LAW.coLAW.co

OMS Pharmacy, Inc., d/b/a The Pharmacy at Midtown; and Hannah D. Browne v. Nationwide Property and Casualty Insurance Company; Baldo-Downs Insurance, LLC; and Roger Downs, Inc.

2026-10-09

Authorities cited

Opinion

majority opinion

Rel: October 9, 2026

Notice: This opinion is subject to formal revision before publication in the advance sheets of Southern Reporter. Readers are requested to notify the Reporter of Decisions, Alabama Appellate Courts, 300 Dexter Avenue, Montgomery, Alabama 36104-3741 ((334) 229-0650), of any typographical or other errors, in order that corrections may be made before the opinion is printed in Southern Reporter.

SUPREME COURT OF ALABAMA

OCTOBER TERM, 2026-2027

SC-2025-0165

OMS Pharmacy, Inc., d/b/a The Pharmacy at Midtown; and

Hannah D. Browne

v.

Nationwide Property and Casualty Insurance Company; BaldoDowns Insurance, LLC; and Roger Downs, Inc.

Appeal from Tuscaloosa Circuit Court

(CV-14-901325)

STEWART, Chief Justice.

SC-2025-0165

Hannah D. Browne obtained a $4.75 million judgment against OMS

Pharmacy, Inc. ("OMS"), in the Tuscaloosa Circuit Court ("the trial

court") after she was injured by a medication that had been improperly

compounded by OMS. This appeal arises from a separate related action

to determine whether Browne's claim, and subsequent judgment, is

covered under a liability-insurance policy issued to OMS by Nationwide

Property and Casualty Insurance Company ("Nationwide") and, if not,

whether Roger Downs, Inc., and/or Baldo-Downs Insurance, LLC ("the

agency defendants"),1 were negligent or wanton in failing to procure the

proper insurance coverage for OMS. The trial court entered separate

summary judgments in favor of Nationwide and the agency defendants.

Browne and OMS appeal from those judgments. We affirm.

Facts and Procedural History

The basic underlying facts are undisputed. OMS was founded and

incorporated by Tim Wright, an Alabama-licensed pharmacist, and it

1Roger Downs, Inc., is the agency that obtained the Nationwide

policy for OMS, and it was dissolved in 2021. OMS contends that BaldoDowns Insurance, LLC, is a successor to Roger Downs, Inc.

2

SC-2025-0165

began its compounding-pharmacy business in 1984.2 For 22 years OMS

operated as a franchise of The Medicine Shoppe. By the year 2008, OMS

had become an independent pharmacy doing business as The Pharmacy

at Midtown.

In March 2013, Browne's doctor prescribed her a "pink cocktail"

liquid medication for the treatment of stomach pain. As prescribed, the

medication was to be composed of equal parts phenobarbital, maalox, and

belladonna. In 2013, OMS's supplier had discontinued its commercial

generic version of the "pink cocktail," known as Donnatal. Thus, about

two weeks before receiving Browne's prescription, OMS had entered the

formula for the "pink cocktail" into its computer system so that it would

be able to easily compound future prescriptions for the medication.

Unfortunately, the OMS pharmacy technician who entered the "pink

cocktail" formulation into the computer system made an error and

entered the belladonna component of the formula in grams instead of

milligrams. That formula was followed when OMS's pharmacy

technician compounded the "pink cocktail" prescription for Browne, and,

2Itappears that, at all relevant times, Wright was OMS's sole

shareholder.

3

SC-2025-0165

thus, the belladonna contained in the medication provided to Browne was

one-thousand times stronger than prescribed. Browne consumed one

tablespoon of the improperly compounded "pink cocktail," which caused

her to suffer belladonna poisoning. Browne was treated in the intensivecare unit of a hospital, underwent a laparoscopic cholecystectomy, and

suffered other serious complications from her consumption of the

compound.

In October 2013, Browne sued OMS and Wright in the Tuscaloosa

Circuit Court ("the Browne action"). Browne's complaint, as amended,

included the following factual allegations:

"7. … Dr. Philpot … ordered a 'pink cocktail' mixture

of Phenobarbital, Belladonna, and Maalox in an effort to give

[Browne] some relief from her symptoms. Dr. Philpot's office

called in the compound prescription to a compound pharmacy,

[OMS], in Tuscaloosa on or about March 4, 2013. Dr. Philpot's

office also noted the dosage to be taken as one-half (1/2)

teaspoon every 12 hours.

"8. [OMS] accepted the compound prescription for

[Browne] on March 4, 2013 and prepared the prescription and

label. [Browne] picked up the prescription on or about March

6, 2013. The label on the prescription stated to take 1

TABLESPOONFUL by mouth as directed 4 TIMES A DAY for

2 WEEKS.

"9. [Browne] took the one (1) tablespoon dosage on

March 6, 2013 and within an hour of taking the dosage, she

began suffering from nausea, vomiting, hallucinations,

4

SC-2025-0165

convulsions, bloodshot eyes, confusion, and ultimately became

unresponsive. [Browne] was transported … to DCH Regional

Medical Center.

"….

"12. [OMS & Wright] should never have instructed

[Browne] to take one (1) tablespoon of the compound produced

by Defendant Wright containing Belladonna. [Browne]

suffered from Belladonna poisoning after consuming one

tablespoon of the pink cocktail. Upon information and belief,

Dr. Philpot will testify that the compounded drug Defendant

Wright produced, and the instructions provided to [Browne],

were not in accordance with what Dr. Philpot prescribed and

told the representatives of the pharmacy to give to [Browne].

"13. Upon information and belief, Defendant Wright

negligently and/or wantonly formulated, adopted,

implemented, supervised, oversaw, and otherwise approved

the compound drug given to [Browne] discussed herein in his

role as the pharmacist in charge."

