LAW.coLAW.co

Crutchfield v. District of Columbia Department of Employment Services

2026-09-10

Authorities cited

Opinion

majority opinion

Notice: This opinion is subject to formal revision before publication in the Atlantic and Maryland Reporters. Users are requested to notify the Clerk of the Court of any formal errors so that corrections may be made before the bound volumes go to press.

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA COURT OF APPEALS

Nos. 24-AA-1000 & 24-AA-2024

TERESA CRUTCHFIELD, PETITIONER,

V.

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA DEPARTMENT OF EMPLOYMENT SERVICES, RESPONDENT,

and

CAROLYN BOONE LEWIS HEALTH CENTER

and

AIG CLAIMS SERVICES,

INTERVENORS/CROSS-PETITIONERS.

On Petitions for Review of an Order of the

District of Columbia Department of Employment Services

Compensation Review Board

(2024-CRB-000034)

(Argued December 16, 2025 Decided September 10, 2026)

Brandon Hancock, with whom William J. Lightfoot was on the brief, for petitioner.

Graham E. Phillips, Deputy Solicitor General, with whom Brian L. Schwalb, Attorney General for the District of Columbia, Carolyn S. Van Zile, Solicitor General, and Ashwin P. Phatak, Principal Deputy Solicitor General, filed a Statement in Lieu of Brief, for respondent.

2

Jillian M. Petrella for intervenors/cross-petitioners.

Benjamin E. Douglas filed a brief on behalf of Teamsters Local 639 as amicus curiae.

David J. Kapson and Kevin H. Stillman filed a brief on behalf of the Trial Lawyers Association of Metropolitan Washington, D.C. as amicus curiae.

Mark H. Dho filed a brief on behalf of the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority as amicus curiae.

Matthew E. Fioravante filed a brief on behalf of the Association of Compensation Insurance Attorneys as amicus curiae.

Before BLACKBURNE-RIGSBY, Chief Judge, HOWARD, Associate Judge, and GLICKMAN, Senior Judge.

Opinion for the court by Senior Judge GLICKMAN.

Dissenting Opinion by Associate Judge HOWARD at page 23.

GLICKMAN, Senior Judge: Petitioner Teresa Crutchfield is a former employee

of the Carolyn Boone Lewis Health Center (Carolyn Boone). She ceased working

there in December 2012. In 2022, almost a decade later, Ms. Crutchfield applied for

disability compensation and medical benefits under the District of Columbia

Workers’ Compensation Act, D.C. Code § 32-1501 et seq. She based this application

on an injury she had sustained while working at Carolyn Boone in 2011, for which

her employer and its insurer had provided benefits voluntarily, without an award,

until 2015. After a hearing, an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) denied the

application as untimely under D.C. Code § 32-1514(a). These petitions for review

3

are from the affirmance of that denial by the Compensation Review Board (CRB).

For the following reasons, we uphold the CRB’s determination. Our decision renders

it unnecessary for us to consider the alternative grounds for upholding that

determination proffered by intervenors.

I.

We consider the facts material to these review petitions, as found by the ALJ

and accepted by the CRB, not to be in serious dispute. In summary, Ms. Crutchfield

was employed by Carolyn Boone as a certified nursing assistant. On March 18, 2011,

she sustained a work-related injury to her lower back while lifting a large patient to

help him move between a shower bed and a regular bed. Carolyn Boone filed a

timely report of Ms. Crutchfield’s injury six days later. On November 8, 2011, Ms.

Crutchfield filed a claim for workers’ compensation benefits with the Department of

Employment Services Office of Workers’ Compensation (OWC). Up to this point,

Carolyn Boone had paid Ms. Crutchfield disability compensation and medical

benefits voluntarily, and it continued to do so after she filed her November 2011

claim. Because Carolyn Boone did not dispute Ms. Crutchfield’s entitlement to those

benefits, no hearing was held to establish her right to them and no formal award was

made.

4

Ms. Crutchfield received medical care for her back injury, participated in

physical therapy, and underwent employer-arranged independent medical

evaluations (IMEs). In August 2012, a physician who performed what was then the

most recent IME opined that Ms. Crutchfield could return to full-time sedentary

“light duty” subject to restrictions on activity involving bending, climbing, and

lifting more than twenty-five pounds. Carolyn Boone offered Ms. Crutchfield what

was supposed to be a full-time light duty assignment that complied with the

recommended restrictions, and she returned to work. However, as the ALJ

subsequently found, Ms. Crutchfield’s new position was not consistent with those

restrictions, for it required her, among other things, to carry large boxes weighing

more than twenty-five pounds up and down staircases several times a day.

Ms. Crutchfield complained to Carolyn Boone’s human resources department

that her duties were causing her significant back pain, but she was told she had to

continue in the position she had been assigned. Not long afterward, she suffered a

fall at work while carrying boxes down the stairs. That was Ms. Crutchfield’s last

day on the job; in September 2012, her treating orthopedic surgeon took her off work

for medical reasons, stating that “there is no light duty job so [Ms. Crutchfield] will

not be working at this stage.”

5

Three months later, on December 13, 2012, Carolyn Boone sent Ms.

Crutchfield a letter again offering her full-time, sedentary “light duty work.” The

letter specified that this work would be compliant with the restrictions on her

physical activity called for in her IME. Ms. Crutchfield declined the offer, however.

Consequently, on December 21, 2012, Carolyn Boone issued a Notice of Final

Payment of Compensation Payments and a Notice of Controversion. These notices

stated that Carolyn Boone was ending Ms. Crutchfield’s workers’ compensation

payments as of December 20, 2012, based on her failure to return to work in the light

duty position she had been offered. 1

From the date of her injury in 2011 until the Notice of Final Payment, Ms.

