LAW.coLAW.co

Homeowners Choice Property & Casualty Insurance Company v. Sandra Moise

2026-10-28

Authorities cited

No cited authorities resolved to law.co cases yet.

Opinion

majority opinion

Third District Court of Appeal

State of Florida

Opinion filed October 28, 2026.

Not final until disposition of timely filed motion for rehearing.

No. 3D24-1000

Lower Tribunal No. 14-22252-CA-01

Homeowners Choice Property & Casualty Insurance

Company,

Appellant,

vs.

Sandra Moise,

Appellee.

An Appeal from the Circuit Court for Miami-Dade County, Migna Sanchez-Llorens, Judge.

Butler Weihmuller Katz Craig, LLP, and Mihaela Cabulea (Tampa), for appellant.

Alvarez, Feltman, Da Silva & Costa, P.L., and Paul B. Feltman, for appellee.

Before SCALES, C.J., and MILLER and BOKOR, JJ.

BOKOR, J.

After a verdict in favor of the insured, Homeowner’s Choice Property &

Casualty Insurance Company appeals the denial of its motion for summary

judgment on the issue of exclusion for damages under the insurance policy’s

earth movement and settlement provisions. The insured’s expert report

claimed damage to the property from vibrations “without displacement of the

earth.” The insured also provided deposition testimony that she felt vibrations

and shaking during the event caused by heavy construction equipment at

the adjacent property. The trial court denied summary judgment for the

insurer, concluding that the earth movement and settlement exclusions didn’t

encompass damages caused from vibrations without earth movement. For

the reasons that follow, we affirm the orders on review.

I

This appeal challenges a final judgment in favor of the insured in an

action for breach of a home insurance policy. The insurer provided coverage

for the home, located in Miami, Florida. The applicable policy, which became

effective May 8, 2013, provides that direct physical losses to the subject

property occurring within the policy period are covered except where

otherwise excluded. Relevant here, the policy excludes damages “caused

directly or indirectly by any of the following . . . regardless of any other cause

or event contributing concurrently or in any sequence to the loss,” including:

2

b. Earth Movement and Settlement, meaning:

(1) Earthquake, including land shock waves or tremors before,

during or after a volcanic eruption;

(2) Landslide;

(3) Mine subsidence;

(4) Mudflow or mudslide;

(5) Any other earth movement including “Sinkhole Loss”,

“Sinkhole Activity”, earth sinking, rising or shifting;

(6) Clay shrinkage or other expansion or contraction of soils or

organic materials;

(7) Decay of buried or organic materials;

(8) Settling, cracking or expansion of foundations;

(9) Erosion or movement resulting from improper compaction,

site selection or any other external forces[.]

The policy also excludes damages for losses “involving collapse” or caused

by “[s]ettling, shrinking, bulging or expansion, including resultant cracking, of

pavements, patios, foundations, walls, floors, roofs or ceilings.”

The insured brought the initial complaint on August 27, 2014, alleging

that the insurer failed to cover damages to the property that occurred on

March 1, 2014. Specifically, the insured claimed that the property incurred

cracking and related damage to the floors, walls and ceiling because of

vibrations from demolition activity at a neighboring house. In response to the

3

claim, the insurer commissioned an inspection from Bracken Engineering,

Inc., which inspected the property on May 6, 2014, and concluded that the

damages were caused by material shrinkage or settlement. The insurer’s

field adjuster also inspected the property on May 20, 2014, and denied the

insured’s claim on June 6, 2014, concluding that the damages were excluded

as being caused by material shrinkage or settlement rather than vibrations.

The operative third amended complaint stylized the claim as a

declaratory judgment action rather than a breach of contract claim, though

the complaint still sought “damages attributable to the Loss, if covered.” In

response, the insurer filed an answer and affirmative defenses, including

several defenses claiming that the insured failed to fulfill her post-loss

obligation to timely report the loss, protect the property, and provide records.

The insurer also claimed that the damages were excluded under the earth

movement and settlement provisions of the policy because they were caused

by cracking or settling of the foundations as a result of vibrations. The insurer

subsequently moved for summary judgment on its sixth and seventh

affirmative defenses, arguing that recovery was barred under the earth

movement and settlement exclusions.