Browne asserted against OMS and Wright a negligence/wantonness

claim, a products-liability claim, a claim alleging a breach under the

Alabama Extended Manufacture's Liability Doctrine ("AEMLD"); a claim

alleging breach of the implied warranty of merchantability; and a claim

alleging failure to warn. Browne's complaint included the following

negligence/wantonness allegations:

"16. Defendant Wright had a duty under the standard

of care of a pharmacist to ensure that any medications and

instructions regarding the consumption of said medications

were safe and would not cause harm to [Browne] when

5

SC-2025-0165

consumed. Defendant Wright and/or [OMS and its

employees] negligently and/or wantonly breached the

standard of care by failing to follow the order of Dr. Craig

Philpot in producing the compounded drug and/or in

instructing [Browne] of the amount of said drug that she

should consume …. Defendant Wright … failed to ensure that

the compounded drug and the instructions given to [Browne]

were safe for [Browne]'s consumption of said drug.

"17. Defendants were negligent and/or wanton in the

breach of the standard of care in compounding, design,

manufacture, testing, warning, distribution, labeling and/or

sale of the prescription that is the subject matter of this

lawsuit."

Browne's product-liability claim and AEMLD claim alleged that OMS

and Wright had "manufactured, compounded, formulated" a product in a

"dangerous and defective condition" and that the product was caused to

be defective "because of [their] work in manufacturing the product

specially for [Browne]." Browne further alleged that the medication "as

manufactured by [OMS and Wright] was not of merchantable quality,

was unsafe, and unsuitable for the purposes for which it was intended."

Finally, Browne alleged that OMS and Wright had failed to warn her

about the dangers inherent in the compounded drug.

OMS's insurer, Nationwide, declined to defend OMS and Wright in

the Browne action. The Nationwide policy was a general-liability policy,

which did not provide professional-liability coverage, and it contained a

6

SC-2025-0165

professional-services exclusion, which excluded coverage for bodily injury

and property damage arising out of "the rendering of, or failure to render,

any professional service, treatment, advice or instruction," including

"[s]ervice, treatment, advice or instruction in the practice of pharmacy."

Nationwide contended that coverage for Browne's injuries was excluded

under the professional-services exclusion. The Nationwide policy was

obtained for OMS by Roger Downs, Inc., in 2008, and it replaced an

insurance policy issued to OMS by Zurich American Insurance Company

("the Zurich policy"). Unlike the Nationwide policy, the Zurich policy had

not excluded coverage for bodily injury caused by professional

pharmacological services.

On April 29, 2015, Browne, OMS, and Wright reached a settlement

of the Browne action, and, as part of that settlement, a consent judgment

in the amount of $4,750,000 was entered in favor of Browne and against

OMS. Browne's claims against Wright were dismissed.

On November 11, 2014, while the Browne action was pending, OMS

commenced in the trial court a seperate action against Nationwide

alleging breach of contract and bad faith ("the insurance action").

Alternatively, it sued the agency defendants alleging negligent and/or

7

SC-2025-0165

wanton failure to procure insurance. In June 2015, Browne was

permitted to intervene in the insurance action for the purpose of

asserting a direct action against Nationwide pursuant to § 27-23-2, Ala.

Code 1975, and she sought to have Nationwide pay the judgment entered

against OMS in the Browne action.

In 2016, the agency defendants filed a motion for a summary

judgment, which was denied. In 2018, the parties filed cross-motions for

a summary judgment as to the insurance-coverage issues. Those motions

were denied in January 2020. Nationwide and the agency defendants

renewed their respective summary-judgment motions in 2022. On

September 21, 2022, the trial court entered a summary judgment in favor

of Nationwide, concluding that Browne's claims against OMS fell within

the scope of the Nationwide policy's professional-services exclusion and

that, therefore, the Nationwide policy did not provide coverage to OMS

for Browne's claims. On August 10, 2023, the agency defendants again

renewed their motion for a summary judgment.3 On February 6, 2025,

3In response to the agency defendants' renewed motion for a

summary judgment, OMS's counsel submitted an affidavit pursuant to

Rule 56(f), Ala. R. Civ. P., seeking additional time to complete discovery

and noting that Roger Downs had not yet been deposed. On appeal, OMS

8

SC-2025-0165

the trial court entered a summary judgment in favor of the agency

defendants, concluding that, because OMS had received the Nationwide

policy that, the trial court concluded, unambiguously excluded coverage

for professional services, OMS's claims alleging negligent and/or wanton

failure to procure such coverage was precluded by Alabama law. This

appeal followed.

Standard of Review

" ' "This Court's review of a

summary judgment is de novo.

Williams v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins.

Co., 886 So. 2d 72, 74 (Ala. 2003). We

apply the same standard of review as

the trial court applied. Specifically, we

must determine whether the movant

has made a prima facie showing that no

genuine issue of material fact exists

and that the movant is entitled to a

judgment as a matter of law. Rule

56(c), Ala. R. Civ. P.; Blue Cross & Blue

Shield of Alabama v. Hodurski, 899 So.

2d 949, 952-53 (Ala. 2004). In making

such a determination, we must review

the evidence in the light most favorable

to the nonmovant. Wilson v. Brown,

496 So. 2d 756, 758 (Ala. 1986). Once

the movant makes a prima facie

showing that there is no genuine issue

of material fact, the burden then shifts

does not challenge the trial court's failure to grant it additional time for discovery.

9

SC-2025-0165

to the nonmovant to produce

'substantial evidence' as to the

existence of a genuine issue of material

fact. Bass v. SouthTrust Bank of

Baldwin Cnty., 538 So. 2d 794, 797-98

(Ala. 1989); Ala. Code 1975, § 12-21-12."

" 'Dow v. Alabama Democratic Party, 897 So. 2d

1035, 1038-39 (Ala. 2004).'

"Tender Care Veterinary Hosp. Inc. v. First Tuskegee Bank,

168 So. 3d 33, 37 (Ala. 2014). 'When a trial court interprets

an insurance policy as a matter of law, that interpretation is

subject to a de novo review.' Hartford Cas. Ins. Co. v.