Crutchfield received $34,011.92 in temporary total disability (TTD) compensation.

She has received no additional wage-loss payments. The Controversion Notice

advised Ms. Crutchfield that if she disagreed with the denial of further

compensation, she could apply for a hearing before the OWC and, in the interim, she

could participate in an informal conference with a claims examiner to explore

1

See D.C. Code § 32-1508(3)((V)(iii) (stating, in pertinent part, that “[i]f the employee voluntarily limits his or her income or fails to accept employment commensurate with the employee’s abilities, the employee’s wages after the employee becomes disabled shall be deemed to be the amount the employee would earn if the employee did not voluntarily limit his or her income or did accept employment commensurate with the employee’s abilities.”).

6

whether the disagreement could be resolved. Ms. Crutchfield, who was represented

by counsel, requested and attended such a conference in February 2013. The

examiner reportedly issued a memorandum of informal conference in April 2013.

That memorandum is not in the administrative record on appeal, but Ms.

Crutchfield’s brief to this court states (and Carolyn Boone does not dispute) that the

examiner found her to be entitled to the continuation of the temporary total disability

benefits she had been receiving. Carolyn Boone did not accede to this recommended

resolution, however.

Ms. Crutchfield then reportedly requested a formal hearing on the cutoff of

her disability compensation. (We have not found this request in the administrative

record on appeal.) However, for reasons that have not been elucidated in the record,

and that are now said by the parties to this appeal to be unknown, a formal hearing

to adjudicate Ms. Crutchfield’s entitlement to a resumption of disability

compensation was never scheduled. 2 All we know is that, for the next several years,

Ms. Crutchfield herself did not pursue and apparently abandoned any challenge at

all to the cutoff of her disability compensation; she did nothing to assert a claim or

2

We note that, in his subsequent decision in this case, the ALJ stated that the administrative records “did not reveal a file or documentation regarding the outcome of Claimant’s request for a formal hearing [which] therefore . . . is unknown to the undersigned.”

7

request of any kind, or otherwise trigger the adjudication necessary for a resumption

of her compensation. Ms. Crutchfield has never explained why she took no action;

she has not claimed, for example, to have been waiting patiently all these years,

expecting that a hearing on her 2013 request eventually would be scheduled, or to

have been prevented by extraneous circumstances from pressing a claim. To all

appearances, Ms. Crutchfield simply accepted the December 2012 cutoff of her total

disability wage loss compensation.

After that cutoff, Carolyn Boone’s insurer continued to pay for at least some

of the ongoing medical care that Ms. Crutchfield evidently still needed for her

disabled condition. But the insurer stopped providing medical benefits after it

obtained another IME on March 3, 2015. Dr. Matthew Ammerman, the non-treating

orthopedic surgeon who performed that IME, opined that Ms. Crutchfield’s two

prior surgeries had not improved her condition, that she would not benefit from any

further surgeries or other medical interventions (such as injections), and that she had

achieved maximum medical improvement. Dr. Ammerman also concluded that Ms.

Crutchfield was “capable of gainful employment in a sedentary type capacity” such

as answering telephones and doing computer work. It appears that Ms. Crutchfield

did not voice any objection to the stoppage of her medical benefits in 2015 or for

several years thereafter.

8

In the years following this 2015 assessment, Ms. Crutchfield underwent two

additional back surgeries, but she did not resume consistent gainful employment.

Nor, for several years, did Ms. Crutchfield pursue her earlier request for a hearing,

file a claim, or otherwise seek the resumption of any of her terminated workers’

compensation benefits.

But in 2022, Ms. Crutchfield (represented by new counsel) asserted a claim

for payment of total disability wage loss compensation for the preceding ten years

(from the date her compensation was terminated in December 2012) and continuing

thereafter, and for the unreimbursed medical expenses she had incurred on account

of her work injury in the nearly eight years following the March 2015 cessation of

medical benefits. In response, Carolyn Boone filed an Application for a Formal

Hearing on the issues raised by Ms. Crutchfield’s request, specifically including the

issue of whether it was barred by the relevant statute of limitations.

By this time, Carolyn Boone had gone out of business, but its insurer arranged

for an updated IME, which was performed by Dr. Louis Levitt, an orthopedic

surgeon, in February 2023. Dr. Levitt seconded Dr. Ammerman’s earlier conclusions

that Ms. Crutchfield had reached maximum medical improvement and that she had

the capacity to return to work in a sedentary job. Dr. Levitt concluded that “[s]he

can sit to perform work tasks with lifting not to exceed 25-30 lbs[.] [A]nd she should

9

have opportunities almost every hour to stand and stretch. She is not totally disabled

from gainful employment.”

In 2024, after an evidentiary hearing, an ALJ in OWC’s Administrative

Hearings Division entered a compensation order denying Ms. Crutchfield’s new

benefit claims. 3 The ALJ held that these new claims were untimely under D.C. Code

§ 32-1505(b), a section of the Workers’ Compensation Act providing that “[a]n

injured employee shall have up to 3 years after termination of nonscheduled benefits

to re-open his or her case due to changes in condition.” The ALJ found that Ms.

Crutchfield had waited “more than 10 years to re-open her case after her last payment

of benefits and 8 years after her last payment of medical expenses.” 4

On review, the CRB agreed that Ms. Crutchfield’s claims for restoration of

disability compensation and medical benefits were untimely, albeit on a different

statutory ground from that on which the ALJ relied. 5 The CRB held that Section

Crutchfield v. Carolyn Boone Lewis Health Ctr., AHD No. 23-004, 2024 DC

3

Wrk. Comp. LEXIS 99 (May 9, 2024).

