LAW.coLAW.co

Sarah L. Pais v. Andrew G. Pais

2026-09-25

Authorities cited

Opinion

majority opinion

Rel: September 25, 2026

Notice: This opinion is subject to formal revision before publication in the advance sheets of Southern Reporter. Readers are requested to notify the Reporter of Decisions, Alabama Appellate Courts, 300 Dexter Avenue, Montgomery, Alabama 36104-3741 ((334) 229-0650), of any typographical or other errors, in order that corrections may be made before the opinion is published in Southern Reporter.

ALABAMA COURT OF CIVIL APPEALS

SPECIAL TERM, 2026

CL-2026-0180

Sarah L. Pais

v.

Andrew G. Pais

Appeal from Lee Circuit Court

(DR-18-900151.02)

MOORE, Presiding Judge.

Sarah L. Pais ("the mother") appeals from a contempt and childsupport-modification judgment entered by the Lee Circuit Court ("the

trial court"). We affirm the judgment in part, reverse it in part, and

remand the case with instructions to the trial court.

CL-2026-0180

Procedural History

In 2018, the trial court entered a judgment divorcing the mother

and Andrew G. Pais ("the father"); the divorce judgment incorporated a

settlement agreement entered into between the parties, pursuant to

which the parties were awarded joint legal and joint physical custody of

their two children. The divorce judgment also provided that the father

would maintain health insurance and dental insurance covering the

children and that the parties would equally share health-care costs not

covered by insurance. In 2020, the trial court modified the divorce

judgment to award the mother sole legal and sole physical custody of the

children and ordered the father to pay $667 per month in child support

beginning on January 1, 2021. The Rule 32, Ala. R. Jud. Admin., CS-42

form attached to the modification judgment indicates that, in calculating

the child support due, the trial court determined that the father was

paying $503 each month for the health insurance covering the children.

On April 24, 2025, the State of Alabama ("the State"), by and

through the Lee County Department of Human Resources and on behalf

of the mother, filed in the trial court a contempt petition alleging that the

father was $27,536.45 in arrears on his child-support obligation, that he

2

CL-2026-0180

owed $13,920 in accumulated unpaid medical expenses, and that he owed

$3,520.42 in interest. On August 8, 2025, the father filed an answer and

a counterclaim for a modification of his child-support obligation. On

August 22, 2025, the trial court held a hearing on the contempt petition.

On September 23, 2025, the mother appeared, filed a reply to the

father's counterclaim, and asserted a cross-claim against the father for

additional medical-support arrearages. On October 23, 2025, the trial

court entered an order finding that the father was in contempt of its prior

child-support judgments and awarded the mother $32,406.29 as a childsupport arrearage based on the petition the State filed. On November

14, 2025, the mother filed a motion requesting, among other things, that

the trial court amend the October 23, 2025, contempt order to increase

the amount of the arrearage, alleging that the father had not provided

health-insurance coverage for the children since April 2021 and had not

paid one-half of their uncovered medical expenses.

After a trial on the pending claims, the trial court, on February 3,

2026, entered a judgment providing, in pertinent part:

"There was a prior finding that the father's amount of

unpaid child support was $32,406.29. Since that time, he has

paid the $4,000 upfront payments for those arrears.

3

CL-2026-0180

"The [c]ourt finds that the evidence supports that the

father did not pay health insurance as ordered, or as available

to him since April of 2021, except for one payment of $200.00

in August of 2023. ...

"….

"The mother incurred the following medical insurance

expenses for the children as a result of the father's not doing

so:

"● $232.74 ([Children's] 2/3 share of

monthly) x 5 months = $1,163.70

"● $321.45 ([Children's] 2/3 share of

monthly) x 8 months = $2,571.57

"● 2 years of AllKids = $425

"● Father Paid = $200

"● $591.91 ([Children's] 2/3 share of

monthly) x 5 months = $2,959.53

"TOTAL: $6,919.80

"….

"1. [The father] is found in civil contempt for his

willful failure to pay medical insurance for the children as

previously ordered and as a result thereof, owes the [mother]

$6,919.80….

