LAW.coLAW.co

Pepper Source, Ltd.; And Summit Consulting, LLC v. Gregory Roberson

2026-10-28

Authorities cited

No cited authorities resolved to law.co cases yet.

Opinion

majority opinion

Cite as 2026 Ark. App. 511

ARKANSAS COURT OF APPEALS

DIVISION III

No. CV-25-762

PEPPER SOURCE, LTD.; AND SUMMIT Opinion Delivered October 28, 2026

CONSULTING, LLC

APPEAL FROM THE ARKANSAS

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

COMMISSION

APPELLANTS

[NO. H304672]

V.

GREGORY ROBERSON

APPELLEE AFFIRMED

STEPHANIE POTTER BARRETT, Judge

Appellants, Pepper Source, Ltd.; and Summit Consulting, LLC, appeal the Arkansas

Workers’ Compensation Commission’s decision awarding appellee Gregory Roberson’s

attorney a controverted attorney’s fee. On appeal, appellants challenge the Commission’s

award of an attorney’s fee on temporary total-disability benefits paid beginning February 24,

2025. We affirm.

On July 14, 2022, appellee was injured while working for appellants when he was

pinned between two totes that weighed approximately 160 to 200 pounds. He experienced

pain in his mid-back, shoulder area, chest, and neck. The parties stipulated that appellee

suffered a compensable injury to his right shoulder in the incident.

Appellee was taken to Baptist Health where he was diagnosed with multiple injuries

including crush injuries to his right arm, chest, and right hand as well as abrasions to his

back and an abdominal injury. On July 27, 2022, he was evaluated by Cynthia Johnson,

APRN, who diagnosed right-shoulder pain and strain; abrasions and contusion to his thorax;

cervical pain; and sprains of his thoracic and lumbar spine.

Johnson initially treated appellee with physical therapy. When his symptoms

persisted, she ordered MRIs of his thoracic and lumbar spine. The August 2022 MRIs

revealed disc protrusions and bulges, prompting Johnson to refer appellee to Dr. Frank

Tomecek for a neurosurgical evaluation. Dr. Tomecek evaluated appellee in October 2022

and noted a small L4–5 disc herniation, thoracic disc protrusions at T5–6 and T8–9, and

disc bulges at T2–3 and T3–4. He recommended additional physical therapy and an L4–5

injection with Dr. Goodman.

Appellee initially improved with physical therapy and an injection, and Dr. Tomecek

released him to work without restrictions in December 2022. Appellee later reported

increased right-shoulder and upper-extremity pain, prompting further evaluation of his

cervical spine. A July 2023 MRI revealed a small disc protrusion at C3–4 and mild disc bulges

at C5–6 and C6–7. After additional physical therapy, Dr. Tomecek again found appellee at

maximum medical improvement and released him to work without restrictions in October

2023.

Appellants accepted appellee’s right-shoulder injury and provided treatment for his

spinal complaints but ultimately denied compensability of the alleged neck and back injuries.

2

Appellee sought a determination of compensability, and a hearing was held before an

administrative law judge (“ALJ”) on February 12, 2024. At that time, appellee continued to

work, and no indemnity benefits were at issue. Appellee sought a determination of

compensability so that he could exercise his right to a change of physician but acknowledged

that the change-of-physician issue could not yet be determined. The ALJ found that appellee

proved compensable thoracic- and lumbar-spine injuries but failed to prove a compensable

cervical-spine injury. The ALJ’s decision was not appealed and became final.

Appellee later underwent surgery for his compensable back injury and was unable to

work during his recovery. Appellants began paying him temporary total-disability benefits on

February 24, 2025. Appellee’s attorney requested an attorney’s fee on those benefits, which

appellants declined to pay. A dispute therefore arose over whether appellee’s attorney was

entitled to a fee as a result of appellants’ earlier controversion of the compensability of his

back injury.

A hearing was held on June 30, 2025, on the attorney’s-fee issue. The parties

stipulated that appellee earned an average weekly wage of $1,070, entitling him to

compensation at the rates of $713 for total disability benefits and $535 for permanent partialdisability benefits. The ALJ found that appellants’ controversion of appellee’s back injury

also controverted the temporary total-disability benefits that later arose from that injury and

awarded appellee’s attorney a fee on those benefits.

