LAW.coLAW.co

Miranda M. Allen v. James B. Allen, Jr.

2026-10-09

Authorities cited

Opinion

majority opinion

Rel: October 9, 2026

Notice: This opinion is subject to formal revision before publication in the advance sheets of Southern Reporter. Readers are requested to notify the Reporter of Decisions, Alabama Appellate Courts, 300 Dexter Avenue, Montgomery, Alabama 36104-3741 ((334) 229-0650), of any typographical or other errors, in order that corrections may be made before the opinion is published in Southern Reporter.

ALABAMA COURT OF CIVIL APPEALS

OCTOBER TERM, 2026-2027

CL-2026-0088

Miranda M. Allen

v.

James B. Allen, Jr.

Appeal from Marengo Circuit Court

(DR-11-47.01)

HANSON, Judge.

Miranda M. Allen ("the mother") appeals from a judgment entered

by the Marengo Circuit Court ("the trial court") finding James B. Allen,

Jr. ("the father"), in contempt and awarding the mother past-due child

support. For the reasons stated herein, we affirm in part and reverse in

CL-2026-0088

part the trial court's judgment.

Procedural History and Facts

In 2011, the trial court entered a judgment that incorporated a

settlement agreement the parties executed, divorced the parties,

awarded the mother custody of the parties' child, ordered the father to

pay $600 per month ($7,200 per year) in child support, ordered the father

to provide health insurance for the child, and ordered the father to pay

all noncovered medical expenses.

On August 13, 2021, the mother filed in the trial court a petition

that, among other things, sought a finding of contempt against the father

for failure to pay the ordered child support, a calculation of the father's

past-due child support, and a judgment ordering the father to pay the

child-support arrearage. The father answered. On November 4, 2025,

the trial court conducted a final hearing, and the following evidence

pertinent to this appeal was presented.

The mother presented evidence indicating the monthly amounts the

father had paid in child support and medical-expense reimbursement and

the amount of the father's alleged arrearage for each year from 2011

through October 2024, when the child reached the age of majority.

2

CL-2026-0088

Notably, evidence was presented indicating that on August 7, 2021,

before she filed her petition on August 13, 2021, the mother sent the

father a text message stating: "[Y]ou owe me $31,800 as of this month.

That's just monthly. That doesn't include medical bills and other stuff."

The father testified that, after he received the mother's text message, he

made a $28,100 payment to the clerk's office, leaving a child-support

balance of $3,700, which, he said, the child's paternal grandmother paid

to satisfy the child-support arrearage. The mother testified that the

paternal grandmother's payment was a gift to the child, but, when asked

by the trial court for the father's total child-support payment for 2021,

the mother agreed that her records showed that the father had paid

$30,550 in child support in 2021.

On December 30, 2025, the trial court entered a final judgment

finding the father in contempt, determining the father's child-support

arrearage, ordering the father to pay the arrearage to purge himself of

contempt, and awarding the mother an attorney fee. The judgment did

not include an assessment of statutory interest. The mother filed a

postjudgment motion, arguing that the trial court's judgment was plainly

and palpably wrong because, she said, it failed to award interest on the

3

CL-2026-0088

arrearage, it improperly gave the father credit for imputed child support

from the mother, and it improperly gave the father credit for payments

persons other than the father made. After her postjudgment motion was

denied, the mother filed a timely notice of appeal.

Standard of Review

"The trial court received both oral and documentary

evidence at the trial of the contempt action; therefore, the ore

tenus rule applies. 'The [ore tenus] rule applies to "disputed

issues of fact," whether the dispute is based entirely upon oral

testimony or upon a combination of oral testimony and

documentary evidence. Born v. Clark, 662 So. 2d 669, 672

(Ala. 1995).' Yeager v. Lucy, 998 So. 2d 460, 463 (Ala. 2008).

