LAW.coLAW.co

Lonne Letteri v. Safepoint Insurance Company

2026-10-02

Authorities cited

Opinion

majority opinion

SIXTH DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL

STATE OF FLORIDA

Case No. 6D2025-0045

Lower Tribunal No. 2023-CA-009103

LONNE LETTERI,

Appellant,

v.

SAFEPOINT INSURANCE COMPANY,

Appellee.

Appeal from the Circuit Court for Lee County.

Michael T. McHugh, Judge.

October 2, 2026

TRAVER, C.J.

Lonne Letteri appeals the trial court’s final summary judgment for Safepoint

Insurance Company. We have jurisdiction. See Fla. R. App. P. 9.030(b)(1)(A).

Letteri raced to the courthouse to file a breach of contract lawsuit against his insurer

before the claims process broke down. Accordingly, Safepoint’s post-filing payment

of policy limits following an appraisal process that complied with the insurance

policy’s terms did not constitute a “confession of judgment” entitling Letteri to

recover his attorney’s fees under section 627.428(1), Florida Statutes (2022).

Letteri’s notice of intent to sue under section 627.70152, Florida Statutes (2022), does not change this conclusion. While this statute allowed Letteri to file his lawsuit,

it did not require it. Finally, the statute neither imposed an extra-contractual

appraisal deadline nor entitled Letteri to recover his attorney’s fees automatically.

We affirm. 1

I.

Letteri’s home suffered damage from Hurricane Ian, and he promptly filed a

claim. Safepoint inspected the property, accepted coverage, and issued payments

totaling about $200,000. A month later, Letteri submitted a notice under section

627.70152. This statute requires insureds to notify the Department of Financial

Services of their intent to sue. § 627.70152(3)(a). The notice must contain, among

other information, an explanation of “[t]he alleged acts or omissions of the insurer

giving rise to the suit” and a presuit settlement demand. § 627.70152(3)(a)2., 5.a.

The Department then notifies the insurer. § 627.70152(3)(a). The insured must give

notice at least ten business days before suing, but only after the insurer has made a

coverage determination. Id.

1

We separately affirm the trial court’s denial of prejudgment interest without further discussion. See § 627.70131(7)(a), Fla. Stat. (2022) (“However, failure to comply with this subsection does not form the sole basis for a private cause of action.”); see also Riley v. Heritage Prop. & Cas. Ins., No. 23-11678, 2025 WL 574244, at *3 (11th Cir. Feb. 21, 2025) (rejecting appellants’ breach of contract claims for insurance company’s failure to pay interest because claims were “thinly disguised claims for statutory breach of Subsection [(7)](a)” which were “precluded by Subsection [(7)](a)’s private action bar”).

2

Within ten business days of receiving notice, the insurer must respond to the

insured. § 627.70152(4). If the insurer does not deny coverage, it “must respond by

making a settlement offer or requiring the claimant to participate in appraisal or

another method of alternative dispute resolution.” § 627.70152(4)(b) (emphasis

added). If the insurer elects appraisal, and that process is incomplete within ninety

days after the expiration of the ten-day notice period, the insured “may immediately

file suit without providing the insurer additional notice.” Id.

When Letteri served his notice, section 627.70152 contained an attorney’s

fees provision. § 627.70152(8). That provision, since repealed, 2 grounded an

insured’s fee recovery, if any, under section 627.428(1). 3 § 627.70152(8)(a). It first

required determination of the difference between the “amount obtained” by the

insured and the insurer’s “presuit settlement offer,” and then a calculation of a

percentage based on that figure and the “disputed amount.” § 627.70152(2), (8)(a).

In his notice of intent to sue, Letteri sought more than $200,000 in additional

damages and $10,000 in attorney’s fees. In response, Safepoint required him to

participate in appraisal. See NCI, LLC v. Progressive Select Ins., 350 So. 3d 801,

806 (Fla. 5th DCA 2022) (“Appraisals are creatures of contract and the subject or

2

Ch. 2022-271, § 17, Laws of Fla. (eff. Dec. 16, 2022).