In support of summary judgment, the insurer proffered reports and

deposition testimony from the insured’s expert, Alfredo Brizuela, who

4

inspected the property on July 24, 2014. Brizuela’s report concluded that the

damages were caused by “the vibration created by the impact of the heavy

construction equipment” at the adjacent property which “travelled through the

lime rock subsoil strata and induced vibrations into the property foundation

structure.” He also attested that the damages were caused by “vibrations

from the heavy machinery working in the vicinity of the property,” which

entered the frame of the property in the form of an energy wave and caused

it to resonate, damaging rigid wood and tile structures. In his affidavit

describing the report, Brizuela also clarified that the vibration was the sole

case of the damages and “[t]he vibrations damaged the property without

displacement of the earth.” (emphasis added). The insured had also testified

at her deposition that she was in the property during the demolition, felt

vibrations and observed picture frames shifting and shaking during the event,

and first noticed the damage on March 3, 2014, a few days after the

demolition next door. After a hearing, the court denied summary judgment

for the insurer on December 6, 2019, in a brief order that also found that

damage caused by “vibrations” was not among the exclusions under the

policy’s earth movement and settlement provisions.

Subsequently, the insured also moved for summary judgment as to the

five affirmative defenses relating to the alleged failure to comply with post5

loss obligations (affirmative defenses 2, 3, 4, 5, and 14), alleging that those

defenses were waived by denying coverage on the basis of the cause of the

damages. The insured’s motion also argued that several other affirmative

defenses predicated on different policy exclusions were inapplicable, relying

on additional deposition testimony and an affidavit from David Compton, the

president of Bracken Engineering, who testified that the cause of the

damages was soil movement in the foundations resulting from vibration. The

court granted summary judgment as to those defenses on January 10, 2020.

Prior to trial, the insured moved in limine to exclude all testimony

relating to both the post-loss obligations and “that vibration is an excluded

loss under the policy’s earth movement and settlement provision,” pursuant

to the court’s December 6, 2019 order finding that vibration was not an

excluded cause of loss. The court granted these motions. The case

ultimately proceeded to a jury trial from November 7–18, 2022, and the jury

returned a verdict finding that the damages were not excluded under the

policy. Final judgment was entered May 1, 2024. The insurer timely

appealed.

II

The insurer first claims that the trial court erred by denying summary

judgment under the earth movement and settlement provision, as well as

6

ruling that “vibrations” were not an excluded cause of loss and limiting

admission of related evidence at trial. We review the trial court’s summary

judgment order de novo. Fla. Bar v. Greene, 926 So. 2d 1195, 1200 (Fla.

2006). We review the trial court’s discretionary rulings on the motions in

limine for abuse of discretion. Patrick v. State, 104 So. 3d 1046, 1056 (Fla.

2012).

The insurer relies on Hernandez v. Citizens Property Insurance Corp.,

306 So. 3d 137, 138 (Fla. 3d DCA 2020), which affirmed summary judgment

for the insurer under a similar policy containing an earth movement provision

that excluded coverage for losses “caused directly or indirectly by any of the

following,” including “Earth sinking, rising or shifting” or “settling, cracking, or

expansion of foundations.” There though, the insurer’s engineer attested that

the damages were “caused by the off-site blasting vibrations [that] led to the

house shifting, resulting in cracks in walls and flooring.” Id. at 139. The losses

in Hernandez were unambiguously excluded under the plain terms of the

policy. Id.; see also State Farm Fire & Cas. Co. v. Castillo, 829 So. 2d 242,

247 (Fla. 3d DCA 2002) (“Castillo I”) (directing summary judgment for insurer

and finding that the earth movement and settlement provision at issue there

unambiguously excluded damages caused by earth movement resulting

from blasting); Castillo v. State Farm Florida Ins. Co., 971 So. 2d 820, 822–

7

23 (Fla. 3d DCA 2007) (“Castillo II”) (finding no exclusion under similar policy

that involved allegations that “vibrations and shockwaves caused by blasting

and without displacement of the earth resulted in damage to an insured

dwelling”). Here, relying on materially identical policy language and like

Castillo II, the insured’s expert opined that the damage was caused not by

earth movement, settling, or any other excluded cause, but by

“vibrations . . . without displacement of the earth.”

This court also dealt with a similar situation more recently in Tower Hill

Prime Insurance Co. v. Bermudez, 388 So. 3d 165 (Fla. 3d DCA 2023). In

Bermudez, this court affirmed the denial of the insurer’s motion for directed

verdict (the trial equivalent of summary judgment) where the insured’s expert

testified that the damage was caused by “land shock waves from blasting” at

a nearby quarry, not by soil or earth movement. Id. at 170. The court held

that the case presented a battle of the experts, and that a directed verdict in

favor of the insured was not appropriate where the jury could reasonably

have concluded that shock waves alone caused the damage. Id. at 171.