4

The ALJ did not address whether the requirement of a timely claim was satisfied by Ms. Crutchfield’s seemingly abandoned request in 2013 for an administrative hearing on Carolyn Boone’s termination of her compensation payments. Ms. Crutchfield did not advance (and thus seemingly waived) such a contention.

Crutchfield v. Carolyn Boone Lewis Health Ctr., CRB No. 24-034, 2024 DC

5

Wrk. Comp. LEXIS 176 (October 11, 2024).

10

32‑1505(b) did not apply in this case because Ms. Crutchfield did not base her claim

on a change in her condition; rather, she consistently had maintained that she was

and remained totally disabled. 6

The CRB held that Ms. Crutchfield’s claim was governed, instead, by D.C.

Code § 32-1514(a), a provision that (the CRB said) “includes a period of limitations

for new claims for benefits” and “requires a claimant to file a new claim for

compensation benefits within one year from when the claimant was aware, or should

have been aware, of the injury” (or other occurrence) that is the basis for the new

claim. The one-year limitation barred the claims that Ms. Crutchfield asserted in

2022, the CRB explained, because Ms. Crutchfield “is not alleging she is disabled

from a new injury,” but rather that “the same injury has, in her view, resulted in a

new claim”—one for the payments that her employer and its insurer had withheld

from December 2012 onward. Accordingly, the CRB concluded, Section 32-1514(a)

required Ms. Crutchfield to “file[] her request for additional benefits within one year

of the date of the last payment” of compensation—i.e., by December 2013, a

6

Because Ms. Crutchfield’s position is that she was totally disabled from the outset and remained so, we apprehend no reason to disagree with the CRB’s determination that Section 32-1505(b) is inapplicable to Ms. Crutchfield’s present claims; but if we were to conclude that Section 32-1505(b) somehow did apply to her present claims, we still would see no reason to reject the ALJ’s conclusion that those claims are time-barred under the three-year limitations period specified in that section of the Workers’ Compensation Act.

11

requirement she had failed to meet. 7 In a concurring opinion, two of the three

administrative appeals judges on the CRB panel summarized the ruling on the

applicability of Section 32-1514 as follows:

Ms. Crutchfield’s claim is barred by § 32-1514. She seeks

benefits for a longstanding, permanent, and total disability

because of the original workplace injury. She was aware

of the relationship between her alleged disability and her

employment since it occurred. Thus, under § 32-1514, Ms.

Crutchfield should have filed her request for additional

benefits within one year of the date of the last payment,

which was December 14, 2012. She did not. Her claim is

barred.

The CRB did not specifically address the portion of Ms. Crutchfield’s claim

relating to the subsequent termination of her medical benefits in March 2015, but it

affirmed the ALJ’s ruling that this part of her claim too was time-barred since it was

not filed until several years afterward. This appeal followed.

II.

Our standard of review of the CRB’s decision in a workers’ compensation

appeal is governed by the District of Columbia’s Administrative Procedure Act. 8 In

accordance with the APA, “we will affirm the ruling unless it is arbitrary, capricious,

7

Like the ALJ, the CRB did not consider whether Ms. Crutchfield’s

unpursued request for an administrative hearing in 2013 satisfied the timeliness requirement of Section 32-1514(a), presumably because she made no such argument to the CRB.

8

See D.C. Code § 32-1522(b)(3).

12

or otherwise an abuse of discretion and not in accordance with law.” 9 We defer to

the factual findings on which the CRB’s decision rests so long as they are supported

by substantial evidence in the record. 10 As for our review of the CRB’s legal rulings,

this court summarized the governing principles in Fluellyn as follows:

We review the CRB’s legal rulings de novo,

recognizing that this court is the final authority on issues

of statutory construction. Recognizing agency expertise,

however, we accord great weight to any reasonable

construction of a statute by the agency charged with its

administration. We will sustain the agency’s interpretation

even if a petitioner advances another reasonable

interpretation of the statute or if we might have been

persuaded by the alternate interpretation had we been

construing the statute in the first instance. Yet, on the other

hand, we will not affirm an administrative determination

that reflects a misconception of the relevant law or a faulty

application of the law.[11]

We also have said that “[t]his court follows the principle that workers’

compensation statutes should be liberally construed to achieve their humanitarian

purpose,” which is “to provide financial and medical benefits to employees injured

9

Washington Metro. Area Transit Auth. v. District of Columbia Dep’t of Emp. Servs., 992 A.2d 1276, 1280 (D.C. 2010) (citation modified); see D.C. Code § 2‑510(a)(3)(A).

10

Fluellyn v. District of Columbia Dep’t of Emp. Servs., 54 A.3d 1156, 1160 (D.C. 2012); see D.C. Code § 2-510(a)(3)(E).

11

Fluellyn, 54 A.3d at 1160 (quotation marks and citations omitted).

13

in work-related incidents.” 12 But “[w]hile that principle allows doubts to be resolved

favorably to the employee, it does not relieve the courts of the obligation to apply

the law as it is written and in accordance with its plain meaning.” 13

In 2025, the D.C. Council amended Section 2-510 of the Administrative

Procedure Act to add new subsection (c). It provides, inter alia, that

[i]n reviewing an order or decision of an agency in any

court or administrative proceeding, . . . the reviewing

tribunal shall defer to the agency’s reasonable

interpretation of a statute or rule it administers, when the

statute or rule is silent or ambiguous with respect to a

specific issue; provided, that the interpretation is not

plainly wrong or inconsistent with either the statute’s or

rule’s language or the legislature’s or agency’s intent.[14]

This court has yet to address whether or to what extent the language of Section 2-510(c) deviates from what we said in Fluellyn. Moreover, questions have been raised

in past appeals as to whether Section 2-510(c)’s requirement of deferential review is

constitutional and consistent with the Home Rule Act, 15 and as to whether the CRB

12

McCamey v. District of Columbia Dep’t of Emp. Servs., 947 A.2d 1191, 1197 (D.C. 2008) (en banc) (quotation marks and citations omitted).