Merchants & Farmers Bank, 928 So. 2d 1006, 1009 (Ala.

2005)."

St. Paul Fire & Marine Ins. Co. v. Britt, 203 So. 3d 804, 809 (Ala. 2016).

Analysis

Coverage Under the Nationwide Policy

We first address the summary judgment as to the claims seeking

coverage under the Nationwide policy. The Nationwide policy at issue is

a standard-form "premier businessowners" liability policy that includes

coverage for bodily injury caused by an "occurrence." The basic insuring

agreement contained in the Nationwide policy provided, in pertinent

part:

"I. COVERAGES

10

SC-2025-0165

"A. COVERAGE A -- BODILY INJURY AND PROPERTY

DAMAGE LIABILITY

"1. INSURING AGREEMENT

"a. We will pay those sums up to the applicable Limit

of Insurance that the insured becomes legally

obligated to pay as damages because of 'bodily

injury' or 'property damage' to which this

insurance applies. We will have the right and duty

to defend the insured against any 'suit' seeking

those damages for which there is coverage under

this policy. HOWEVER, we will have no duty to

defend the insured against any 'suit' seeking

damages for 'bodily injury' or 'property damage' to

which this insurance does not apply.

"….

"b. This insurance applies to 'bodily injury' and

'property damage' only if:

"(1) The 'bodily injury' or 'property damage' is

caused by an 'occurrence' that takes place in

the 'coverage territory'; and

"(2) The 'bodily injury' or 'property damage'

occurs during the policy period …."

(Capitalization in original.) An "occurrence" is defined in the policy as

"an accident, including continuous or repeated exposure to substantially

the same general harmful conditions."

The trial court concluded that Browne's claims fell within the

Nationwide policy's basic insuring agreement. Nevertheless, it concluded

11

SC-2025-0165

that those claims were excluded from coverage by the professionalservices exclusion contained in the Nationwide policy. That exclusion

provides, in pertinent part:

"2. EXCLUSIONS

"This insurance, including any duty we have to defend

'suits', does not apply to:

"….

"v. Professional Services

" 'Bodily injury' or 'property damage' that arises

out of or is a result of the rendering of, or failure to

render, any professional service, treatment, advice

or instruction. This exclusion includes, but is not

limited to, any:

"....

"(9) Service, treatment, advice or instruction in

the practice of pharmacy.

"….

"This exclusion applies even if the claims allege

negligence or other wrongdoing in the supervision,

hiring, employment, training or monitoring of others by

an insured, if the 'occurrence' which caused the 'bodily

injury' or 'property damage' involved the rendering or

failure to render of any professional service."

(Capitalization in original.)

12

SC-2025-0165

On appeal, Browne and OMS challenge the trial court's conclusion

that Browne's claims against OMS fell within the professional-services

exclusion. In analyzing an insurance policy, we apply the following

principles:

" 'When analyzing an insurance policy, a

court gives words used in the policy their common,

everyday meaning and interprets them as a

reasonable person in the insured's position would

have understood them. Western World Ins. Co. v.

City of Tuscumbia, 612 So. 2d 1159 (Ala. 1992); St.

Paul Fire & Marine Ins. Co. v. Edge Mem'l Hosp.,

584 So. 2d 1316 (Ala. 1991). If, under this

standard, they are reasonably certain in their

meaning, they are not ambiguous as a matter of

law and the rule of construction in favor of the

insured does not apply. Bituminous Cas. Corp. v.

Harris, 372 So. 2d 342 (Ala. Civ. App. 1979). Only

in cases of genuine ambiguity or inconsistency is it

proper to resort to rules of construction. Canal Ins.

Co. v. Old Republic Ins. Co., 718 So. 2d 8 (Ala.

1998). A policy is not made ambiguous by the fact

that the parties interpret the policy differently or

disagree as to the meaning of a written provision

in a contract. Watkins v. United States Fid. &

Guar. Co., 656 So. 2d 337 (Ala. 1994). A court must

not rewrite a policy so as to include or exclude

coverage that was not intended. Upton v.

Mississippi Valley Title Ins. Co., 469 So. 2d 548

(Ala. 1985).'

"B.D.B. v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 814 So. 2d 877, 879-80 (Ala. Civ. App. 2001). However, if a provision in an

insurance policy is found to be genuinely ambiguous, 'policies

of insurance should be construed liberally in respect to

13

SC-2025-0165

persons insured and strictly with respect to the insurer.'

Crossett v. St. Louis Fire & Marine Ins. Co., 289 Ala. 598, 603,

269 So. 2d 869, 873 (1972)."

State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Brown, 26 So. 3d 1167, 1169-70 (Ala.

2009). Furthermore,

" '[e]xceptions to coverage must be interpreted as narrowly as

possible in order to provide maximum coverage for the

insured, and must be construed most strongly against the

company that drew the policy and issued it.' Alliance Ins. Co.

v. Reynolds, 494 So. 2d 609, 612 (Ala. 1986). Where there is

no ambiguity in the terms of an insurance contract, the

language must be enforced as written, and courts cannot

defeat express provisions in a policy, including exclusions

from coverage, by making a new contract for the parties;

however, ' "when ambiguity exists in the language of an

exclusion, the exclusion will be construed so as to limit the

exclusion to the narrowest application reasonable under the

wording." ' Carpet Installation & Supplies of Glenco v. Alfa

Mut. Ins. Co., 628 So. 2d 560, 562 (Ala. 1993) (quoting St. Paul

Mercury Ins. Co. v. Chilton-Shelby Mental Health Ctr., 595

So. 2d [1375,] 1377 [(Ala. 1992)]."

Porterfield v. Audubon Indem. Co., 856 So. 2d 789, 806 (Ala. 2002).

The Nationwide policy does not expressly define the term

"professional services." The fact that the policy does not define a term,

however, does not render it inherently ambiguous. See Safeway Ins. Co.

of Alabama, Inc. v. Herrera, 912 So. 2d 1140, 1143 (Ala. 2005). One

frequently cited decision has explained the term "professional services"

as used in an insurance policy as follows:

14

SC-2025-0165

"The act or service must be such as exacts the use or

application of special learning or attainments of some kind.