" ' The ore tenus rule affords a presumption of

correctness to a trial court's findings of fact based

on ore tenus evidence, and the judgment based on

those findings will not be disturbed unless those

findings are clearly erroneous and against the

great weight of the evidence. Reed v. Board of Trs.

for Alabama State Univ., 778 So. 2d 791, 795 (Ala.

2000). It is grounded upon the principle that when

a trial court hears oral testimony it has an

opportunity to evaluate the demeanor and

credibility of the witnesses. Hall v. Mazzone, 486

So. 2d 408, 410 (Ala. 1986). The ore tenus rule does

not cloak a trial court's conclusions of law or the

application of the law to the facts with a

presumption of correctness. Kennedy v. Boles

Invs., Inc., 53 So. 3d 60 (Ala. 2010).'

"Allsopp v. Bolding, 86 So. 3d 952, 958 (Ala. 2011)."

Rhodes v. Rhodes, 317 So. 3d 37, 42 (Ala. Civ. App. 2020).

4

CL-2026-0088

Issues and Analyses

The mother's arguments that "the trial court erred by creating an

unauthorized 'set-off' against vested child-support arrearages," that "the

trial court erred by retroactively assessing a child-support obligation

against [the mother]," that "the trial court erred by crediting [the father]

without proof of actual support," and that "the trial court erred by

combining distinct categories of arrearages without specific findings," the

mother's brief, pp. 20, 22, 23, and 24, do not present a basis for reversal

of the trial court's judgment because they are either presented for the

first time on appeal or do not comply with the requirements of Rule

28(a)(10), Ala. R. App. P. See Adriatic Ins. Co. v. Willingham, 567 So. 2d

1282, 1282 (Ala. 1990) ("[An appellate court] cannot reverse a trial court's

judgment for an alleged error that is raised for the first time on appeal.

The purpose of this rule is to give trial courts an opportunity to correct

errors that, if left unaddressed, would require reversal."); Andrews v.

Merritt Oil Co., 612 So. 2d 409, 410 (Ala. 1992); Rule 28(a)(10) (requiring

an appellant to set forth "[a]n argument containing the contentions of the

appellant/petitioner with respect to the issues presented, and the reasons

therefor, with citations to the cases, statutes, other authorities, and parts

5

CL-2026-0088

of the record relied on"); Sea Calm Shipping Co., S.A. v. Cooks, 565 So.

2d 212, 216 (Ala. 1990) ("Where an appellant fails to cite any authority

for an argument, this Court may affirm the judgment as to those issues,

for it is neither this Court's duty nor its function to perform all the legal

research for an appellant."); Beachcroft Props., LLP v. City of Alabaster,

901 So. 2d 703, 708 (Ala. 2004) (quoting Geisenhoff v. Geisenhoff, 693 So.

2d 489, 491 (Ala. Civ. App. 1997)) ("Authority supporting only 'general

propositions of law' does not constitute a sufficient argument for

reversal."); Steele v. Rosenfeld, LLC, 936 So. 2d 488, 493 (Ala. 2005)

(" 'The law of Alabama provides that where no legal authority is cited or

argued, the effect is the same as if no argument had been made.' "

(citation and emphasis omitted)); and Ezell v. Ezell, 394 So. 3d 608, 612

(Ala. Civ. App. 2024) ("[T]he burden is on the appellant to provide an

argument and analysis supported with authority and citations to the

record and to show how the cited authority supports reversible error.").

Therefore, the trial court's judgment is affirmed as to those issues.

The mother contends that the trial court exceeded its discretion by

crediting payments the paternal grandmother made toward the father's

child-support obligation. The mother maintains that Rule 32(B)(9), Ala.

6

CL-2026-0088

R. Jud. Admin., expressly states that credit is not allowed for benefits or

payments persons other than the obligor made; that third-party

payments do not satisfy a parent's child support obligation; and, that

consequently, the gratuitous third-party gifts the paternal grandmother

made cannot, as a matter of law, be credited toward the father's childsupport arrearage. She also cites Hebert v. Stephenson, 574 So. 2d 835

(Ala. Civ. App. 1990), to support her position.