13

National Geographic Society v. District of Columbia Dep’t of Emp. Servs., 721 A.2d 618, 622 (D.C. 1998).

14

D.C. Code § 2-510(c); see D.C. Law 26-37, §2, 72 D.C. Reg. 8154 (2025).

15

See LHL Realty Co. DC LLC v. District of Columbia, 357 A.3d 1165, 1171 (D.C. 2026).

14

in particular is entitled to any special deference on our part to its interpretation of

the Workers’ Compensation Act. 16 This court has yet to provide definitive answers

to those questions; in the cited cases, we found it unnecessary to answer them

because we agreed with the agency rulings even without according deference.

So too here. “We need not address” the issue of deference in this appeal

“because we agree with the CRB’s conclusion as applied to the circumstances of this

case,” 17 i.e., the CRB’s conclusion that Ms. Crutchfield’s claim is time-barred under

D.C. Code § 32-1514(a).

III.

Section 32-1514(a) of the Workers’ Compensation Act states that

the right to compensation for disability or death under this

chapter shall be barred unless a claim therefor is filed

within 1 year after the injury or death. If payment of

compensation has been made without an award on account

of such injury or death, a claim may be filed within 1 year

after the date of the last payment. Such claim shall be filed

with the Mayor. The time for filing a claim shall not begin

to run until the employee or beneficiary is aware, or by the

exercise of reasonable diligence should have been aware,

of the relationship between the injury or death and the

16

See Schwechter v. District of Columbia Dep’t of Emp. Servs., 287 A.3d 267, 269-70 (D.C. 2023). This case, however, was decided before the enactment of Section 2-510(c).

17

Id. at 270.

15

employment. Once a claim has been filed with the Mayor,

no further written claims are necessary.

The Workers’ Compensation Act does not define the term “claim” used in this

section. The regulations promulgated to implement the Act define a “claim” to mean

simply “an application for benefits made by an injured employee or his or her

beneficiary.” 18 This court accordingly has understood the term “claim” to mean

“nothing more than a simple request for compensation which triggers the process of

claim adjudication.” 19 The regulations further provide that all claims must be made

in writing, normally on a form prescribed by the Office of Workers’ Compensation.20

The term “compensation,” used in Section 32-1514(a) and elsewhere in the

Workers’ Compensation Act, is defined to mean “the money allowance payable to

an employee or to his dependents as provided for in [the Act], and includes funeral

benefits provided herein.” 21 This court and the CRB have understood the term

18

7 D.C.M.R. § 299.

19

Ferreira v. District of Columbia Dep’t of Emp. Servs., 531 A.2d 651, 659-60 (D.C. 1987); accord, Renard v. District of Columbia Dep’t of Emp. Servs., 673 A.2d 1274, 1277 n.4 (D.C. 1996).

20

7 D.C.M.R. §§ 202.1, 207.1, 299.

21

D.C. Code § 32-1501(6).

16

“compensation” as used in Section 32-1514(a) to encompass payments for medical

benefits as well as wage replacement benefits. 22

By its terms, Section 32-1514(a) thus provides a one-year statute of

limitations for employees and their beneficiaries seeking workers’ compensation

benefits: “[T]he right to compensation . . . shall be barred” if a claim is not filed

within one year after the injury or death, provided that if the employer has voluntarily

paid compensation without an award (as in the present case), “a claim may be filed

within 1 year after the date of the last payment.” 23 An employee who fails to lodge

a timely claim for benefits—including (as is pertinent here) a timely claim

challenging the cessation of voluntary payments without an award—forfeits the

claim; it will not be adjudicated on the merits. The CRB and this court have

22

See Anderson v. District of Columbia Dep’t of Emp. Servs., 303 A.3d 370, 374 (D.C. 2023) (“[T]he word ‘compensation’ as used throughout the Workers’ Compensation Act is variable and ‘context-specific,’ and [] it may or may not encompass medical benefits depending on the particular statutory provision in question.” (footnotes omitted)). The Act addresses the obligation of employers to provide medical benefits to disabled employees in D.C. Code § 32-1507, and D.C. Code § 32-1505(a) refers to such benefits as encompassed in the obligation to furnish compensation (“No compensation shall be allowed for the first 3 days of the disability, except the benefits provided for in § 32-1507….”).

23

Section 32-1514(a) further provides that “[t]he time for filing a claim shall not begin to run until the employee or beneficiary is aware, or by the exercise of reasonable diligence should have been aware, of the relationship between the injury or death and the employment.” In this case, it is undisputed that Ms. Crutchfield was aware from the outset and at all relevant times of the relationship between her back injury and her employment.

17

concurred that the purpose of this statute of limitations is “to protect the employer

from stale claims and to provide finality by setting a definitive endpoint to claims.” 24

The last sentence of Section 32-1514(a) provides that “[o]nce a claim has been

filed . . . no further written claims are necessary.” This court has explained this

sentence to mean that “any questions that arise throughout the course of a case, after

a claim has been filed under [Section 32-1514(a)], do not constitute new and separate

‘claims for compensation,’ but are simply different issues that must be addressed

24

Anderson, 303 A.3d at 375 (citing intervenors in that case). As the Supreme Court has explained:

Statutes of limitation, like the equitable doctrine of laches,

in their conclusive effects are designed to promote justice

by preventing surprises through the revival of claims that

have been allowed to slumber until evidence has been lost,

memories have faded, and witnesses have disappeared.