The term 'professional' in the context used in the policy

provision means something more than mere proficiency in the

performance of a task and implies intellectual skill as

contrasted with that used in an occupation for production or

sale of commodities. A 'professional' act or service is one

arising out of a vocation, calling, occupation, or employment

involving specialized knowledge, labor, or skill, and the labor

or skill involved is predominantly mental or intellectual,

rather than physical or manual."

Marx v. Hartford Accident & Indem. Co., 183 Neb. 12, 13-14, 157 N.W.2d

870, 871-72 (1968). Importantly in this case, the Nationwide policy

identifies the practice of pharmacy as a profession within the meaning of

the term "professional services." The policy expressly provides that the

term "professional services" includes "[s]ervice, treatment, advice or

instruction in the practice of pharmacy."4 Further, the word "service" is

generally understood as "the performance of some useful act or series of

acts for the benefit of another, usu[ally] for a fee," or as "an intangible

commodity in the form of human effort, such as labor, skill, or advice."

Black's Law Dictionary 1647 (12th ed. 2024).

4Alabama also recognizes the practice of pharmacy as a

"profession." See § 34-23-1(20), Ala. Code 1975.

15

SC-2025-0165

Furthermore, the compounding of medicine is acknowledged as

being a traditional component of the practice of pharmacy. See, e.g.,

Thompson v. Western States Med. Ctr., 535 U.S. 357, 360-61 (2002)

("Drug compounding is a process by which a pharmacist or doctor

combines, mixes, or alters ingredients to create a medication tailored to

the needs of an individual patent. … It is a traditional component of the

practice of pharmacy, … and is taught as part of the standard curriculum

at most pharmacy schools."). Indeed, compounding practices are

regulated as part of Alabama's statutory scheme regulating the

profession of pharmacy,5 and the compounding of medication in Alabama

5Alabama law defines the term "pharmacy" as a place where

"prescriptions, drugs, [and] medicines … are sold, offered for sale,

compounded, or dispensed," § 34-23-1(21), Ala. Code 1975 (emphasis

added), and it defines "compounding" as "[t]he preparation, mixing,

assembling, packaging, and labeling of a drug or device as the result of a

licensed practitioner's prescription drug order or initiative based on the

practitioner/patient/pharmacist relationship in the course of professional

practice." § 34-23-150(3), Ala. Code 1975. Further, under Alabama law,

a compounding pharmacist has the responsibility to, among other things:

"(1) Verify all prescriptions.

"(2) Approve or reject all components of the

compounded product, drug product containers, closures, and

labeling.

16

SC-2025-0165

may only be performed by, or under the supervision of, a licensed

pharmacist. See § 34-23-151, Ala. Code 1975.

In the Browne action, Browne specifically alleged that OMS and

Wright had breached the professional standard of care by improperly

compounding and labeling her prescription, which, she said, proximately

resulted in her injuries. Clearly, such claims relate directly to the

practice of the profession of pharmacy. Moreover, her claims specifically

arose out of the compounding of medication -- an act recognized as

involving professional skill and training in the practice of pharmacy and

required by Alabama law to be performed by, or under the supervision of,

"(3) Prepare and review all compounding records to

assure that no errors have occurred in the compounding

process."

§ 34-23-151(c), Ala. Code 1975. Alabama law also charges the Alabama

State Board of Pharmacy to establish written procedures for the

compounding of drug products. § 34-23-156, Ala. Code 1975.

"Components shall be accurately weighed, measured, or

subdivided, as appropriate. The operations shall be checked

and rechecked by the compounding pharmacist at each stage

of the process to ensure that each weight and measure is

correct as stated in the written compounding procedures."

Id. See also Ala. Admin. Code, (State Bd. of Pharmacy) r. 680-X-2-.14(1)

("The practice of pharmacy shall mean … the compounding, dispensing,

administering and labeling of drugs ….").

17

SC-2025-0165

a licensed pharmacist. Furthermore, it is undisputed that the act of

compounding the medication was performed in direct response to

Browne's request that OMS fill her prescription. Under these

circumstances, we recognize that the compounding of medication is a

"professional service" and that Browne's bodily injury claims "arise[] out

of or [are] a result of the rendering of … [s]ervice, treatment, advice or

instruction in the practice of pharmacy."6 See Cincinnati Ins. Co. v.

Quorum Mgmt. Corp., 186 F. Supp. 3d 1307 (M.D. Fla. 2016) (excluding

coverage under professional-services exclusion based on pharmacy's

error in compounding veterinary nutritional supplement that led to

death of 21 horses); and Philadelphia Indem. Ins. Co. v. Ronin Staffing

LLC, No. 3:20-CV-00374-FDW-DSC, Mar. 3, 2022 (W.D. N.C. 2022) (not

reported in Federal Supplement) (excluding coverage under professionalservices exclusion based on pharmacy technician's error in compounding

6Browne argues that her claims are based on a "keyboarding error"

in entering the compounding formula into the computer, which, she

posits, is not a "professional" act. We disagree. As set out above, and

consistent with the allegations of Browne's complaint, it is within a

pharmacist's professional responsibility to confirm that medications are

correctly compounded as prescribed.

18

SC-2025-0165

saline bag; the compounding required professional skill and training and

was intended for patient's treatment).

Browne, however, argues that, even if the professional-services

exclusion applies to her claims asserting professional negligence, it does

not bar coverage for her defective-product claims. Browne notes that

such claims are related to her purchase of a product and not the rendition

of a service and that the defective-product claims do not require proof of

professional negligence. She, therefore, argues that product-liability

claims never fall within the scope of a professional-services exclusion.