3

This statute has also since been repealed. Ch. 2023-15, § 11, Laws of Fla. (eff. Mar. 24, 2023).

3

scope of appraisal depends on the contract provision.” (quoting Fla. Ins. Guar. Ass’n

v. Branco, 148 So. 3d 488, 491 (Fla. 5th DCA 2014))). The policy outlined the

parties’ appraisal rights and procedure for it. “The goal of appraisal provisions is to

settle disputes without litigation.” Id. (citing SafePoint Ins. v. Hallet, 322 So. 3d

204, 207 (Fla. 5th DCA 2021)).

The policy required each party to choose a competent appraiser within twenty

days. The appraisers would each set the amount of loss, and if they could not agree,

select a competent and impartial umpire. The policy did not contain a deadline for

the parties to complete appraisal, but if an appraisal award was filed, Safepoint had

to pay Letteri that amount within sixty days.

The appraisal process proceeded uneventfully. Both parties timely chose

appraisers, and those appraisers agreed on an umpire. But when the process did not

conclude within ninety days, Letteri sued Safepoint for breach of contract. He

alleged that Safepoint had breached the policy by refusing to pay him for his benefits

owed. Safepoint immediately moved to abate the lawsuit to allow for completion of

the appraisal process, and Letteri agreed. The umpire later issued an appraisal award

for policy limits, and Safepoint paid the award within the sixty days the policy

required. Below, Letteri conceded that any delay in finalizing the appraisal award

was nobody’s fault, and his appraiser attested that the umpire’s inability to complete

the process sooner stemmed from her post-hurricane workload.

4

Both parties moved for summary judgment. Letteri moved first, claiming the

appraisal award was a confession of judgment entitling him to recover his attorney’s

fees and prejudgment interest. Safepoint moved next, claiming it did not breach the

policy when it timely paid the appraisal award, and insisting it would have paid the

appraisal award whether Letteri sued or not.

The trial court granted Safepoint’s motion and denied Letteri’s. It concluded

the claims process had not broken down, and just because section 627.70152 allowed

Letteri to sue, it did not mean that an attorney’s fees award was appropriate or

authorized. It determined that the ninety-day deadline in section 627.70152(4)(b)

was not a deadline for appraisal’s completion, and that because Safepoint had elected

appraisal rather than make a settlement offer, section 627.70152(8)’s fee recovery

formula did not apply. Lastly, it observed that if an insurer unreasonably delayed

the appraisal process or payout, a confession of judgment allowing for fee

entitlement may occur. But it concluded that this had not occurred.

II.

We review de novo the trial court’s summary judgment. Pial Holdings, LTD

v. Riverfront Plaza, LLC, 379 So. 3d 547, 550 (Fla. 6th DCA 2024) (citing Volusia

Cnty. v. Aberdeen at Ormond Beach, L.P., 760 So. 2d 126, 130 (Fla. 2000)). We

likewise review statutory interpretation issues de novo. See Marlin Constr. Grp.,

LLC v. Bollinger, 412 So. 3d 812, 815 (Fla. 6th DCA 2024).

5

III.

On this record, no confession of judgment occurred. We decline to apply this

judicially created doctrine when the parties’ claim process has not broken down, and

the insured races to the courthouse to seek his attorney’s fees under section

627.428(1). Nothing about section 627.70152 alters this conclusion.

A.

Section 627.70152 has never provided an independent right to attorney’s fees;

our inquiry is driven by section 627.428(1)’s applicability. See Citizens Prop. Ins.

v. Vazquez, 368 So. 3d 456, 460 (Fla. 4th DCA 2023). As the Fourth District

explained, section 627.70152(8)’s plain language recognizes section 627.428(1) as

the source of the insured’s fee claim. See id. (citing § 627.70152(8)). And we agree

with our sister court that “a dispute over attorney’s fees alone cannot be the trigger

for a lawsuit or a fee award” under section 627.70152. See id.