Rule 32(B)(9) provides in pertinent part:

"Credit for third-party payment to children.

"(a) Social Security retirement, survivor's, or

disability-insurance benefits, veteran's benefits,

railroad retirement or any other third-party

payments paid for the children based on the

support obligor's earnings record or other

eligibility requirement attributable to the support

obligor shall be credited against that parent's

support obligation, for so long as it is being

received by the support payee, as follows:

"(1) Determine the total childsupport obligation; then

"(2) Determine the monthly

benefit amount that is attributable to

the obligor and that the support

recipient receives for the children and

then subtract that amount from the

total child-support obligation.

7

CL-2026-0088

"(i) If the children's

obligor-based benefit

exceeds the total support

amount, then no additional

support amount should be

ordered.

"(ii) If the children's

obligor-based benefits are

less than the obligor's total

support amount, then the

difference between the

benefits received for the

children and the total

support amount becomes

the ordered obligation.

"(b) The following payments to the children

by a third party shall not be credited toward the

support obligor's child-support obligation:

"(1) Payments that are not based

on the support obligor's earnings record

or other eligibility requirement

attributable to the support obligor;

"(2) Any payments resulting from

the disability of the child;

"(3) Any payment received in

excess of the amount of child support

owed to the child;

"(4) Any payment received by the

child shall not be credited against

arrearages that accrued before the

receipt of the obligor's benefits;

8

CL-2026-0088

"(5) Social Security income

benefits paid to the child; and

"(6) Adoption subsidy paid to

adoptive parents of a special-needs

child pursuant to section 26-10-20 et

seq. of the Code of Alabama."

The Comment to Amendments to Rule 32, effective June 1, 2018,

states:

"A new subdivision (9) was added to subsection (B) and

what was subdivision (9) was renumbered subdivision (10).

The new subdivision (9) allows the obligor to receive credit

against child-support obligations for certain third-party

payments made directly to the payee. Subsection (B)(9)(i) is

based on Section 3.07 (Social Security Benefit Credit) of the

2013 Michigan Child Support Formula Manual (effective

January 1, 2013), which provides credits for certain benefits

provided by government insurance programs, with the

addition of credit for other third-party payments such as

railroad retirement benefits.

"Subsection (B)(9)(i) is consistent with current Alabama

caselaw. In Goldman v. Goldman, 197 So. 3d 487 (Ala. Civ.

App. 2015), the Alabama Court of Civil Appeals held that the

veteran's disability benefits of the former husband were to be

considered income for purpose of calculating his child-support

obligation. A noncustodial parent cannot be required to pay

child support when Social Security payments received by a

child based on a parent's disability exceeds the guideline

amounts. Self v. Self, 685 So. 2d 732 (Ala. Civ. App. 1996). The

obligor is also entitled to a credit against his or her obligation

when a child receives benefits based on the obligor's

retirement benefits. Adams v. Adams, 107 So. 3d 194 (Ala.

Civ. App. 2012). Notwithstanding, if the third-party payment

to the child is stopped for any reason, the child support owed

9

CL-2026-0088

by the obligor remains the amount of the existing childsupport order. For example, if a child is receiving a thirdparty payment from Social Security that terminates when the

child reaches the age of 18, the obligation of the obligor to pay

the court-ordered child support will remain in effect until the

child reaches the age of majority.

"The exclusions of credit enumerated in subsection

(B)(9)(ii) reflect current Alabama law. Alabama has

consistently held that credit is not allowed for a benefit a child

receives based on the work history of someone other than the

obligor. See Hebert v. Stephenson, 574 So. 2d 835 (Ala. Civ.