More recently, in Izquierdo v. Universal Insurance Co. of North

America, 429 So. 3d 1122, 1124 (Fla. 3d DCA 2026), this court reaffirmed

this principle and reversed summary judgment in favor of the insurer where

a factual dispute existed as to whether “the cracking damage was caused by

8

land shock waves, without attendant earth movement.” Under such

circumstances, like here, if a jury were to make such a finding, then “the

subject earth movement exclusion will not apply.” Id. Here, the parties

presented conflicting evidence, with the insurer’s expert indicating that the

damage was caused by material settlement or other preexisting conditions,

and the insured’s expert attesting that the damages were caused solely by

vibration.

The insurer next argues that notwithstanding the summary judgment

ruling, the trial court reversibly erred in granting a motion in limine limiting

the presentation of evidence at trial related to vibration, effectively precluding

the insurer from arguing the applicability of the earth movement and

settlement provision at all. However, this overstates the impact of the court’s

ruling. The court’s ruling only held that “vibration,” specifically, was not

among the exclusions, and the court did not limit other evidence relating to

the earth movement provision generally. Moreover, the insurer’s position

throughout the case was not that vibration did not occur at all, but that soil

settlement was the cause of loss, rather than vibrations alone. The insurer’s

expert, Mr. Compton, testified to this effect at trial as the insurer’s only expert

witness, agreeing that vibration occurred but that “vibration did not cause this

damage.” Other than identifying a possibly overbroad ruling in limine, the

9

insurer does not identify either how its defense was limited or any evidence

or testimony it was unable to present because of these rulings. Even if the

court erred in limiting hypothetically relevant evidence or testimony, it does

not appear that the insurer was prejudiced by such exclusion. And an error

is harmless when there is no reasonable possibility it contributed to the

verdict. See, e.g., Special v. W. Boca Med. Ctr., 160 So. 3d 1251, 1256 (Fla.

2014).

The insurer then argues that the court improperly granted partial

summary judgment as to the affirmative defenses relating to the post-loss

obligations. But “[a]n insurer’s repudiation of coverage waives the insurer’s

right to insist upon the insured’s compliance with policy conditions, such as

filing a proof of loss.” Goldberg v. Universal Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co., 302 So.

3d 919, 925 (Fla. 4th DCA 2020) (“Here, by failing to pay any amount for the

personal property loss, Universal effectively denied coverage for that loss.

Such a denial of coverage waives the insurer’s right to insist upon the

insured’s compliance with policy conditions, such as submitting

supplemental claims.”). The parties do not dispute that the damages

occurred on March 1, 2014, that the insured made the claim and submitted

proofs of loss on April 22, 2014, that the insurer inspected the property on

May 6, 2014, and that the insurer denied the claim on June 6, 2014. While

10

the denial letter indicated that there was additional documentation not

received, the letter was a “declination of coverage” based on a substantive

determination that specifically indicated that “there is no coverage for the

cracking/settlement damage because the causes for the damage determined

by Bracken are specifically excluded under your policy,” citing both the earth

movement and settlement provision and separate provisions for preexisting

damages and regular wear and tear.

The denial letter included an additional section indicating that the

insured had not yet received all requested documentation from the insured,

as well as boilerplate language indicating that the insured does not intend to

waive any of its rights under the policy; however, even that disclaimer

language specifically described the letter as a “declination of coverage.” The

inclusion of this language referencing the post-loss obligations and

reservation of rights was likely not sufficient to avoid a finding of waiver for

denying the claim. See, e.g., Castro v. Homeowners Choice Prop. & Cas.

Ins. Co., 228 So. 3d 596, 599 (Fla. 2d DCA 2017) (“When an insurance

carrier investigates a claim of loss and denies coverage because it concludes

that a covered loss has not occurred, the insurance carrier cannot assert the

insured’s failure to comply with the policy’s conditions precedent to filing suit

as a basis for summary judgment.”).

11

Finally, we note that the court did not err by awarding money damages

in the judgment. The insurer claims that because the third amended

complaint was stylized as a declaratory judgment action, the trial court

improperly granted relief not requested by the parties by also awarding the

insured the $240,000 in damages found by the jury verdict, plus prejudgment

interest. However, as the insured notes, the complaint here also claims that

the insurer improperly denied coverage and requests money damages

“attributable to the Loss, if covered.” Moreover, “[a] money judgment may be

obtained for damages sought as incidental or supplemental relief pursuant

to a declaratory decree.” McAllister v. Breakers Seville Ass’n, Inc., 41 So. 3d

405, 408 (Fla. 4th DCA 2010) (quotation omitted); see also § 86.061, Fla.

Stat. (“Further relief based on a declaratory judgment may be granted when

necessary or proper.”). Because monetary damages were sought in the

operative complaint, we affirm this aspect of the judgment as well.

III

For the reasons explained above, we affirm the orders on appeal in

all respects.

Affirmed.

12