B.

Section 627.428(1) is inapplicable to Letteri’s case, and it does not compel his

fee recovery. Before its repeal, this statute provided that an insured could recover

his attorney’s fees “[u]pon the rendition of a judgment or decree by any of the courts

of this state against an insurer and in favor of any named or omnibus insured or the

named beneficiary under a policy or contract executed by the insurer.” § 627.428(1).

Of course, no such judgment occurred when Safepoint paid the appraisal award. But

6

the Florida Supreme Court broadened section 627.428(1)’s applicability to include

situations where an insurer settled a case before a judgment’s entry. See Wollard v.

Lloyd’s & Cos. of Lloyd’s, 439 So. 2d 217, 218 (Fla. 1983). In Wollard, an insured

suffered a loss, and the insurer denied coverage. Id. at 217–18. The insured hired

an attorney and sued. Id. at 218. On the eve of trial, the parties settled. Id. The

trial court awarded the insured his attorney’s fees, but the district court reversed,

relying on section 627.428’s plain language requiring a judgment’s entry. Id. The

Wollard Court disagreed, reasoning that the statute’s “literal requirement . . . exalts

form over substance to the detriment of public policy.” Id. It observed that

“[r]equiring the plaintiff to continue litigation in spite of an acceptable offer of

settlement . . . puts an unnecessary burden on the judicial system, fails to protect any

interest—the insured’s, the insurer’s or the public’s—and discourages any attempt

at settlement.” Id. This “confession of judgment doctrine” thus addressed policy

considerations; the Wollard Court concluded it was unfair to require an insured to

continue litigating a lawsuit that the insurer forced him to file based on its belated

acceptance of its contractual breach. Id.

Untethered to the statute’s plain language, the confession of judgment

doctrine led to predictable questions. Relevant here, whether an insured is entitled

to fees when an insurer did not breach the policy, but the parties’ resolution occurred

after the insured had filed suit. Our sister courts have all said no. See, e.g., Allstate

7

Fire & Cas. Ins. v. Castro, 351 So. 3d 127, 133 (Fla. 1st DCA 2022); Progressive

Select Ins. v. Hilchey, 396 So. 3d 775, 783 (Fla. 2d DCA 2024); Valdivieso v.

Citizens Prop. Ins., 388 So. 3d 1004, 1007 (Fla. 3d DCA 2024); People’s Tr. Ins. v.

Farinato, 315 So. 3d 724, 728 (Fla. 4th DCA 2021); State Farm Ins. Co. v. Lorenzo,

969 So. 2d 393, 397 (Fla. 5th DCA 2007). The Lorenzo court, for example, declined

to apply the confession of judgment doctrine “where the insureds were not forced to

sue to receive benefits; applying the doctrine would encourage unnecessary litigation

by rewarding a race to the courthouse for attorney’s fees even where the insurer was

complying with its obligations under the policy.” 969 So. 2d at 398. The Farinato

court asked whether the insured’s lawsuit “was filed for a legitimate purpose, and

whether the filing acted as a necessary catalyst to resolve the dispute and force the

insurer to satisfy its obligations under the insurance contract.” 315 So. 3d at 728

(quoting State Farm Fla. Ins. v. Lime Bay Condo., Inc., 187 So. 3d 932, 935 (Fla.

4th DCA 2016)). If it was not, the confession of judgment doctrine did not apply.

Id.