"2. For his prior failure to pay child support, [the

father] owes and shall pay to [the mother] the sum of

$28,406.29 Dollars, ($32,406.29 - $4,000.00 payment =

$28,406.29) for which amount a separate judgment is hereby

entered in favor of [the mother] against [the father]….

4

CL-2026-0180

"3. The [f]ather shall pay the mother at least $493 per

month towards his child support and medical insurance

arrears until those are paid in full….

"4. Standard Child Support: The [c]ourt finds the

amounts used on the attached CS-42 to be the correct inputs

for determining current child support and does adopt the

same. After having completed such calculations, the [c]ourt

finds and orders that, for the use and benefit of the said minor

child(ren) [the father] shall pay to [the mother] the sum of

$851.00 per month as child support….

"….

"5. As has now become the custom, the mother is now

responsible to pay for the children's health insurance and the

modification of the current child support reflects that change.

"6. Otherwise, except as modified above, all prior

orders remain in full force and effect. All requests not granted

herein, or previously, are denied. All court costs are taxed as

paid. This is a final order."

(Emphasis in original.) The mother filed a postjudgment motion on

February 12, 2026, which the trial court denied on February 27, 2026.

On March 6, 2026, the mother filed a notice of appeal.

Finality of the Judgment

Before proceeding to the merits, we first address the mother's

contention that the judgment is not final because, she says, the trial court

failed to address all of her claims.

5

CL-2026-0180

" ' " Generally, an appeal will lie only from a final judgment,

and if there is not a final judgment then this court is without

jurisdiction to hear the appeal. Hamilton ex rel. SlateHamilton v. Connally, 959 So. 2d 640, 642 (Ala. 2006). A

judgment is not final if it fails to completely adjudicate all

issues between the parties. Giardina v. Giardina, 39 So. 3d

204, 207 (Ala. Civ. App. 2009) (citing Butler v. Phillips, 3 So.

3d 922, 925 (Ala. Civ. App. 2008))." ' "

Cornelius v. Cornelius, 432 So. 3d 424, 428 (Ala. Civ. App. 2025) (quoting

Sexton v. Sexton, 42 So. 3d 1280, 1282 (Ala. Civ. App. 2010)). The mother

asserts that the trial court did not expressly address each claim that she

made in her pleadings, but, as will be explained later, the judgment at

least impliedly adjudicates all her claims, and it contains a provision that

denies all relief not otherwise addressed in the judgment, so the

judgment is a final judgment. See M.S.H. v. C.A.H., 829 So. 2d 164, 168

(Ala. Civ. App. 2002) ("Although the trial court's ... judgment did not

specifically address some of the father's assertions, that judgment states

in pertinent part that 'all other relief sought herein is denied.' Thus, we

conclude that the trial court's ... [judgment] clearly disposed of all of the

parties' arguments, and, therefore, that it constituted a final judgment.").

Issues

The mother argues that the trial court erred in calculating the

amount of the health-care-coverage arrearage by using an improper

6

CL-2026-0180

formula to determine the amount of health-care-coverage costs to which

she was entitled and by improperly excluding dental-care coverage from

the formula. The mother also contends that the trial court erred in failing

to order the father to pay his portion of certain medical expenses incurred

on behalf of the children that were not covered by health-care insurance.

Finally, the mother maintains that the trial court erred in calculating her

health-care-coverage costs when modifying the father's child-support

obligation.

Health-Insurance Coverage

The mother testified that, after April 2021, the father had failed to

maintain health insurance for the children as required by the divorce

judgment and the modification judgment. The father admitted that, in

April 2021, he had lost his employment and, with it, the health insurance

for the children, which he did not replace. The mother testified that, after

April 2021, she had briefly placed the children on Medicaid. The mother

said that, from September 1, 2021, onward, she had maintained healthcare coverage for the children through a variety of means.

First, from September 1, 2021, until January 31, 2022, the mother

maintained "marketplace" health insurance for the children. The mother

7

CL-2026-0180

testified that, before the children were covered on her marketplace

health-insurance policy, she had paid a premium of $102.71 for her

individual coverage and that, when she added the children to her policy,

her premium rose by $244.66 per month to $347.37. Second, from

January 1, 2022, through September 30, 2023, she maintained health

insurance for the children through her employment. The mother testified

that her employer had covered her individual health-insurance premium

and that she had paid $222.54 every two weeks to cover the children.