Browne cites several cases for the proposition that the sale of a product

does not constitute a "professional service" within the meaning of a

professional-services exclusion. See North Carolina Mut. Wholesale

Drug Co. v. Federal Ins. Co., 687 F. Supp. 3d 689 (M.D. N.C. 2023)

(holding that commercial distribution of opioid pharmaceutical

commodities by pharmaceutical wholesaler to pharmacies was not a

professional "service" and that the wholesaler's internal compliance

reviews were done to meet its own regulatory obligations and were not

provided to the customer in exchange for a fee); Hartford Cas. Ins. Co. v.

Dental Org. for Conscious Sedation, LLC, Civil Action No. 10-3483, Apr.

19

SC-2025-0165

1, 2011 (E.D. Pa. 2011) (not reported in Federal Supplement) (holding

that the marketing and sale of dentistry sedation products did not fall

within a professional-services exclusion); Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. v.

Kavanaugh Supply, LLC, Civil Action No. 2:11-CV-232-KS-MTP, Feb. 26,

2013 (S.D. Miss. 2013) (not reported in Federal Supplement) (holding

that, because insured was seller/renter of medical equipment who did not

provide home-health services, coverage for claims against insured for

failure of ventilator were not barred under a professional-services

exclusion); Leverence v. United States Fid. & Guar., 158 Wis. 2d 64, 462

N.W.2d 218 (Ct. App. 1990) (holding that coverage for claims arising out

of the defective manufacture of a prefabricated home was not barred by

a professional-services exclusion).

Those cases cited by Browne are distinguishable. Those cases

involved the sale or distribution of existing commercial commodities. In

contrast, the act of compounding the medication for Browne required the

use of professional skill and training and was performed solely for the

purpose of filling Browne's immediate need for a prescription -- facts

underlying all of Browne's claims.

20

SC-2025-0165

Furthermore, the policy language does not except product-liability

claims from the scope of the professional-services exclusion. To the

contrary, the professional-services exclusion excludes coverage for all

" '[b]odily injury' or 'property damage' that arises out of or is a result of

the rendering of, or failure to render, any professional service."

(Emphasis added.) The "arises out of" language is broad, but

unambiguous, and it encompasses all claims for bodily injury arising

from the rendering of a professional service, regardless of the claimant's

theory of recovery. See, e.g., Taliaferro v. Progressive Specialty Ins. Co.,

821 So. 2d 976, 980 (Ala. 2001) (recognizing that the phrase "arising out

of," as used in an insurance policy, has been defined to mean

" ' "origination from," "having its origin in," "growing out," or "flowing

from" ' "), and State Farm Fire & Cas. Co. v. Erwin, 393 So. 2d 996, 998

(Ala. 1981) (recognizing that "[t]he phrase 'arising out of' has been

broadly construed" and is ordinarily understood to mean " ' "originating

from," "having its origin in," "growing out of" or "flowing from" ' " (citation

omitted)). Here, all of Browne's claims -- even her defective-product

claims -- have their origin in, grow out of, or flow from OMS's error in

compounding her prescription medication. Thus, they fall within the

21

SC-2025-0165

plain language of the professional-services exclusion. We, therefore,

affirm the summary judgment entered in favor of Nationwide.

Failure-to-Procure-Insurance Claims

Having determined that the Nationwide policy does not provide

coverage for Browne's claims, we next turn to OMS's claims against the

agency defendants alleging negligent and/or wanton failure to procure

insurance. With regard to those claims, we note the following additional

facts.

OMS had, for many years, been operated as a franchise of The

Medicine Shoppe. Wright testified that The Medicine Shoppe's insurance

department had recommended and approved the Zurich policy and had

represented to him that it provided specialized coverage for pharmacies.

Wright testified that, in the years after OMS had become an independent

pharmacy, he had become dissatisfied with the way Zurich had handled

claims made by OMS. In 2008, Wright asked Roger Downs, an insurance

agent with Roger Downs, Inc., and a regular customer of OMS, to replace

the Zurich policy with like coverage. It is undisputed that Wright at least

provided Downs with a two-page policy-declarations form for the Zurich

policy. The evidence is disputed as to whether Wright provided Downs

22

SC-2025-0165

with a copy of the Zurich policy, but there is no dispute that Wright would

have made that policy available for Downs to review had he sought it.

Ultimately, Roger Downs, Inc., procured the Nationwide policy for OMS

in 2008.

The Zurich and Nationwide policies differed in at least one critical

respect that was not evident from a mere review of the policies'

declarations pages. Although both polices were commercial generalliability policies containing a professional-services exclusion, the Zurich

policy's professional-services exclusion had expressly excepted and did

not apply to certain pharmacological services -- "[t]his exclusion does not

apply to … [p]harmacological services if … [y]ou do business as a retail

drug store and do not manufacture or compound in bulk pharmaceuticals

for sale by others." The Nationwide policy, on the other hand, expressly

excluded coverage for bodily injury and property damage arising out of

"[s]ervice, treatment, advice or instruction in the practice of pharmacy."

Although Wright received a copy of the Nationwide policy in 2008, and at

each subsequent renewal period, he admitted that he did not read the

policy exclusions until after Browne's 2013 injury. Wright did read

portions of the policy "on occasions," and he testified that he believed that

23

SC-2025-0165

the policy had provided coverage for products made by OMS, like

compounded medications. The Nationwide policy was renewed each year

between 2008 and the 2013 injury to Browne. Wright never requested

any change in coverage during that time.

" '[W]hen an insurance agent or broker, with a view to

compensation, undertakes to procure insurance for a client, and

unjustifiably or negligently fails to do so, he becomes liable for any

damage resulting therefrom.' " Highlands Underwriters Ins. Co. v.

Elegante Inns, Inc., 361 So. 2d 1060, 1065 (Ala. 1978). This Court has

recognized that a claim alleging the negligent failure of an insurance

agent to procure insurance " 'requires demonstration of the classic

elements of a negligence theory, i.e., "(1) duty, (2) breach of duty, (3)

proximate cause, and (4) injury." ' " Alfa Life Ins. Corp. v. Colza, 159 So.