App. 1990). See also the court's discussion in Hebert

regarding child-support credit based on the child's own

disability. 574 So. 2d at 837. Also, the exclusion of credit for

Social Security income benefits in subsection (B)(9)(ii)(5) is

consistent with Lightel v. Myers, 791 So. 2d 955 (Ala. Civ.

App. 2000), holding that a parent should not get credit for the

Social Security income benefits payable to the child as a

'supplement to income' for the child based on the child's

disability, as was clarified by the court in Adams v. Adams,

107 So. 3d 194 (Ala. Civ. App. 2012), which held that credit

could be given to a parent whose child received Social Security

retirement benefits based on the parent's work history and,

thus, are a 'substitute income source.' Likewise, the exclusion

of credit for adoption-subsidy pay in subsection (B)(9)(ii)(6) is

consistent with current law because the adoption subsidy is

not a 'substitute income source'; rather, it is supplemental to

the adoptive parents' income. W.R. v. C.R., 75 So. 3d 159 (Ala.

Civ. App. 2011)."

In Dillon v. Gilotti-Dillon, [Ms. CL-2025-0546, Mar. 20, 2026] ___

So. 3d ___, ___ (Ala. Civ. App. 2026), we discussed Rule 32(B)(9) and

Hebert, stating:

10

CL-2026-0088

"The plain language of Rule 32(B)(9)[, Ala. R. Civ. P.,]

allowing for a credit for third-party payments to a child

applies to payments stemming from a relationship with the

child-support obligor. Specifically, Rule 32(B)(9)(a) provides

for a credit for the payment to a child of Social Security

survivor benefits 'paid for the children based on the support

obligor's earnings record of other eligibility requirement

attributable to the support obligor.' Rule 32(B)(9)(b)(1)

excludes payments 'not based on the support obligor's

earnings record or other eligibility requirements attributable

to the support obligor.' …

"Our supreme court, in amending Rule 32 to include a

credit for certain third-party payments based on the childsupport obligor's circumstances, could have provided that a

credit be applied for any payment received by a child. Instead,

the supreme court determined that the child-support obligor

should benefit from government payments that result only

because of his or her own circumstances. The supreme court

acknowledged in the Comment that Rule 32 was modified in

accordance with Alabama caselaw, citing Goldman v.

Goldman, 197 So. 3d 487 (Ala. Civ. App. 2015); Self v. Self,

685 So. 2d 732 (Ala. Civ. App. 1996); Adams v. Adams, 107 So.

3d 194 (Ala. Civ. App. 2012); Hebert v. Stephenson, 574 So.

2d 835 (Ala. Civ. App. 1990); Lightel v. Myers, 791 So. 2d 955

(Ala. Civ. App. 2001); and W.R. v. C.R., 75 So. 3d 159 (Ala.

Civ. App. 2011).

"In Goldman, the former husband (the child-support

obligor) received veteran's disability benefits, and this court

held that those benefits could be considered income for the

purposes of calculating child support. In Self, the children

were mentally disabled and received Social Security income

benefits because of their disabilities; they also received Social

Security disability benefits because of their father's disability.

On appeal, the father, the noncustodial parent, argued that

he should be allowed a credit against his child-support

obligation to the extent of the Social Security disability

11

CL-2026-0088

benefits received by the children because of his own disability.

This court held that the father should receive full credit for

his child-support obligation based on the payments received

by the children as a result of the father's disability.

"In Adams, the noncustodial father sought to modify the

child-support provision of a divorce judgment, asserting that

he was entitled to a reduction of his monthly child-support

obligation in the same amount as the Social Security

dependent retirement benefits that his child had received

each month as a result of the father's eligibility for retirement

benefits. This court determined that the decision whether to

grant the father a credit for the dependent retirement benefits

was a matter within the trial court's discretion. After

examining the reasons why the trial court in Adams denied

the father a credit, this court reversed the trial court's

judgment, concluding that the stated reasons were invalid

and that the trial court had acted outside its discretion in

denying a credit for the benefits received by the child. Adams,

107 So. 3d at 203. This court determined that the Social

Security dependent retirement benefits were based on the

father's work history and were a substitute income source.