Third, from October 1, 2023, to September 30, 2025, the children were

covered by ALLKids Insurance, which is administered through

Alabama's Children's Health Insurance Program, at a cost to the mother

of $212.50 per year. And, finally, from October 1, 2025, to the time of

trial, the mother had again provided the children with health-care

coverage through an employment-related insurance policy under which

her employer contributed $637.27 per month and she paid $887.86 per

month. The mother presented an exhibit that showed that, if the children

were not covered under that policy, her share of the policy premium

would have been $144.85 per month. According to the mother, from April

8

CL-2026-0180

2021 to the date of the trial, the father had reimbursed her only $200 for

providing the children with health insurance.

Rule 32(B)(7)(g), Ala. R. Jud. Admin., states:

"If, at any time while a child-support order providing for a

health-care-coverage adjustment is in effect, the health-care

coverage is allowed to lapse, is terminated, or otherwise no

longer covers the child or children for whose benefit the order

was issued, the court (i) may find the amount deducted from

the obligor's child-support obligation therefor to be an

arrearage in the obligor's total child-support obligation; (ii)

may find the obligor liable for medical expenses that would

otherwise have been covered under the health-care coverage;

and/or (iii) may enter such other order as it shall deem

appropriate."

By its plain language, Rule 32(B)(7)(g) affords a trial court much

discretion in determining the appropriate remedy when an obligor parent

fails to maintain health-insurance coverage as required by a childsupport order. In this case, the trial court elected to order the father to

reimburse the mother the cost of the health-care coverage that she had

obtained for the children after April 2021.

The mother maintains that the trial court, as was its option under

Rule 32(B)(7)(g)(i), should have additionally awarded her an arrearage

for the $503 per month that was credited to the father's child-support

obligation in the modification judgment because, she says, the father did

9

CL-2026-0180

not actually expend that amount to cover the children on health-care

insurance after April 2021. Although the mother contends that the trial

court did not consider that option because it did not expressly address

her claim in the judgment, the record shows that the trial-court judge

was fully apprised of the claim and that he addressed the claim by

implicitly rejecting it when he denied all other claims for relief in the

judgment. "[T]he decision whether to reduce the amount of the unpaid

insurance premiums to an arrearage is a matter of discretion for the trial

court ...." Mills v. Dailey, 38 So. 3d 731, 736 (Ala. Civ. App. 2008). The

mother cites no legal authority that would have required the trial court

to award her an arrearage under Rule 32(B)(7)(g)(i) in these

circumstances, and she makes no cogent legal argument that the trial

court exceeded its discretion in applying Rule 32(B)(7)(g)(iii) instead and

in determining that awarding the mother reimbursement for the healthcare-coverage costs that she had incurred was a more appropriate

remedy. Thus, we do not consider this argument further. See White

Sands Grp., L.L.C. v. PRS II, LLC, 998 So. 2d 1042, 1058 (Ala. 2008).

In calculating the health-care costs attributable to the children (not

counting the cost of ALLKids Insurance), the trial court determined the

10

CL-2026-0180

total amount the mother had actually paid for health-care coverage and

attributed two-thirds of that amount to the children. For the

marketplace insurance, the trial court determined that the total costs to

the mother was $347.37, two-thirds of which, i.e., $232.74, it attributed

to the health-care costs for the children.1 For the employment-related

insurance that the mother obtained beginning in January 2022, the trial

court determined that the total monthly cost the mother had paid was

$482, two-thirds of which, i.e., $321.45, it attributed to the health-care

costs for the children.2 Finally, for the health-care coverage that the

mother maintained after October 1, 2025, the trial court determined that

the mother incurred a total cost of $887.86 per month, two-thirds of

which, i.e., $591.91, it attributed to the health-care costs for the

children.3 The trial court then purported to award the mother the

corresponding monthly amount for each month that she paid those costs.

1$347.37 x .67 = $232.7379. The trial court rounded some of the

figures to the benefit of the mother.