3d 1240, 1248 (Ala. 2014) (quoting Kanellis v. Pacific Indem. Co., 917 So.

2d 149, 153 (Ala. Civ. App. 2005), quoting in turn Albert v. Hsu, 602 So.

2d 895, 897 (Ala. 2002)). Furthermore, as is true regarding any other

type of negligence claim, contributory negligence is a complete defense to

a negligent-failure-to-procure-insurance claim. Colza, 159 So. 3d at 1248.

"With regard to establishing contributory negligence as a

matter of law, this Court has stated:

24

SC-2025-0165

" 'The question of contributory negligence is

normally one for the jury. However, where the

facts are such that all reasonable persons must

reach the same conclusion, contributory

negligence may be found as a matter of law.

Brown [v. Piggly-Wiggly Stores, 454 So. 2d 1370,

1372 (Ala. 1984)]; see also Carroll v. Deaton, Inc.,

555 So. 2d 140, 141 (Ala. 1989).

" 'To establish contributory negligence as a

matter of law, a defendant seeking a [judgment as

a matter of law] must show that the plaintiff put

himself in danger's way and that the plaintiff had

a conscious appreciation of the danger at the

moment the incident occurred. See H.R.H. Metals,

Inc. v. Miller, 833 So. 2d 18 (Ala. 2002); see also

Hicks v. Commercial Union Ins. Co., 652 So. 2d

211, 219 (Ala. 1994). The proof required for

establishing contributory negligence as a matter of

law should be distinguished from an instruction

given to a jury when determining whether a

plaintiff has been guilty of contributory

negligence. A jury determining whether a plaintiff

has been guilty of contributory negligence must

decide only whether the plaintiff failed to exercise

reasonable care. We protect against the

inappropriate use of a summary judgment to

establish contributory negligence as a matter of

law by requiring the defendant on such a motion

to establish by undisputed evidence a plaintiff's

conscious appreciation of danger. See H.R.H.

Metals, supra.'

"Hannah v. Gregg, Bland & Berry, Inc., 840 So. 2d 839, 860-61 (Ala. 2002)."

Colza, 159 So. 2d at 1248-49.

25

SC-2025-0165

OMS argues that it was not contributorily negligent as a matter of

law because, it says, even if Wright had read the entire Nationwide

policy, it would not have been clear to him that the policy did not provide

coverage for product-liability claims. Indeed, Wright recalled that he had

seen language in the Nationwide policy relating to "products" and

thinking that such language potentially covered losses arising from

medications compounded by OMS. Presumably, Wright was referencing

policy language related to the "products-completed operations hazard."

Generally, provisions regarding the products-completed operations

hazard contemplate liability coverage for bodily injury or property

damage caused by an insured's products or completed work and occurring

away from the insured's premises.7 Although OMS concedes that liability

coverage for the products-completed operations hazard remained subject

to the general bodily injury and property-damage liability exclusions,

including the professional-services exclusion, it argues that Wright

should not have been expected to understand the import of such

language.

7The declarations page for the Nationwide policy provided a

separate aggregate policy limited regarding the products-completed

operations hazard.

26

SC-2025-0165

In addressing OMS's argument, we note that this case is similar to

Hickox v. Stover, 551 So. 2d 259 (Ala. 1989). In Hickox, an insurance

agent represented to an insured that he could replace the insured's

existing policy insuring oilfield equipment with identical coverage at a

lower premium. The replacement policy, however, had a different coinsurance requirement than the insured's original policy, and, when the

insured suffered a loss to the oilfield equipment, the replacement

insurance covered only one-third of the loss. The insured sued the agent

alleging negligent failure to procure insurance. The trial court entered a

summary judgment in favor of the agent on the negligent-procurement

claim, in part because it concluded that the insured had been

contributorily negligent. This Court reversed the summary judgment

because, even though the insured's manager had received the policy and

a letter from the agent referencing the co-insurance provision, the

insured's manager had testified that he had not understood them.

"[The insured] argues on appeal that the question of

whether [its manager] and, through [its manger], the

[insured] was contributorily negligent for failing to take some

action or to investigate further so as to learn that [its new]

policies differed from the [replaced] policy in an unfavorable

way is a question of fact that precludes summary judgment on

the contributory negligence issue. We have held that '[t]he

burden of proving contributory negligence and that it

27

SC-2025-0165

proximately caused the injury is on the defendant, and [that]

a determination of the existence of contributory negligence is

for the jury when there is a scintilla of evidence to the

contrary.' Hatton v. Chem-Haulers, Inc., 393 So. 2d 950, 954

(Ala. 1981) (citing Elba Wood Products, Inc. v. Brackin, 356

So. 2d 119 (Ala. 1978)). We hold that the defendants have

failed to carry their burden of proving that, as a matter of law,

[the insured's manager] and [the insured] were guilty of

contributory negligence. [The insured's manager] presented

testimony indicating that he did not understand the letter

from [the agent] or the policy endorsements. Moreover,

neither the April 4 letter nor the receipt of the policy, as

shown above, triggered a conclusion that the plaintiffs' claim

for negligence is barred as a matter of law."

551 So. 2d at 265.8

In Colza, supra, this Court sharply criticized the above holding in

Hickox, essentially finding it inconsistent with a plaintiff's " 'general duty

… to read the documents received in connection with a particular

transaction,' " which was recognized in Foremost Insurance Co. v.

Parham, 693 So. 2d 409 (Ala. 1997), and its progeny. 159 So. 3d at 1251

(citation omitted). The Court in Colza explained:

"[T]he Hickox Court effectively held that the defendants had

not established contributory negligence as a matter of law

because the insured had submitted evidence that its manager

did not understand a letter from the selling agent and the

terms of the actual insurance policy -- which explained the

extent of the insurance coverage actually procured by the

8Section 12-21-12, Ala. Code 1975, abolished the "scintilla rule"

referenced in Hickox in favor of the substantial-evidence rule.