The theory is that even if one has a just claim it is unjust

not to put the adversary on notice to defend within the

period of limitation and that the right to be free of stale

claims in time comes to prevail over the right to prosecute

them.

Order of R. Telegraphers v. Ry. Express Agency, Inc., 321 U.S. 342, 348-349 (1944); see also United States v. Kubrick, 444 U.S. 111, 117 (1979) (explaining that statutes of limitation “protect defendants and the courts from having to deal with cases in which the search for truth may be seriously impaired by the loss of evidence, whether by death or disappearance of witnesses, fading memories, disappearance of documents, or otherwise”).

18

with respect to an employee's claim.” 25 In other words, if a timely filed claim has

triggered a still-pending adjudication, the employee need not file a new written claim

in order to modify that claim or raise issues relating to it during that adjudication.

But if a filed claim is no longer pending adjudication, or if it was resolved without

an adjudication, an employee who wishes to reopen her case to request additional

workers’ compensation benefits must, of necessity, file a new claim in order to have

25

C&P Tel. Co. v. District of Columbia Dep’t of Emp. Servs., 638 A.2d 690, 696 (D.C. 1994) (emphasis added). We are not aware of any decision of the Compensation Review Board explaining the last sentence of Section 32-1514(a). It does not appear in the counterpart section of the federal Longshore and Harbor Workers’ Act, 33 U.S.C. § 913(a), from which Section 32-1514(a) was derived virtually verbatim, and the legislative history of our Act does not explain the addition of this sentence in our Act. See Report on Bill No. 3-106 before the Committee on Public Services and Consumer Affairs, Council of the District of Columbia, Statement of Wilhelmina J. Rolark, Chairperson at 14 (Jan. 16, 1980).

19

it adjudicated, since under those circumstances there will not be an adjudication in

the absence of a request for it; and the new claim must be timely. 26

We therefore are persuaded that the CRB correctly held that Ms. Crutchfield’s

claim in 2022 for a resumption of her workers’ compensation benefits was barred by

the applicable statute of limitations, Section 32-1514(a). When the employer has

voluntarily paid compensation without an award, but then decides to discontinue

paying it, the employee is put to a choice. She may acquiesce in the cessation, in

which case adjudication is at an end, or she may file a timely claim for the

resumption of her compensation and trigger the necessary adjudication (an

26

Amicus curiae supporting Ms. Crutchfield have called our attention to Combs v. District of Columbia Dep’t of Emp. Servs., 983 A.2d 1004 (D.C. 2009). There this court opined in dicta that an employee who had made a claim for temporary total disability benefits within a year of his 1991 workplace accident would not have been “precluded from requesting compensation for [temporary partial disability attributable to that accident] in 2003” (which the employee had not done). Id. at 1011 n.6. This aside was superfluous to the court’s opinion and hence is nonbinding, and the court left its underlying rationale unclear at best. In support of it, the court cited only our decision in Capitol Hill Hosp. v. District of Columbia Dep’t of Emp. Servs., 726 A.2d 682, 684-86 (D.C. 1999). That case is not on point here, however—for one reason, because it addressed the one-year limitations period in a different statute, which is now codified as D.C. Code § 32-1524(a). That section of the Workers’ Compensation Act provides a one-year period in which a party may seek modification of an award based on a subsequent material change of conditions. The parties before us agree that Section 32-1524(a) is inapplicable in the present case because Ms. Crutchfield did not seek to modify an existing compensation order based on a change of conditions; and the CRB specifically agreed with them on the inapplicability of Section 32-1524(a). We do not view the Combs dicta as informative with respect to the proper interpretation of Section 32-1514(a).

20

adjudication that would not happen without such a timely new claim). It is

appropriate to afford the employee a reasonable time in which to make that choice

after the employer has stopped payments, but at some point, prolonged silence and

inaction by the employee is reasonably understood and treated as acquiescence or

forfeiture. Thus, as a matter of fairness to both employers and employees, Section

32-1514(a) grants the employee a full year from the date of the last payment in which

to decide whether to accept or challenge the employer’s cessation of benefits. 27

Accordingly, Ms. Crutchfield had one year in which to file a claim for her wage loss

benefits after Carolyn Boone ceased paying them voluntarily in 2012, and one year

in which to file a claim for her medical benefits after those were cut off in 2015. The

claim for the reinstatement of benefits that Ms. Crutchfield filed in 2022 was not

close to timely.

Ms. Crutchfield argues that she did file a timely claim for benefits a decade

earlier, in November 2011. But that claim did not trigger any adjudication because,

by that point, Carolyn Boone had acknowledged Ms. Crutchfield’s work-related

disability and was voluntarily providing the benefits Ms. Crutchfield sought in

27

In some cases, this period may be extended because Section 32-1514(a) provides that “[t]he time for filing a claim shall not begin to run until the employee . . . is aware, or by the exercise of reasonable diligence should have been aware, of the relationship between the injury . . . and the employment.” This proviso is not applicable in the present case.