2$222.54 every 2 weeks x 26 weeks = $5,786.04 ÷ 12 months =

$482.17 x .666666 = $321.446. The trial court rounded up to benefit the

mother.

3$886.86 x .666666 = $591.906. Again, the trial court rounded up

to benefit the mother.

11

CL-2026-0180

It appears that the trial court followed the formula established in

Rule 32(B)(7)(e) when calculating the health-care costs. Rule 32(B)(7)(e)

provides that, when determining health-care-coverage costs for the

purposes of establishing the basic child-support obligation, the costs of

health-care coverage

"shall be the pro rata portion of the health-care-coverage cost

attributable to the child or children who are the subject of the

support order, which shall be calculated by dividing the total

health-care-coverage cost actually paid by, or on behalf of, the

parent ordered to provide the coverage by the total number of

persons (adult and/or children) covered and then multiplying

the result by the number of children who are the subject of the

support order."

The mother argues that the trial court erred in using that formula

instead of accepting her testimony regarding what she believed was the

actual cost of the coverage that she provided for the children. However,

the trial court was authorized by Rule 32(B)(7)(g) to enter any order it

deemed appropriate, and the mother has failed to demonstrate that the

trial court exceeded its discretion by using the formula from Rule

32(B)(7)(e) to ascertain the health-care-coverage costs that the father

should be required to repay the mother.

We do agree, however, that the trial court erred in calculating the

reimbursement amount for the health-care costs during the period from

12

CL-2026-0180

January 2022 through September 2023. The trial court awarded the

mother $321.45 for only 8 of the 21 months during that period. When

calculating a child-support arrearage, the trial court is bound by the

evidence. See Tatum v. Carrell, 897 So. 2d 313 (Ala. Civ. App. 2004).

Multiplying $321.45 by 21, the trial court should have determined that

the mother was due $6,750.45 for that period, not $2,571.57, and, as a

result, the mother was entitled to a total of $11,098.68, not $6,919.80, as

reimbursement for providing the children replacement health-care

coverage.4 Therefore, we reverse the judgment and remand the case for

the trial court to enter a new judgment awarding the mother $11,098.68

as a medical-support arrearage.

Dental Insurance

The divorce judgment and the modification judgment required the

father to maintain dental insurance for the benefit of the children. The

mother testified that the father had not provided any insurance for the

children since April 2021. The mother presented evidence indicating that

she had maintained dental insurance covering herself and the children

since February 18, 2022. The mother testified that the dental-insurance

4$1,163.70 + $6,750.45 + $425 - $200 + $2,959.53 = $11,098.68.

13

CL-2026-0180

premium was originally $48.19 every two weeks but that, by October

2025, the premium had risen to $53.88 every two weeks. The mother

requested that the trial court order the father to reimburse her for the

costs of dental insurance for the children. The mother argues that the

trial court erred by failing to address that claim, but the trial court

implicitly denied the claim when it provided that any claim for relief not

addressed in the judgment was denied. The mother complains that the

trial court did not explain its reasoning for denying her relief, but it was

not required to do so. See M.B. v. L.B., 154 So. 3d 1043, 1045 (Ala. Civ.

App. 2014) (holding that trial court had no legal duty to explain its reason

for denying claim for visitation). The mother makes no argument

supported by legal authority as required by Rule 28(a)(10), Ala. R. App.

P., that the trial court erred in denying her claim for reimbursement of

the premiums that she paid for the children's dental insurance, so that

argument is waived. See White Sands Grp., supra.

Unreimbursed Health-Care Expenses

The divorce judgment required the father to pay one-half of the

children's health-care expenses not covered by insurance. The divorce

judgment and the modification judgment provided that any noncovered

14

CL-2026-0180

health-care expenses should be presented by the paying parent within 30

days and that the other parent would have 30 days from the date of

presentation to pay his or her half.

The mother presented to the father two receipts for expenses that

she had incurred on behalf of the children before the trial -- a receipt for

orthodontic services and another for an emergency-room visit -- as to

which the father had not yet paid his one-half. However, regarding the

emergency-room-visit bill, the mother admitted that the 30-day period

for the father to submit reimbursement had not yet passed at the time of

the trial, and the father ultimately paid the bill, so that claim was moot.