While we are bound by Wollard’s holding and must apply the confession of

judgment doctrine, we need not expand it to include situations to which the holding

does not pertain. See Pedroza v. State, 291 So. 3d 541, 547 (Fla. 2020). We thus

agree with our sister courts that the doctrine does not apply to a “race to the

courthouse” situation. And this is what Letteri did here. Safepoint accepted

8

coverage and elected its right to appraisal. This process led to a policy-limits payout

that Safepoint timely paid under the policy. Letteri did not have to sue Safepoint to

obtain this recovery. Safepoint did not, for example, avoid or delay appraisal or

payment following appraisal. See, e.g., Travelers Indem. Ins. of Ill. v. Meadows

MRI, LLP, 900 So. 2d 676, 678–79 (Fla. 4th DCA 2005) (concluding confession of

judgment occurred post-appraisal when insured had to hire counsel to compel insurer

to accept coverage and seek declaratory relief on “an expensive and drawn out”

appraisal procedure); Goff v. State Farm Fla. Ins., 999 So. 2d 684, 688 (Fla. 2d DCA

2008) (awarding fees under confession of judgment theory because “lawsuit forced

[insurer] to request an appraisal and to pay significant additional amounts”).

Nobody forced Letteri to sue to receive his benefits, and his lawsuit did not act as a

necessary catalyst to resolve the dispute. The confession of judgment doctrine does

not apply.

IV.

Section 627.70152 does not alter this conclusion. It permitted Letteri to sue

Safepoint when appraisal had not concluded within ninety days. See §

627.70152(4)(b); Burzee v. Am. Traditions Ins., 425 So. 3d 1161, 1163 (Fla. 6th

DCA 2025). But the statute’s permissiveness did not compel his actions. See §

627.70152(4)(b) (“If the appraisal or alternative dispute resolution has not been

concluded within 90 days after the expiration of the 10-day notice of intent to initiate

9

litigation specified in subsection (3), the claimant or claimant’s attorney may

immediately file suit without providing the insurer additional notice.” (emphasis

added)).

Nor does this ninety-day deadline to sue constitute a deadline for an

appraisal’s completion. The statute does not reference such a deadline. Neither does

the policy. Concluding a deadline existed would require us to add something to the

statute that is not there, and we decline this invitation. See Dep’t of Child. & Fams.

v. J.H., 418 So. 3d 765, 775 (Fla. 6th DCA 2025) (citing Iselin v. United States, 270

U.S. 245, 251 (1926)).

Finally, we reject Letteri’s invitation to award fees based on section

627.70152(8)’s formula, which turned, in part, on the insurer’s presuit settlement

offer. Letteri insists that because Safepoint did not make a settlement offer, we

should assess its “presuit settlement offer” at $0. See id. § 627.70152(2), (8)(a). To

Letteri, a zero-dollar presuit offer justifies his fee recovery under the statute. But he

again misreads section 627.70152 to include words that are not there. The statute

did not require an insurer to make a settlement offer if it did not deny coverage and

instead elected to force an insured to participate in appraisal. See § 627.70152(4)(b)

(“If an insurer is responding to a notice provided to the insurer alleging an act or

omission by the insurer other than a denial of coverage, the insurer must respond by

making a settlement offer or requiring the claimant to participate in appraisal or

10

another method of alternative dispute resolution.” (emphasis added)). Because

Safepoint accepted coverage of Letteri’s loss and invoked appraisal, it need not have

made a presuit settlement offer. See id. § 627.70152(4)(b); Telophase Soc. of Fla.,

Inc. v. State Bd. of Funeral Dirs. & Embalmers, 334 So. 2d 563, 566 (Fla. 1976)

(“‘Or’ when used in a statute is generally to be construed in the disjunctive.” (citation

omitted)).

V.

On this record, the confession of judgment doctrine does not apply, and Letteri

has no basis to recover his attorney’s fees. We thus affirm.

AFFIRMED.

STARGEL and BROWNLEE, JJ., concur.

Michael A. Cassel, of Cassel Law, P.A., Hollywood, and Mark A. Boyle and Thomas E. Shepard, of Boyle, Leonard & Anderson, P.A., Fort Myers, for Appellant.

Patrick M. Chidnese and Frieda C. Lindroth, of Bickford & Chidnese, LLP, Tampa, for Appellee.

NOT FINAL UNTIL TIME EXPIRES TO FILE MOTION FOR REHEARING

AND DISPOSITION THEREOF IF TIMELY FILED

11