21

November 2011. Since Carolyn Boone was providing benefits for Ms. Crutchfield’s

claim at the time, no adjudication was called for. Moreover, Ms. Crutchfield’s

November 2011 claim could not have been understood to challenge Carolyn Boone’s

cessation of her wage loss compensation a year later, in December 2012, or its

cessation of her medical benefits four years later, in 2015, since the reasons for those

decisions had not yet arisen in November 2011. There would be no adjudication of

either termination of Ms. Crutchfield’s benefits unless she took the step of initiating

it by filing a timely claim—a request for an adjudication—within one year of each

of the terminations. 28

Thus, when Ms. Crutchfield belatedly did file a claim several years later (in

2022) for the resumption of her workers’ compensation benefits, her filing was not

28

As we have noted, it has been asserted that, in December 2013, Ms. Crutchfield did request a formal hearing on the cessation of her wage loss benefits, though there is no record of that request and no explanation in the record for her failure to pursue the putative claim. Furthermore, Ms. Crutchfield, who is represented by counsel, has not made any argument in this appeal (nor, as we have already said, in the administrative proceedings culminating in this appeal) that her request in 2013 satisfied the one-year statute of limitations. (And, consequently, her employer and its insurer have had no chance or reason to respond to such an argument.) “It is a basic principle of appellate jurisprudence that points not urged on appeal are deemed to be waived.” Rose v. United States, 629 A.2d 526, 535 (D.C. 1993); see also, e.g., Wallace v. United States, 351 A.3d 1, 1-2 (D.C. 2026); MP PPH, LLC v. District of Columbia, 339 A.3d 132, 145 (D.C. 2025). That principle applies here, and we hold that Ms. Crutchfield has waived any contention she might have made that her alleged request for a formal hearing in 2013 satisfied the oneyear statute of limitations in D.C. Code § 32-1514(a).

22

part of any pending claim adjudication. Consequently, Ms. Crutchfield’s 2022 claim

could not piggyback on the claim she had filed in 2011; and so, it was time-barred

under the one-year rule of Section 32-1514(a). The deadline for filing a claim for the

terminated wage loss compensation payments was one year after December 2012,

when Carolyn Boone ceased making those payments voluntarily (in the absence of

any compensation award). The deadline for filing a claim for the terminated medical

benefits was one year after March 2015, when Carolyn Boone’s insurer stopped

those voluntary payments (again, in the absence of an award). After March 2016,

nothing is said to have occurred that might have enabled Ms. Crutchfield to resurrect

the defunct case in 2022, such as a new adverse consequence of her previous workrelated injury. 29 Allowing her to do so anyway based on the claim she filed in 2011,

when the benefits were being provided voluntarily, would subvert the legislative

29

Cf. WMATA v. District of Columbia Dep’t of Emp. Servs., 981 A.2d 1216 (D.C. 2009). The employee in that case sought to initiate a new claim for disability benefits for a new injury arising from a work-related accident for which she previously had filed a claim. We held that “pursuant to section 32-1514, claimant had one-year, following the time she first became aware, or should have become aware, of her [new] injury, to file a new claim for compensation benefits.” Id. at 1220 (footnote omitted). Our holding recognized that an employee who acts timely may file a new claim for compensation based on new facts or circumstances even if the new claim stems from the same workplace injury as a previously adjudicated compensation claim. See also id. at 1223 n.7 (explaining that such a claimant “would be barred by the doctrine of res judicata or collateral estoppel from filing a new claim under Section 32-1514 . . . . only if claimant was aware or on notice of her subsequent injury at the time she filed her original claim for compensation benefits”).

23

goal of protecting employers from stale claims and providing finality by setting a

definite endpoint to the assertion of claims. 30 It would create a precedent for other

claimants to do exactly what Ms. Crutchfield did—wait years, even a decade or

more, before informing their employers of the claims against them. That is clearly

undesirable; in this very case, for example, the employer had gone out of business

in the interim and intervenors complain that the long delay seriously impaired their

ability to reconstruct the relevant circumstances and present testimony (concerning,

for example, the appropriateness of the light duty position that Ms. Crutchfield

refused). In short, what Ms. Crutchfield proposes is contrary to what the legislature

intended to achieve with Section 32-1514(a) and its one-year limitations period.

The compensation claims that Ms. Crutchfield filed in 2022 were time-barred.

We affirm the decision of the CRB.

So ordered.

HOWARD, Associate Judge, dissenting: The majority concludes that an injured

employee may not adjudicate the merits of their workers’ compensation claim for

benefits following the termination of their benefits unless a separate “new claim”

has been filed. Ante at 16-17. In my view, this holding is contrary to the text of the

30

Anderson, 303 A.3d at 375.

24

District’s Workers’ Compensation Act (Act), its legislative intent, and our own

precedent. For these reasons, I respectfully dissent.

To begin, I present a slightly alternative interpretation of Section 32-1514 to

that of the majority. Section 32-1514, the section of the Act at issue in this case,

contains two operative clauses that define the timeline for a claimant to maintain

their right to benefit entitlement under the Act. Under the first clause of Section

32‑1514(a), “the right to compensation for disability or death under [the Act] shall

be barred unless a claim therefor is filed within 1 year after the injury or death.”

Alternatively, under the second clause, “[i]f payment of compensation has been

made without an award on account of such injury or death, a claim may be filed

within 1 year after the date of the last payment.” Id. Applicable to either clause,

“[t]he time for filing a claim shall not begin to run until the employee or beneficiary

is aware, or by the exercise of reasonable diligence should have been aware, of the

relationship between the injury or death and the employment.” Id. Finally, and of

importance to this case, “[o]nce a claim has been filed with the Mayor, no further

written claims are necessary.” Id.

Reading the two operative clauses in context with the rest of the section

evinces that they are mutually dependent, i.e., fulfillment of the first clause relieves

the necessity to fulfill the second. One can readily discern this from the text itself

because the final sentence of the section plainly states that “[o]nce a claim has been

25

filed . . . no further written claims are necessary.” Id. Accordingly, an employee who

filed an initial claim for benefits following their work-related accident does not need

to file a second claim after their employer ceases benefits to maintain their right to

contest their benefit entitlement.