Appellants timely appealed the ALJ opinion to the Commission, arguing that

appellee’s attorney was not entitled to a controverted attorney’s fee on the temporary total3

disability benefits. On October 8, 2025, the Commission affirmed and adopted the ALJ’s

July 22, 2025, decision. This appeal followed.

This court views the evidence in the light most favorable to the Commission’s

decision and affirms the decision if it is supported by substantial evidence. Baxter Reg’l Med.

Ctr. v. Ferris, 2018 Ark. App. 625, at 3, 565 S.W.3d 149, 152 (citing Pratt v. Rheem Mfg., 2013

Ark. App. 577). Substantial evidence exists if reasonable minds could reach the

Commission’s conclusion. Id. Normally, we review only the decision of the Commission, not

that of the ALJ. Id. (citing Queen v. Nortel Networks, Inc., 2012 Ark. App. 188, at 3). When,

however, as here, the Commission affirms and adopts the ALJ’s opinion, thereby making the

findings and conclusions of the ALJ the Commission’s findings and conclusions, this court

considers both the ALJ’s opinion and the Commission’s opinion. Id. (citing Mercy Hosp. Fort

Smith v. Hendley, 2015 Ark. App. 527, at 1).

Appellants argue that the Commission erred in awarding appellee’s attorney a fee on

the temporary total-disability benefits paid beginning on February 24, 2025.

Arkansas Code Annotated section 11-9-715(a)(2)(B)(i) (Repl. 2025) provides that

whenever the Commission finds that a claim has been controverted, in whole or in part, it

shall direct that fees for legal services be paid to the claimant’s attorney. Section 11-9-715(a)(2)(B)(ii) further provides that “[t]he fees shall be allowed only on the amount of

compensation for indemnity benefits controverted and awarded.”

Appellants first contend that the Commission misconstrued the term “claim” in

section 11-9-715. They maintain that a claim refers to a particular benefit rather than the

4

workers’-compensation matter as a whole and, therefore, that their controversion of

compensability did not constitute controversion of appellee’s later temporary total-disability

benefits. In support of their interpretation, appellants rely on other provisions of the

Workers’ Compensation Act and cases interpreting those provisions in which the term

“claim” refers to a request for a particular benefit.

However, the Act does not define “claim” for purposes of section 11-9-715, and the

authorities relied on by appellants do not interpret the term in the context of the attorney’sfee statute. Rather, those cases concern claims for purposes of the statute of limitations

under section 11-9-702. Thus, those authorities do not establish that a “claim” under section

11-9-715 means a request for a particular benefit.

Appellants next argue that, regardless of the meaning of “claim,” appellee’s temporary

total-disability benefits were never controverted. They assert that no indemnity benefits were

at issue during the 2024 compensability proceeding and that appellee was not then seeking

any specific benefits. When appellee later became entitled to temporary total-disability

benefits, appellants contend that they began paying those benefits before appellee requested

them. Therefore, appellants assert that the benefits were neither controverted nor awarded

as required by Arkansas Code Annotated section 11-9-715(a)(2)(B)(ii).

Whether a claim has been controverted is a question of fact for the Commission,

whose determination will not be disturbed if supported by substantial evidence. See Irons v.

Minton, 10 Ark. App. 38, 39, 661 S.W.2d 408, 409 (1983). The Commission may find that

benefits were controverted despite the employer’s subsequent voluntary payment. See, e.g., id.

5

In Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. v. Brown, the employer controverted temporary partialdisability benefits but voluntarily paid them before the hearing. 73 Ark. App. 174, 176, 40

S.W.3d 835, 837 (2001). This court affirmed the attorney’s-fee award, holding that the

statute does not require an award of controverted benefits to precede their payment. Id.

Similarly, in Cleek v. Great Southern Metals, the Arkansas Supreme Court recognized that a

claimant’s successful litigation of liability protected her entitlement to future medical

expenses and disability benefits because, had she not prevailed on liability, those future

benefits would have been barred. 335 Ark. 342, 345, 981 S.W.2d 529, 531 (1998). Although

Cleek predates the 2001 amendment to section 11-9-715, appellants acknowledge that its

reasoning remains applicable under the current statute. Id. They contend, however, that

Cleek is distinguishable because the benefits at issue there already existed when controverted.

