LAW.coLAW.co

Black Mathews, C. v. Ace Property and Casualty

2026-09-04

Authorities cited

Opinion

majority opinion

J-A10038-26 2026 PA Super 197

CHRISTINE BLACK MATHEWS, AS : IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF

POWER OF ATTORNEY FOR JUSTIN : PENNSYLVANIA

MATHEWS :

:

Appellant :

:

:

v. :

: No. 638 EDA 2025

:

ACE PROPERTY AND CASUALTY :

INSURANCE COMPANY :

Appeal from the Order Entered February 11, 2025

In the Court of Common Pleas of Philadelphia County Civil Division at

No(s): 231000190

BEFORE: STABILE, J., LANE, J., and STEVENS, P.J.E.*

OPINION BY STEVENS, P.J.E.: FILED SEPTEMBER 4, 2026

Christine Black Mathews (“Appellant”), as Power of Attorney for Justin

Mathews, appeals the order entered by the Court of Common Pleas of

Philadelphia County granting the motion for judgment on the pleadings filed

by ACE Property and Casualty Insurance Company (“ACE”). We affirm.

On September 29, 2019, Justin Mathews (“Mr. Mathews”) was crossing

an intersection on foot within a marked crosswalk in Brooklyn, New York, when

he was hit by a vehicle driven by Brian Ash, an underinsured motorist.

Amended Complaint, at ¶ 7-8. As a result of the significant injuries Mr.

Mathews sustained in the crash, he was rendered quadriplegic and requires

extensive medical care. Id. at ¶ 13-14.

* Former Justice specially assigned to the Superior Court.

J-A10038-26

At the time of the accident, Mr. Mathews was employed as an executive

of Interpublic Group of Companies (“IPG”). Id. at ¶ 15. Following the

accident, Appellant, as Power of Attorney for Mr. Mathews, sought to recover

uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) benefits for her husband under

insurance policies held by IPG, including the Great Northern Business Auto

Coverage Policy (“Great Northern Policy”) and the ACE Umbrella Plus New York

Commercial Umbrella Liability Policy (“Umbrella Policy”). Id. at ¶ 16-23.

Both of IPG’s insurance policies were administered by Great Northern and

ACE’s parent company, Chubb Insurance Company (“Chubb”). Id. at ¶ 24.

In a letter dated May 18, 2020, Chubb agreed that Mr. Mathews was

entitled to UIM coverage under the Great Northern Policy, specifically under

an endorsement entitled “Drive Other Cars – Broadened Coverage for Named

Individuals,” which covered “all executives and officers of [IPG]” as “named

insureds” if they are struck by a vehicle not owned by the insured while they

are pedestrians. Id. at ¶ 17, 26; Chubb letter, 5/18/20, at 1.

However, in the same letter, Chubb denied Mr. Mathews coverage under

the Umbrella Policy on behalf of ACE, asserting that the accident did not trigger

the insuring clauses of the Umbrella Policy which only covers losses above the

policy limit of an underlying insurance policy that the insured “becomes legally

obligated to pay as damages because of ‘bodily injury.’” Chubb letter, 5/18/20,

at 3; Umbrella Policy, at 1.

Appellant filed a complaint on October 2, 2023 and an amended

complaint on November 11, 2023 against ACE in the Court of Common Pleas

-2-J-A10038-26

of Philadelphia County raising claims of breach of contract, bad faith, and

breach of the duty of good faith and fair dealing as well as seeking a

declaratory judgment.1 After ACE filed preliminary objections to the Amended

Complaint, the trial court entered an order on May 9, 2024, sustaining ACE’s

preliminary objections to the counts of bad faith and breach of the duty of

good faith and fair dealing, but overruling the remaining objections.

On October 1, 2024, ACE filed a motion for judgment on the pleadings

on the remaining claims, arguing that Mr. Mathews’ claim for first-party UIM

benefits was not covered by the Umbrella Policy, which only provided coverage

for third-party liability claims, losses that an insured “becomes legally

obligated to pay.” On February 11, 2025, the trial court granted ACE’s motion

for judgment on the pleadings, entered judgment in its favor on Appellant’s

claims for breach of contract and declaratory judgment, and dismissed

Appellant’s Amended Complaint with prejudice.

On March 5, 2025, Appellant filed a timely appeal. Appellant complied

with the trial court’s directions to file a concise statement of errors complained

of on appeal pursuant to Pa.R.A.P. 1925(b).