In construing Section 32-1514, the majority overrides Section 32-1514(a)’s

first clause with the alternative second, holding that “an employee who wishes to

reopen her case to request additional workers’ compensation benefits must . . . file a

new claim in order to have it adjudicated, since under those circumstances there will

not be an adjudication in the absence of a request for it.” Ante at 16-17.

The very text of the Act allows for no such interpretation in my view. As

explained, an employee may file an initial claim for benefits within one year of

suffering a work-related injury under Section 32-1514’s first clause or they may wait

to file a claim within a year following their employer’s cessation of voluntary

benefits under the second clause. The majority’s holding disregards this plain

reading and conversely interprets the Act to require a claimant to “file a new claim”

to “reopen” their workers’ compensation claim, otherwise their claim will remain

“closed” following their employer’s cessation of benefits. That rationale is not only

confusing (an employee needs to file a new claim to maintain their old claim), but it

is also contrary to the Act’s express language that once a claim has been filed, no

further written claims are necessary.

26

I believe the Council’s apparent legislative intent affirms this textual

interpretation. Section 32‑1514 was adopted by the D.C. Council in 1980 as an

original part of the Act. District of Columbia Workers’ Compensation Act of 1979,

D.C. Law 3-77, 27 D.C. Reg. 2503 (1980). In the Council’s committee report on the

Act, the Council only refers to a single claim under Section 1514, and although its

comments on the section are brief, there is no indication that multiple claims would

need to be filed under the section. See District of Columbia Workers’ Compensation

Act of 1979, Section-by-Section Analysis, D.C. Council, Report on Bill 3-106 at 14

(Jan. 16, 1980) (stating “[a] claim shall be filed within one year of injury or death,

with certain exceptions . . . . ”).

Except for the final sentence, Section 32-1514 is a near verbatim copy of the

Federal Longshore and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act’s provision entitled

“Filing of Claims.” 33 U.S.C. § 913(a); C&P Tel. Co. v. D.C. Dep’t Emp. Servs., 638

A.2d 690, 696 (D.C. 1994). The federal counterpart for which the District’s Act is

modeled after does not include a similar provision requiring only one claim for

workers’ compensation benefits to be filed. And yet, by the time the Council adopted

Section 32-1514, 33 U.S.C. § 913(a) had been interpreted to require only a single

filing, even when a claimant who filed an initial claim for benefits following their

injury later had their compensation payments terminated by their employer. In

Intercounty Construction Corporation v. Walter, the D.C. Circuit determined that

27

additional filings under Section 913 were not required if the claimant had filed an

initial claim and “were still awaiting an order on the filed application.” 500 F.2d 815,

819 (D.C. Cir. 1974), aff’d, 422 U.S. 1 (1975).

Thus, it stands to reason that the Council had this interpretation in mind—that

only a single timely claim is required to preserve a workers’ compensation claim,

even after an employer ceases benefits—when it modeled the District’s workers’

compensation law after its federal counterpart. That reading of the Act is all the more

likely the correct interpretation considering the Council’s deliberate decision to

include the single claim provision within the Act.

This may all be beside the point, however, because this court has already had

occasion to opine on Section 32-1514’s language in C&P Telephone Company, 638

A.2d at 690. In that case, we noted that “any questions that arise throughout the

course of a case, after a claim has been filed under [Section 32-1514], do not

constitute new and separate ‘claims for compensation,’ but are simply different

issues that must be addressed with respect to an employee’s claim.” Id. at 696.

Therefore, following C&P, a claimant’s contestation of benefits following the

termination of their benefits by their employer, but after they filed an initial claim

for compensation following their injury, does not invoke Section 32‑1514’s one-year

limitation. Rather, the claimant’s contestation is “simply [a] different issue[] that

must be addressed” within their original claim. Id. By contesting terminated benefits,

28

a claimant thereupon enters a new phase of their claim whereby they are awaiting

some finality in their dispute, which would come in the form of a Final Order, see 7

D.C.M.R. § 299 (defining Final Order as “an order . . . which formalizes the outcome

of an informal or vocational rehabilitation conference”), or Compensation Order, see

7 D.C.M.R. § 299 (defining Compensation Order as “an order of a Hearing or

Attorney Examiner . . . which rejects a claim or which makes an award of

compensation in respect of a claim under the Act”).

As I see it, Ms. Crutchfield initiated the adjudication process early on and has

since remained in limbo in the absence of a Final Order or Compensation Order. She

timely filed her initial claim for benefits in 2011 after she suffered a work injury,

satisfying Section 32‑1514. Her employer later ceased benefits, and Ms. Crutchfield

contested that cessation. In 2013, the parties attended an informal conference where,

according to Ms. Crutchfield and not disputed by Intervenors, a Memorandum of

Informal Conference was issued with the finding that Ms. Crutchfield was entitled

to temporary total disability benefits from the end of 2012 to “present and

continuing.” Evidently, Intervenors disagreed with this outcome and Ms. Crutchfield

requested a formal hearing, a fact that Intervenors do not dispute. Had Ms.

Crutchfield not requested a formal hearing, Intervenors would have needed to

dispute the Memorandum of Informal Conference, per 7 D.C.M.R. § 219.22 which

reads:

29

If an application for formal hearing is not filed in

accordance with §220 of the chapter within thirty-four

(34) working days after the issuance of the Memorandum

of Informal Conference, said Memorandum shall become

final. Thereafter, the Office shall issue a Final Order which

shall be sent by certified mail to the parties and their

representatives, and the Hearings and Adjudication

Section.