Id.

Here, although appellants did not separately controvert appellee’s temporary totaldisability benefits, they controverted the compensability of his back injury. Appellee had to

litigate the compensability of his back injury before appellants could be held liable for

benefits arising from that injury. His temporary total-disability benefits subsequently arose

from the compensable back injury and resulting surgery. Thus, appellants’ voluntary

payment of those benefits does not negate the Commission’s finding that they had been

controverted. Accordingly, substantial evidence supports the Commission’s finding that the

temporary total-disability benefits were controverted.

6

Appellants further argue that the Commission’s decision rests on speculation that the

earlier denial of compensability necessarily controverted any future indemnity benefits

arising from appellee’s back injury. They also contend that no indemnity benefits existed or

were sought at the time of the 2024 proceeding. According to appellants, treating the earlier

compensability dispute as a controversion of all future indemnity benefits improperly

expands section 11-9-715 and could result in attorney’s fees on benefits arising long after

compensability is established.

This argument misconstrues the Commission’s decision. The Commission did not

award an attorney’s fee on hypothetical or unaccrued benefits. Rather, it awarded a fee on

the temporary total-disability benefits actually paid beginning February 24, 2025. Thus, the

concerns raised by appellants regarding unknown or unaccrued future benefits are not

presented by the facts of this case.

Finally, appellants argue that the attorney’s-fee award is inconsistent with the purpose

of section 11-9-715 because appellee’s attorney performed no services to obtain temporary

total-disability benefits. Although appellants acknowledge that their denial of compensability

necessitated the 2024 hearing, they contend that the subsequent attorney’s-fee proceeding

was separate and unnecessary because they voluntarily paid the temporary total-disability

benefits. Appellants further maintain that allowing a fee on future indemnity benefits under

these circumstances could result in fees disproportionate to the legal services performed.

One of the purposes of the statute and case law is to put the economic burden of

litigation on the party that makes litigation necessary by controverting the claim. Taylor v.

7

Hino Motors Mfg. U.S.A., Inc., 2025 Ark. App. 405, at 18 (citing Harvest Foods v. Washam, 52

Ark. App. 72, 80, 914 S.W.2d 776, 780–81 (1996); Prier Brass v. Weller, 23 Ark. App. 193,

745 S.W.2d 647 (1988)). A maxim of workers’-compensation law is that when the

Commission finds that a case has been controverted, in whole or in part, the Commission

shall direct the payment of legal fees by the employer or carrier in addition to the

compensation awarded. Id. (citing Ark. Code Ann. § 11-9-715(a)(2)(B)(i)).

Here, appellants’ argument focuses on the absence of additional legal services

performed in connection with the payment of temporary total-disability benefits. However,

appellants’ denial of compensability required appellee to obtain counsel and litigate the

compensability of his back injury. Had appellee not prevailed in that litigation, he would not

have been entitled to temporary total-disability benefits arising from his subsequent back

surgery. Thus, although appellants voluntarily paid those benefits, appellee’s attorney had

already performed the legal work necessary to establish compensability of the back injury

from which those benefits arose.

Appellants’ argument that the fee could be disproportionate to the services performed

likewise does not warrant reversal. Arkansas Code Annotated section 11-9-715(a)(1)(B)

provides that “[a]ttorney’s fees shall be twenty-five percent (25%) of compensation for

indemnity benefits payable to the injured employee or dependents of a deceased employee.

Attorney’s fees shall not be awarded on medical benefits or services except as provided in

subdivision (a)(4) of this section.” The statute does not require consideration of the amount

of legal services performed in calculating a fee on a controverted claim.

8

Accordingly, substantial evidence supports the Commission’s decision to award an

attorney’s fee on appellee’s temporary total-disability benefits.

Affirmed.

ABRAMSON and MURPHY, JJ., agree.

Jason M. Ryburn, for appellants.

Walker Law Group, PLC, by: Eddie H. Walker, Jr., for appellee.

9