"In Hebert, this court considered whether to credit the

father for Social Security benefit payments paid to the

children based on the children's stepfather's disability. The

father had argued that the Social Security benefit payments

received by the children due to the disability of their

stepfather made the children 'self-supporting or supported by

a third party and that, therefore, the payments should operate

to relieve the father of support payments and should be

credited against the arrearage amount that the father owes.'

Hebert, 574 So. 2d at 836. We held that the Social Security

benefit payments that were derived from the stepfather's

disability did not operate to relieve the father of his duty of

support on the theory that the children are self-supporting or

supported by a third person.

12

CL-2026-0088

"Lightel involved Social Security disability payments

made to adult children who were mentally disabled. The

father argued that he was entitled to offset the amount he was

obligated to pay for the disabled children's living expenses by

the amount of Social Security disability payments the

children received each month. This court held that the father

was not entitled to an offset because of the children's receipt

of disability payments.

"In W.R., this court held that an adoption subsidy could

not serve as a credit against a support-paying spouse's childsupport obligation. In that case, the mother had been awarded

custody of the parties' adopted special-needs children, and the

father argued that he should receive a credit for at least half

of the amount of the adoption subsidy the parties received as

a result of adopting the special-needs children. We held that

the adoption subsidy was supplemental to the adoptive

parents' income, not a substitute income source, and could not

serve as a credit against the father's child-support obligation."

We recognized in Dillon that the husband had a duty to support the

children and held that the Social Security survivor benefits the children

received that were in no way attributable to him could not be used to

offset his obligation to the children.

In this case, the mother's reliance on Rule 32(B)(9) and Hebert is

misplaced. Rule 32(B)(9) and Hebert address payments made to a child

from governmental entities and other third parties based on the childsupport obligor's earnings record or other similar eligibility requirements

and disallows credits for payments received based on a third party's or a

13

CL-2026-0088

child's income. Neither Rule 32(B)(9) nor Hebert support reversal.

Indeed, whether the paternal grandmother's payment should be

credited toward the father's child-support obligation created a question

of fact for the trial court to determine. Conflicting testimony was

presented regarding whether the paternal grandmother's payment was a

gift for the child or was made on behalf of the father to satisfy his childsupport obligation. As we have frequently stated:

"It is the duty of the trial court to resolve conflicts in the

testimony, and the deference given to the trial court in this

regard is due, in part, to its unique position to see and hear

something that may not be readily apparent on the face of a

written record. See Terry v. Terry, 660 So. 2d 996 (Ala. Civ.

App. 1995)."

Abernathy v. Sullivan, 676 So. 2d 939, 941 (Ala. Civ. App. 1996).

Therefore, the trial court's judgment is affirmed insofar as it credited the

father for the payment the paternal grandmother made in calculating the

father's child-support arrearage.

The mother also contends that the trial court exceeded its discretion

by failing to add interest to the arrearage. We agree.

"This court has consistently held that a trial court's

failure to impose interest on past-due child-support

installments constitutes reversible error. See Corwin v.

Corwin, 29 So. 3d 913, 914 (Ala. Civ. App. 2009) (trial court

erred by failing to compute the amount of postjudgment

14

CL-2026-0088

interest due on the father's child-support arrearage); T.L.D.

v. C.G., 849 So. 2d 200, 204 (Ala. Civ. App. 2002) ('By failing

to award postjudgment interest on the child-support

arrearage, the trial court erroneously applied the law to the

facts.'); and Walker v. Walker, 828 So. 2d 943, 945 (Ala. Civ.

App. 2002) ('[A] trial court with jurisdiction over proceedings

to enforce an earlier child-support judgment is without

authority to waive the imposition of statutorily imposed

postjudgment interest upon such payments.')."