Appellant presents the following question for our review on appeal:

Did the trial court err in granting judgment on the pleadings where

(a) the ACE Umbrella Plus policy provides coverage for bodily

injuries caused by an uninsured/underinsured motorist because ____________________________________________

1 The parties agreed that the Court of Common Pleas of Philadelphia County

had personal jurisdiction over ACE pursuant to 42 Pa.C.S.A. § 5301(a) as ACE is incorporated in Pennsylvania and has its principal place of business in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Amended Complaint, at ¶ 4-5.

-3-J-A10038-26

the policy’s coverage for bodily injury follows the form of an

underlying policy that provides coverage for bodily injury caused

by an uninsured/underinsured motorist; or (b) in the alternative,

the Umbrella Plus policy could be read to provide UM/UIM

coverage such that the trial court should have applied the doctrine

of contra proferentem or considered extrinsic evidence showing

that ACE intended to provide such coverage.

Appellant’s Brief, at 2.

We begin by setting forth the applicable standard of review:

A motion for judgment on the pleadings should be granted only

where the pleadings demonstrate that no genuine issue of fact

exists, and the moving party is entitled to judgment as a matter

of law. Thus, in reviewing a trial court's decision to grant judgment

on the pleadings, the scope of review of the appellate court is

plenary; the reviewing court must determine if the action of the

trial court is based on a clear error of law or whether there were

facts disclosed by the pleadings that should properly go to the

jury. An appellate court must accept as true all well-pleaded facts

of the party against whom the motion is made, while considering

against him only those facts which he specifically admits. Neither

party can be deemed to have admitted either conclusions of law

or unjustified inferences. Moreover, in conducting its inquiry, the

court should confine itself to the pleadings themselves and any

documents or exhibits properly attached to them. The court may

not consider inadmissible evidence in determining a motion for

judgment on the pleadings. Only where the moving party's case

is clear and free from doubt such that a trial would prove fruitless

will an appellate court affirm a motion for judgment on the

pleadings.

Erie Ins. Exch. v. Russo, 343 A.3d 291, 295 (Pa. Super. 2025) (quoting

Chris Eldredge Containers, LLC v. Crum & Foster Specialty Ins. Co., 335

A.3d 1216, 1119-20 (Pa. Super. 2025) (citations omitted)).

As a preliminary matter, we note that Appellant does not challenge the

trial court’s choice-of-law analysis or its decision to analyze the case under

both Pennsylvania and New York law interchangeably. This Court has held

-4-J-A10038-26

that “the first step in a choice of law analysis under Pennsylvania law is to

determine whether a conflict exists between the laws of competing states …

[i]f no conflict exists, further analysis is unnecessary.” Budtel Associates,

LP v. Continental Casualty Company, Assocs., LP v. Cont'l Cas. Co., 915

A.2d 640, 644 (Pa. Super. 2006) (upholding trial court’s decision to apply

Pennsylvania substantive law after finding no conflict between Pennsylvania

and New Jersey law on the issue of interpretation of insurance policies). 2

As we agree with the trial court’s finding that there is no conflict between

Pennsylvania or New York law on the relevant issues of the interpretation of

insurance policies and general contract interpretation principles, we need not

proceed with further choice-of-law analysis.

Given that “[t]he interpretation of an insurance contract is a question of

law,” our standard of review is de novo and the scope of review is plenary.

Clarke v. MMG Ins. Co., 100 A.3d 271, 275–76 (Pa. Super. 2014).

The goal in construing and applying the language of an insurance

contract is to effectuate the intent of the parties as manifested by

the language of the specific policy. When the language of an

insurance policy is plain and unambiguous, a court is bound by

that language. Alternatively, if an insurance policy contains an

ambiguous term, the policy is to be construed in favor of the

insured to further the contract's prime purpose of indemnification

and against the insurer, as the insurer drafts the policy, and ____________________________________________

2 In Budtel, this Court adopted a flexible choice-of-law analysis, displacing the traditional “lex loci contractus” rule for contract cases, which had previously required application of the law where the contract was formed. Budtel, 915 A.2d at 644 (citing Griffith v. United Air Lines, Inc., 416 Pa. 1, 203 A.2d 796 (1964) (abandoning the “lex loci delicti” rule in favor of a flexible approach to choice-of-law questions in tort cases)).

-5-J-A10038-26

controls coverage. Contract language is ambiguous if it is

reasonably susceptible to more than one construction and

meaning. Finally, the language of the policy must be construed in

its plain and ordinary sense, and the policy must be read in its

entirety.

