analysis,

and accurately evaluated both the facts and the law. As such, we affirm the trial

justice’s decision denying the Riccis’ motions for a new trial.

Breach of the Implied Covenant of Good Faith and Fair Dealing

Finally, the Riccis argue that “the acts and omissions of RIJRA constitute a

breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing inherent in the

insurance contract between the parties, such that a new trial is warranted.” However,

the Riccis do not cite to any specific action of the trial justice or a defect in the trial

process related to the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing. Article I, Rule

16(a)(2) of the Supreme Court Rules of Appellate Procedure requires an appellant

to provide in their brief “[a] specification of the errors claimed with a page citation

to the places in the record and the appendix where such error can be found[.]” The

Riccis offer no such citation. This issue, to the extent that one even exists, is

therefore waived. See Horton v. Portsmouth Police Department, 22 A.3d 1115, 1130

(R.I. 2011) (“Simply stating an issue for appellate review, without a meaningful

discussion thereof or legal briefing of the issues, does not assist the Court in focusing

on the legal questions raised, and therefore constitutes a waiver of that issue.”

- 27 -(quoting Kaveny v. Town of Cumberland Zoning Board of Review, 875 A.2d 1, 10

(R.I. 2005))).

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we affirm the trial justice’s decision on the

defendants’ motions for a new trial and reject all of their specific claims of error.

We therefore affirm the judgment in favor of the plaintiff and remand the papers to

the Superior Court.

- 28 -STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

SUPREME COURT – CLERK’S OFFICE

Licht Judicial Complex

250 Benefit Street

Providence, RI 02903

OPINION COVER SHEET

Rhode Island Joint Reinsurance Association v. Brenda

Title of Case

Ricci et al.

No. 2023-251-Appeal.

Case Number No. 2024-246-Appeal.

(WC 15-518)

Date Opinion Filed July 30, 2026

Suttell, C.J., Robinson, Lynch Prata, Long, and

Justices

Indeglia (ret.), JJ.

Written By Associate Justice Melissa A. Long

Source of Appeal Washington County Superior Court

Judicial Officer from Lower Court Associate Justice Sarah Taft-Carter

For Plaintiff:

Gail M. Ryan, Esq.

Attorney(s) on Appeal

For Defendants:

Richard A. Pacia, Esq.

SU-CMS-02A (revised November 2022)