28

SC-2025-0165

agent for the insured and revealed that the coverage was not

equivalent to the coverage the insured alleges he charged the

agent to procure.

"However, when Hickox was overruled by Foremost

Insurance Co.[ v. Parham], [693 So. 2d 409 (Ala. 1997),] this

Court held that, with regard to a fraud claim, a

" 'trial court can enter a judgment as a matter of

law in a fraud case where the undisputed evidence

indicates that the party or parties claiming fraud

in a particular transaction were fully capable of

reading and understanding their documents, but

nonetheless made a deliberate decision to ignore

written contract terms.'

"693 So. 2d at 421. The Foremost Court also recognized a

plaintiff's 'general duty … to read the documents received in

connection with a particular transaction,' along with a duty to

inquire and investigate. Id. In Ex parte Caver, 742 So. 2d

168, 172 (Ala. 1999), we subsequently summarized the effect

of Foremost by noting that 'Foremost ended the era of

"ostrichism" ' that had begun with Hickox. We have since

applied Foremost in numerous cases to justify a judgment as

a matter of law when plaintiffs have ignored clear written

terms in documents provided them in association with a

transaction. …

"As evidenced by … Foremost's … progeny, we have

essentially held that it is almost never reasonable for an

individual to ignore the contents of documents given him or

her in association with a transaction. Although the Foremost

line of cases deals primarily with fraud claims, there is no

reason this principle should not apply to other claims as well."

Id. at 1251-52 (footnote omitted). Thus, Colza pronounced the rule

authorizing "a judgment as a matter of law in favor of an agent on a

29

SC-2025-0165

negligent-procurement claim when documents available to the insured

clearly indicate that the insurance in fact procured for the insured is not

what the insured subsequently claims he or she requested the agent to

procure." Id. at 1255.

Having reaffirmed an insured's duty to read the documents, the

Court in Colza reversed a judgment entered on a jury verdict in favor of

the plaintiffs on a negligent-failure-to-procure-insurance claim when the

documents provided to the plaintiffs upon their application for life

insurance clearly apprised them that immediate coverage was not

guaranteed. The Court reasoned:

"The documents in this case clearly apprised the Colzas that

Dante was not guaranteed immediate coverage upon

submitting his application for life insurance to [the agent]. By

not reading the documents, they took a risk and put

themselves in danger's way. We do not think it unreasonable

to conclude as a matter of law that, in this day and age, any

adult of sound mind capable of executing a contract

necessarily has a conscious appreciation of the risk associated

with ignoring documents containing essential terms and

conditions related to the transaction that is the subject of the

contract. Thus, we … hold that, because the Colzas ' " 'put

[themselves] in danger's way' " and had a " 'conscious

appreciation of the danger' " of suffering a monetary loss,'

Kanellis[ v. Pacific Indem. Co.], 917 So. 2d [149,] 155[ (Ala.

Civ. App. 2005)], in the event Dante died before conditions for

immediate coverage were met, any negligent-procurement

claim is barred by the doctrine of contributory negligence."

30

SC-2025-0165

Id. at 1252-53 (footnote omitted).

The Court in Colza also adopted the analysis of the Court of Civil

Appeals in Kanellis, supra. In Kanellis, the plaintiffs obtained insurance

on a valuable sports car. When the car was damaged in an accident, the

insurer paid to have the car repaired, but the policy did not cover the loss

of value to the car resulting from its having been wrecked and repaired.

The plaintiffs sued their insurance agent alleging that it had negligently

failed to procure insurance that would have covered the car's diminution

in value. The Court of Civil Appeals affirmed a summary judgment

entered in favor of the insurance agent on the basis that the plaintiffs

had been contributorily negligent as a matter of law. The court

explained:

"In this case, the Kanellises were issued a policy of

insurance by [the insurer] that provided that [the insurer]'s

sole duty, in the event of a collision that caused the Kanellises'

Porsche automobile to be 'partially damaged,' was to 'pay the

amount required to repair or replace, whichever is less, the

damaged part(s) without deduction for depreciation, up to the

amount of coverage.' … There is no language in the … policy

that would tend to indicate that [the insurer] would pay the

Kanellises a separate benefit to compensate them for any

depreciation in the value of the Porsche that might result

from a collision, and a review of the policy would have

revealed that no such depreciation coverage was afforded

thereunder. Moreover, the Kanellises adduced no evidence

that would tend to indicate that they were anything less than

31

SC-2025-0165

'competent in intelligence and background to understand

insurance policy language.' Allstate Ins. Co.[ v. Ware], 824

So. 2d [739,] 745 [(Ala. 2002)].

"… [A]s a matter of law, the Kanellises ' "put

[themselves] in danger's way" ' and had a ' "conscious

appreciation of the danger" ' of suffering a monetary loss in

the event of a collision involving the Porsche automobile

resulting in a diminution of the value of the Porsche. See

Hannah v. Gregg, Bland & Berry, Inc., 840 So. 2d 839, 860

(Ala. 2002)."

917 So. 2d at 154-55.

More recently, in Crook v. Allstate Indemnity Co., 314 So. 3d 1188

(Ala. 2020), a property owner, through his insurance agent, obtained

property insurance on his lake front home and other structures.

Coverage A of the policy covered the home and attached structures, and

Coverage B covered structures separated by a "clear space" from the

home. Coverage B had significantly lower policy limits. After the

property owner's boat dock and deck structures were damaged in a storm,

the insurer determined that the policy limit for Coverage B applied. The

property owner sued, alleging, among other claims, a breach-of-contract

claim against the insurer and a negligent-failure-to-procure-insurance

claim against the agent. On appeal from a summary judgment entered

in favor of the insurer and the agent, this Court, as a matter of first

32

SC-2025-0165

impression, held that the boat dock and deck, which were connected to

the home by a wooden staircase, were not attached structures under the

plain language of the policy. This Court also affirmed the summary

judgment as to the negligent-procurement claim. Id. at 1202. Applying

the holdings of Colza and Kanellis, the Court concluded that the property

owner had been contributorily negligent as a matter of law because he

had not read the policy.