State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Dooner, 189 A.3d 479, 482 (Pa. Super.

2018) (quoting Pennsylvania Nat. Mut. Cas. Ins. Co. v. St. John, 630 Pa.

1, 106 A.3d 1, 14 (2014)). “The insured bears the initial burden of

establishing that the asserted claim is covered. If the insured is successful,

the insurer bears the burden of establishing the applicability of an exclusion.”

MacMiles, LLC v. Erie Ins. Exch., 286 A.3d 331, 334 (Pa. Super. 2022)

(citing Erie Ins. Grp. v. Catania, 95 A.3d 320, 322–23 (Pa. Super. 2014)).

We begin by reviewing the pertinent policy language. The Umbrella

Policy states the following in the “Insuring Agreement”: “We will pay on behalf

of the ‘insured’ those sums in excess of the ‘retained limit’ that the ‘insured’

becomes legally obligated to pay as damages because of ‘bodily injury.’”

Umbrella Policy, at 1 (emphasis added).

The Umbrella Policy also defines the term “loss” as “sums paid in the

settlement of a claim or ‘suit’ or satisfaction of a judgment which the ‘insured’

is legally liable to pay as damages because of ‘bodily injury.’” Umbrella Policy,

at 23 (emphasis added). The “Conditions” section of the Umbrella Policy

provided the following provision which governed when a “loss” is payable:

O. When a “Loss” is Payable

Liability under this policy shall not apply unless and until the

“insured” or “insured’s” underlying insurer has become obligated

to pay the “retained limit.” Such obligation by the “insured” to

pay part of the “loss” shall have been previously determined by a

-6-J-A10038-26

written agreement between the “insured,” claimant, and us. We

will obtain your consent to settle any claim within the “retained

limit” unless such consent is unreasonably withheld.

Umbrella Policy, at 20 (emphasis added).

Based on these policy provisions, the trial court found the Umbrella

Policy only provided coverage for third-party liability claims for which the

insured becomes legally liable to pay as damages. Moreover, the trial court

found that the “loss” provisions clarified that ACE was not obligated to pay for

a “loss” unless Mathews or his underlying insurer (Great Northern) had

become obligated to pay a third party.

This Court has found that materially identical language provides thirdparty liability coverage and does not provide first-party UM/UIM coverage. In

Kromer v. Reliance Ins. Co., 677 A.2d 1224 (Pa. Super. 1996), this Court

found the plain language in an umbrella insurance policy stating that the

insurer agreed “to pay on behalf of the insured all sums which the insured is

legally obligated to pay” only provided coverage for third-party liability claims

against the insured and did not “express any intention of providing first party

underinsured motorist coverage.” Id. at 1230 (emphasis added).

Likewise, in this case, the parties agree that the insuring clauses of the

Umbrella Policy only provide coverage for third-party liability claims; Appellant

concedes the trial court was correct in finding Appellant’s requested first-party

UIM coverage for Mr. Mathew’s own injuries does not constitute a sum which

Mr. Mathews “became legally obligated to pay.”

-7-J-A10038-26

Instead, Appellant argues that the original terms of the ACE Umbrella

policy were amended in its Automobile Liability Follow-Form Endorsement

(“Follow-Form Endorsement”), which provided that coverage for “bodily

injury” would “follow the terms, definitions, conditions, and exclusions of any

‘scheduled underlying insurance.’” The Follow-Form Endorsement specifically

states the following:

THIS ENDORSEMENT CHANGES THE POLICY. PLEASE READ IT

CAREFULLY.

This endorsement modifies all insurance provided under the

following:

COMMERCIAL UMBRELLA LIABILITY POLICY

Auto Liability

When insurance for “bodily injury” … is provided by an automobile

liability policy listed in the “scheduled underlying insurance,”

coverage under this policy for such “bodily injury” … will follow the

terms, definitions, conditions, and exclusions of “scheduled

underlying insurance,” subject to the “policy period” limits of this

insurance, premium and all other terms, definitions, conditions,

and exclusions of this policy. Coverage provided by this policy will

not be broader than the coverage provided by “scheduled

underlying insurance.”

Follow-Form Endorsement, at 1.