Presumably the agency received the formal request because it did not send the

Final Order as it was required to by its regulations. However, for unknown reasons,

the requested formal hearing never took place. Ms. Crutchfield then languished for

ten years, and, for reasons we simply do not know from the record, neither she nor

her employer revisited her workers’ compensation claim until 2022. These facts

show that Ms. Crutchfield initiated the adjudication process after her employer

terminated her benefits but never received finality by way of a Final Order or

Compensation Order. I am thus persuaded that her case remains ongoing and that

she is entitled to a hearing on the merits of her claim for benefits.

Rather than address the informal conference that the parties undisputedly

participated in after her employer terminated her compensation payments or the

subsequent request for a formal hearing, the majority altogether dismisses the

bearing these facts have on this case because Ms. Crutchfield “has not made any

argument in this appeal . . . that her request in 2013 satisfied the one-year statute of

limitations.” Ante at n.23. On appeal Ms. Crutchfield maintains that Section 32-1514

30

does not bar relief because the Act requires only one claim to satisfy its one-year

limitation. Ms. Crutchfield argues that she satisfied that one-year requirement by

filing her initial claim in 2011 after she suffered a work-related injury and that her

claim is ongoing. Ms. Crutchfield’s argument, in my opinion, presumes that her

request for an informal conference and formal hearing constituted a continuation of

her ongoing claim, thus it was not necessary for her to separately address why her

request for a formal hearing did or did not satisfy Section 32-1514. Accordingly, I

think we can, and should, address the adjudication that Ms. Crutchfield requested in

2013 and the finality that failed to manifest thereafter. 1

Under the specific facts of this case, the interpretation of Section 32-1514

outlined in this dissent, and following this court’s guiding principle “that workers’

1

This is not to ignore the near-decade-long gap in Ms. Crutchfield’s case. I agree that this record betrays no reason one way or the other as to why Ms. Crutchfield’s claim laid dormant so long without a formal hearing—whether agency inaction, her own, or both. Ante at 6. No factual findings were made on the matter beyond the existence of an unexplained gap which was held against Ms. Crutchfield at the agency level and by the majority as seen in how it characterizes her “wait[ing] years, even a decade or more, before informing [her] employer[] of the claims against them.” Ante at 21. As previously noted, it is not disputed that Ms. Crutchfield made a request for a formal hearing after the informal conference. In the presence of a gap in the factual record, especially where such a request was made, I would be inclined to interpret the gap against the agency, as opposed to the claimant. Factual interpretation aside, if the dormancy of the case is a material question, then the agency needs to take evidence and make findings of fact regarding the issue in the first instance.

31

compensation statutes should be liberally construed to achieve their humanitarian

purpose,” McCamey v. D.C. Dep’t of Emp. Servs., 947 A.2d 1191, 1197 (D.C. 2008)

(en banc) (citation modified) (quoting Vieira v. D.C. Dep’t of Emp. Servs., 721 A.2d

579, 584 (D.C. 1998)), I would reverse the CRB’s determination and remand so that

the merits of Ms. Crutchfield’s claim for benefits may be reviewed. Furthermore, I

would clarify that Section 32-1514 does not bar a claimant’s workers’ compensation

claim where a single claim has been timely filed, no matter if the claim was filed

before or after an employer ceased providing benefits. I would hold that once an

adjudication has been initiated, that claim remains ongoing until a Final Order or

Compensation Order has been rendered, or the case has otherwise been resolved by

the parties and they have sought dismissal. Such a holding, in my view, is in

accordance with our precedent in C&P Telephone Company and in alignment with

the interpretation of the federal Longshore and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act,

which the Council modeled the Act after.

For at least two reasons, I do not share the majority’s concern that such a

holding would create a precedent for claimants to bring delayed claims, which they

assert Ms. Crutchfield did. Ante at 21. First, a case such as this should be exceedingly

rare. The regulations and procedures promote the active resolution and closure of

workers’ compensation cases. Ironically, Ms. Crutchfield’s request for formal

hearing became both a sword and shield against her. If she had not made the request,

32

the impetus would have been on her employer to file its own request and dispute the

Memorandum of Informal Conference it disagreed with—or the agency would be

responsible for issuing a Final Order reflecting the terms of the Memorandum of

Informal Conference. However, because Ms. Crutchfield filed a request, no such

Final Order was issued. For the reasons discussed above, it stands to reason that the

agency received Ms. Crutchfield’s request but then failed to set the formal hearing

and progress the case. While we have no record of Ms. Crutchfield taking further

action, we also have no record either of her employer pursuing finality on the

pending claim, nor of the agency adjudicating the case towards finality. I believe this

unique confluence of factors to be an exceedingly rare occurrence.

Next, routinely among administrative agencies across the District and country,

agencies take action to spur cases toward resolution. At some point over the near

decade after the request for formal hearing was made, upon noticing the case

lingering because of agency inaction, i.e. that it lacked a final order and no formal

hearing was set, the agency could have done at least one of two things. First, it could

have issued a scheduling order and put the case into gear. Alternatively, as agencies

routinely do, it could have sent a notice to inquire into whether a dispute remained

in the case and required the parties to show cause as to why the case should not be

dismissed for failure to prosecute. The agency could then take appropriate action,

including dismissing the case, under its authority to manage its docket. See Mullin

33

v. D.C. Rental Hous. Comm’n, 844 A.2d 1138, 1141 (D.C. 2004) (holding that the

administrative agency could enforce compliance with its orders by dismissal);

Ammerman v. D.C. Rental Accommodations Comm’n, 375 A.2d 1060, 1063 (D.C.

1977) (“No principle of administrative law is more firmly established than that of

agency control of its own calendar. . . . [a]gencies must be, and are, given discretion

in the procedural decisions made in carrying out their statutory mandate.”).

For the foregoing reasons, I respectfully dissent.