"In the present case, it is undisputed that [the property

owner] did not read the policy or the numerous policy-renewal

notices sent to him from 2006 to 2015 that explicitly set forth

the policy limits and explicitly requested that he read them.

Had he done so, [the property owner] would have discovered

that the policy limit for Coverage B was only $11,455 and

could have, had he desired, requested additional coverage.

[The property owner] failed to do so and thus, ' " 'put [himself]

in danger's way' " and had a " 'conscious appreciation of the

danger' " of suffering a monetary loss.' Kanellis, 917 So. 2d at

155. [The property owner] was contributorily negligent as a

matter of law."

Id. The Court rejected the property owner's argument that his failure to

read the policy was irrelevant because he could not have known whether

the boat dock and deck would be covered under Coverage A or Coverage

B; despite the issue of first impression as to coverage, the Court held that

the plain language of the policy provided that Coverage B applied to those

structures. Id.

33

SC-2025-0165

Applying the holdings of Colza, Kanellis, and Crook to the facts of

this case, we conclude that OMS was contributorily negligent as a matter

of law. It is undisputed that Wright did not read the coverage-exclusions

portion of the Nationwide policy. Had he done so, he and OMS would

have discovered that the policy did not provide coverage for bodily injury

or property damage that "arises out of or is a result of the rendering of,

or failure to render, any professional service," including "[s]ervice,

treatment advice or instruction in the practice of pharmacy." (Emphasis

added.) Indeed, the professional-services exclusion contains the only

direct reference to the practice of pharmacy in the Nationwide policy.9

Discovering that the Nationwide policy excluded coverage for bodily

injury or property damage arising from "[s]ervice, treatment, advice or

instruction in the practice of pharmacy" would have provided Wright and

OMS with a clear indication that the Nationwide policy did not provide

the same coverage as the Zurich policy, i.e., the coverage OMS had

engaged Roger Downs, Inc., to procure. By failing to fully read the policy,

Wright placed OMS " ' "in danger's way" ' and had a ' "conscious

9An identically worded professional-services exclusion applies to

Coverage B of the Nationwide policy relating to liability coverage for

personal and advertising injuries.

34

SC-2025-0165

appreciation of the danger" ' of suffering a monetary loss." Kanellis, 917

So. 2d at 155. Accordingly, we affirm the summary judgment entered in

favor of the agency defendants regarding OMS's negligent-failure-toprocure claim.

Finally, OMS challenges the summary judgment regarding its

wanton-failure-to-procure-insurance claim against the agency

defendants. Our Court has defined "wantonness" as "the conscious doing

of some act or the omission of some duty while knowing of the existing

conditions and being conscious that, from doing or omitting to do an act,

injury will likely or probably result." Ex parte Essary, 992 So. 2d 5, 9

(Ala. 2007). Here, OMS argues that the evidence indicating that Downs

agreed to replicate the coverage provided to OMS by the Zurich policy

without seeking to actually review the Zurich policy constituted sufficient

evidence of wanton conduct to warrant submission of that claim to a jury.

We note that the undisputed facts also indicate that Downs did review

the declarations page for the Zurich policy but that the difference in each

policy's professional-services exclusion was not evident from a mere

review of the declarations pages. Furthermore, Wright testified that he

did not believe that Downs had had any malicious intent in failing to

35

SC-2025-0165

procure the requested coverage. Based on our review of the record, we

agree with the trial court that OMS did not offer substantial evidence

demonstrating that Downs or the agency defendants acted or failed to act

while being conscious that injury to OMS would likely or probably result.

Accordingly, we affirm the summary judgment as to OMS's wantonprocurement claim.

Conclusion

Based on the foregoing, we affirm the trial court's summary

judgments in favor of Nationwide and the agency defendants.

AFFIRMED.

Wise, Bryan, Sellers, Mendheim, Cook, and McCool, JJ., concur.

Parker, J., concurs in part and concurs in the result, with opinion.

Shaw, J., recuses himself.

36

SC-2025-0165

PARKER, Justice (concurring in part and concurring in result).

I concur in the main opinion's result and in most of its reasoning. I

write separately to clarify why the circuit court correctly entered

summary judgment in favor of the agency defendants on OMS's claim

that those defendants "wantonly" failed to procure insurance.

The main opinion appears to correctly state the standard for

wantonness. It properly focuses on the state of the defendant's actual

knowledge or consciousness -- that is, whether the defendant was truly

aware that the plaintiff would likely be injured by the defendant's acting

or failing to act in a certain way. See Ex parte Dixon Mills Volunteer Fire

Dep't, 181 So. 3d 325, 333 (Ala. 2015); Bishop v. Poore, 475 So. 2d 486,

487 (Ala. 1985). But under this standard, it should not matter whether,

as the main opinion puts it, Downs "had any malicious intent in failing

to procure the requested coverage." __ So. 3d at ___. Indeed, we have

specifically held that wantonness does not require proof of intentional

conduct. See Mazda Motor Corp. v. Hurst, 261 So. 3d 167, 189 (Ala. 2017)

(quoting Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. v. Thompson, 726 So. 2d 651, 654 (Ala.

1998)).

37

SC-2025-0165

It is more relevant that a reasonable observer could not have

perceived any differences in the old (Zurich) policy and the new

(Nationwide) policy from a "mere review of the [two policies'] declarations

pages." ___ So. 3d at ___. But even that point does not account for the

possibility that Downs may have received OMS's old insurance policy for

review in determining proper insurance coverage. To be clear, I take no

position on whether OMS presented substantial evidence of this fact; its

pharmacist, Wright, testified only that he could not remember whether

he had given the old policy to Downs or had merely offered it to him.

Either way, though, the focus must remain on what Downs actually knew

about the likely consequences of his conduct. And on this front, OMS has

simply presented no substantial evidence.

38