While Appellant acknowledges that the default terms of the Umbrella

Policy only provide coverage for third-party liability claims of bodily injury and

contain no provision for first-party benefits, Appellant asserts that the FollowForm Endorsement expands the Umbrella Policy’s coverage to include firstparty benefits by directing that coverage under the Umbrella Policy follows the

form of the Great Northern policy’s coverage for bodily injury, which includes

-8-J-A10038-26

a UM/UIM endorsement. Appellant’s Brief, at 6, 16. Appellant argues that

the Follow-Form Endorsement incorporates the terms, definitions, conditions,

and exclusions of the underlying policy. See Kropa v. Gateway Ford, 974

A.2d 502, 505 (Pa. Super. 2009) (“[b]y definition, a following form policy

incorporates terms from an underlying, primary policy”).

We reject Appellant’s invitation to find that in light of the Follow-Form

Endorsement, the Umbrella Policy should be read to include first-party UIM

benefits. Although the Follow-Form Endorsement indicates that coverage

under the Umbrella Policy would follow the terms, definitions, conditions, and

exclusions of the scheduled underlying insurance (the Great Northern Policy),

the Follow-Form Endorsement clearly states that coverage is still ”subject to

the … terms, definitions, conditions, and exclusions of [the Umbrella] policy.”

Follow-Form Endorsement, at 1 (emphasis added). The “subject to” clause

clarifies that the language of the Umbrella Policy is controlling when there is

a conflict between the Umbrella Policy and the terms of the underlying policy.

It is undisputed that the Umbrella Policy does not provide first-party benefits.

We find analogous the decision in Matarasso v. Continental Cas. Co.,

82 A.D.2d 861, 440 N.Y.S.2d 40 (1981), in which the claimants recovered the

maximum allowable benefits under their primary automobile policy’s UM

endorsement and sought to recover excess benefits under a commercial

umbrella liability policy issued by Continental. The New York Supreme Court

(Appellate Division) was tasked with deciding whether UM coverage was

-9-J-A10038-26

provided by the umbrella liability policy, which incorporated by reference

provisions of the underlying automobile policy.

The Matarasso Court found that the UM endorsement in the underlying

automobile policy did not apply to the umbrella liability policy:

The umbrella policy clearly provides excess protection for claimant

Daniel Matarasso and his business against liability from third party

claims. It incorporates the underlying policies insofar as they

provide for protection against liability for damages to third parties.

The uninsured motorist coverage provided by the underlying

automobile liability policy does not involve claims of liability

against the insured from third parties and is not incorporated by

the umbrella policy. Any other interpretation would distort the

actual purpose of the umbrella policy.

Id. at 862, 440 N.Y.S.2d at 41.

Turning back to the instant case, we find Appellant’s argument

unpersuasive using similar logic. We reiterate that the language of the

Umbrella Policy clearly delineates that coverage is limited to the provision of

excess protection for Mr. Mathews against third-party liability claims. The

Follow-Form Endorsement does not expand the coverage of Umbrella Policy

to include first-party UM/UIM benefits, as coverage is still subject to the terms,

definitions, conditions, and exclusions of the Umbrella Policy. Rather, the

Umbrella Policy follows the form of the underlying policy “insofar as [it]

provide[s] for protection against liability for damages to third parties.”

Matarasso, supra.

Appellant also suggests that the trial court should have found that the

Umbrella Policy contained an ambiguity which should have been interpreted

against ACE as the drafting party. Appellant also argues that the trial court

- 10 -J-A10038-26

should have considered extrinsic evidence to determine the meaning of the

policy language.

Appellant is attempting to recreate an ambiguity where none exists.

Courts “will not find a particular provision ambiguous simply because the

parties disagree on the proper construction; if possible, it will read the

provision to avoid an ambiguity.” Dooner, 189 A.3d at 482-83 (quoting

Brown v. Everett Cash Mutual Insurance Company, 157 A.3d 958, 962

(Pa. Super. 2017)).

Given that Appellant has not shown that an ambiguity exists in the

policy, the trial court did not err in refusing to consider extrinsic evidence

offered by Appellant to support her interpretation of the policy language.

Where the language of an insurance policy is unambiguous, courts do not

consider extrinsic evidence. Brosovic v. Nationwide Mut. Ins., 841 A.2d

1071, 1074 (Pa. Super. 2004).

For the foregoing reasons, we conclude the trial court correctly found

that Mr. Mathews is not entitled to UIM coverage under the ACE Umbrella

Policy. Therefore, we affirm the trial court’s order granting ACE’s motion for

judgment on the pleadings.

Order affirmed.

- 11 -J-A10038-26

Date: 9/4/2026

- 12 -