State ex rel. Walker v. Walker, 58 So. 3d 823, 826 (Ala. Civ. App. 2010)

(footnoted omitted). In Clay v. Clay, 255 So. 3d 238, 242 (Ala. Civ. App.

2017), we stated:

" 'A child-support-arrearage judgment ... reflects a trial court's

adding up existing final judgments for past-due child support

(plus any interest that might be due).' Cochran v. Cochran, 5

So. 3d 1220, 1246 n. 22 (Ala. 2008)(Murdock, J., concurring in

the judgment of reversal, but dissenting as to the rationale

and the instructions on remand).

" 'Alabama law requires that interest ... be

applied to each installment of past-due child

support. T.L.D. v. C.G., 849 So. 2d 200, 204 (Ala.

Civ. App. 2002) (citing Ala. Code 1975, § 8-8-10).

' "[A] trial court with jurisdiction over proceedings

to enforce an earlier child-support judgment is

without authority to waive the imposition of

statutorily imposed postjudgment interest upon

such payments." ' T.L.D., 849 So. 2d at 204

(quoting Walker v. Walker, 828 So. 2d 943, 945

(Ala. Civ. App. 2002)); see also State ex rel.

Pritchett v. Pritchett, 771 So.2d 1048, 1051 (Ala.

Civ. App. 2000).

15

CL-2026-0088

" ' "Under Alabama law, childsupport payment 'installments become

final judgments as of the date due.'

Osborne v. Osborne, 57 Ala. App. 204,

206, 326 So. 2d 766, 767 (Ala. Civ. App.

1976). Because 'judgments for the

payment of money bear interest from

the date of rendition' 'it follows that

such [child-support] judgments would

bear interest from due date.' Osborne,

57 Ala. App. at 206, 326 So. 2d at 767.

Therefore, to properly calculate

interest on an arrearage, one would

have to compute the interest due on

each installment from its due date. Id."

" 'Hollen v. Conley, 840 So. 2d 921, 924 (Ala. Civ.

App. 2002).'

"Corwin v. Corwin, 29 So. 3d 913, 914 (Ala. Civ. App. 2009)."

The father agrees with the mother that a trial court cannot waive

the imposition of interest on a child-support arrearage if it can be

determined from the evidence. Instead, he maintains that the mother

did not present evidence from which the trial court could calculate the

amount of interest due. He cites Hackworth v. Hackworth, 736 So. 2d

1116 (Ala. Civ. App. 1999), in support of his argument. In Hackworth,

the wife presented evidence indicating that the husband, who had been

ordered to pay weekly child support, had missed several payments each

year but had not presented evidence indicating which weekly payments

16

CL-2026-0088

he had missed. Because that trial court had no evidence from which it

could conclude the due date of those missed payments, and which

payments the husband had made and which payments he had not, this

court determined that the trial court had no evidence from which it could

calculate the amount of interest due and, consequently, that the trial

court did not err in failing to award interest.

This case, however, is distinguishable from Hackworth. The record

in this case contains evidence from which the trial court can calculate the

amount of interest due. Evidence was presented indicating the months

that the father paid child support and the months that he did not. To

reach its determination of an arrearage, the trial court made

determinations as to the father's payment or nonpayment of child

support. Therefore, the trial court erred in not determining and imposing

interest when adequate evidence was presented from which it could

calculate the amount of interest due.

Conclusion

Accordingly, the trial court's judgment is affirmed in part and

reversed in part, and this cause is remanded with instructions that the

trial court properly compute the father's child-support arrearage,

17

CL-2026-0088

including the statutorily mandated interest on each past-due

installment. See Corwin v. Corwin, 29 So. 3d 913, 914 (Ala. Civ. App.

2009).

AFFIRMED IN PART; REVERSED IN PART; AND REMANDED

WITH INSTRUCTIONS.

Moore, P.J., and Edwards, Fridy, and Bowden, JJ., concur.

18