See generally Underwood v. Alabama State Bd. of Educ., 39 So. 3d 120,

127-28 (Ala. 2009) (recognizing that case becomes moot when there is no

longer actual controversy between the parties).

Although the mother contends that her claim for reimbursement of

one-half of the orthodontic bill was unresolved, the trial court's judgment

denied all requests not specifically addressed within the judgment, so the

trial court effectively denied her claim for reimbursement of one-half of

the orthodontic bill. We agree with the mother that the trial court had

no basis for doing so. In light of the unambiguous terms of the divorce

15

CL-2026-0180

judgment and the undisputed evidence indicating that the mother had

incurred $2,350 to obtain orthodontic care for one of the parties' children,

that she had promptly notified the father of that expense, and that he

had failed to pay his half of the expense, the trial court should have

included in its judgment an award to the mother of $1,175. The trial

court erred by not ordering reimbursement of that amount. See Stinson

v. Stinson, 729 So. 2d 864, 870 (Ala. Civ. App. 1998) (quoting Morin v.

Morin, 678 So. 2d 166, 169 (Ala. Civ. App. 1996)) (" 'The trial court lacked

the authority to "forgive" or set aside [a father's] obligation to pay for the

children's noncovered medical expenses that had already accrued.' "). On

remand, we direct the trial court to enter a judgment in favor of the

mother, requiring the father to pay $1,175, one-half of the orthodontist

bill that was not covered by insurance. Furthermore, the trial court

should recalculate the total medical-support arrearage due and the

monthly amount payable to satisfy that arrearage.

Prospective Child Support

The mother last argues that the trial court erred in modifying the

father's child-support obligation to $851 per month. The judgment

reflects that the trial court prepared a CS-42 form that, among other

16

CL-2026-0180

things, indicated that the mother was paying $670 monthly for healthcare-coverage costs. At trial, the mother presented her own CS-42 form

indicating that she was paying $809 per month in health-care-coverage

costs. The mother testified that, in determining the amount of the

children's monthly medical- and dental-insurance premiums, she had

used a formula that she had found on a State website, which, she said,

"use[d] the actual child-only premium, as opposed to the two-third

calculation of the family plan." The mother argues that the trial court

erred by failing to use her calculation of the health-care-coverage costs.

"Rule 32(B)(7)(d) provides that health-insurance costs are to

be 'divided between the parents in proportion to their adjusted

gross income' as reflected on the applicable CS-42 form. Rule

32(B)(7)(e) further provides that the health-insurance cost

attributable to the child is calculated by dividing the total

health-care-coverage cost actually paid by, or on behalf of, the

parent providing the coverage by the total number of covered

individuals and then multiplying that figure by the number of

children who are the subject of the support order."

Desmond v. Desmond, [Ms. CL-2025-1069, July 10, 2026] ___ So. 3d ___,

___ (Ala. Civ. App. 2026).

The evidence the mother presented showed that she actually paid

a total of $887.86 per month for health insurance and $53.88 every two

17

CL-2026-0180

weeks, or $116.74 per month,5 for dental insurance, for a monthly total

of $1,004.60, two-thirds of which is approximately $669.73. The trial

court apparently made the foregoing calculations and rounded up to

$670, to the benefit of the mother. Contrary to the mother's arguments,

the figures used by the trial court to make its calculations are supported

by the evidence, and the formula used by the trial court complied with

Rule 32(B)(7)(e). See Cauthen v. Cauthen, 415 So. 3d 63, 81 (Ala. Civ.

App. 2024). We find no error here.

Conclusion

We reverse the judgment insofar as the trial court miscalculated

the medical-support arrearage and remand the case with instructions

that the trial court amend the judgment in accordance with this opinion.

In all other respects, we affirm the judgment.

AFFIRMED IN PART; REVERSED IN PART; AND REMANDED

WITH INSTRUCTIONS.

Edwards, Hanson, Fridy, and Bowden, JJ., concur.

5$53.88 x 26 weeks ÷ 12 months = $116.74.

18