LAW.coLAW.co

JOE DOMICH v. OLIVER IRON MINING COMPANY

Minnesota Supreme Court1927-11-04No. No. 26,264
172 Minn. 521

Summary

Holding. The court affirmed the commission's denial of the application for rehearing because no clear abuse of discretion appeared. The commission acted within its discretionary authority in refusing to set aside the award and grant a new hearing based on evidence of subsequent mental illness.

Joe Domich, a miner, was injured when his head and shoulder struck something in a cage while being transported from an underground mine in August 1923. A referee awarded him compensation for temporary disability through November 1923, finding he had fully recovered. More than two years later, in March 1926, Domich was committed to a psychiatric hospital after being adjudged insane. His wife then requested a new hearing, arguing that the accident had caused brain damage leading to his mental illness. She submitted affidavits from acquaintances describing his personality changes and medical affidavits suggesting the accident may have triggered a latent syphilitic condition that progressed to general paresis. However, the original hearing record included medical testimony from the referee's appointed neutral physician, who had thoroughly examined Domich and concluded his ailments stemmed from syphilitic infection, not the workplace injury, and would worsen regardless of the accident. The industrial commission denied the application for rehearing, and the claimant sought review by writ of certiorari.

Summary generated by law.co from the public-domain opinion. The opinion text itself is public domain.

Key issues

  • Whether an injury can be deemed to have caused later-developing mental illness when intervening medical evidence attributes the condition to pre-existing disease
  • Standard of review for industrial commission decisions on applications for rehearing
  • Burden of presenting new evidence sufficient to warrant reconsideration of a compensation award

Procedural posture

The claimant sought certiorari to review the industrial commission's order denying an application for rehearing on a workers' compensation claim.

Authorities cited

No cited authorities resolved to law.co cases yet.

Opinion

majority opinion

Taylor, C.

Certiorari to review an order of the industrial commission denying an application for a rehearing on the claim of Joe Domich for compensation under the workmen’s compensation law.

Granting a rehearing or new hearing rests in the discretion of the commission, and its action is final unless an abuse of discretion clearly appears. Stippel v. Charles Friend & Son, 161 Minn. 471, 201 N. W. 934; Zeglin v. Yost, 163 Minn. 264, 203 N. W. 963; Walker v. Minnesota Steel Co. 167 Minn. 475, 209 N. W. 635; Smith v. Independent Silo Co. 169 Minn. 96, 210 N. W. 624; Kallgren v. C. W. Lunquist Co. supra, p. 489.

Domich was a miner working in an underground mine of defendant. At the close of work on August 28, 1923, Domich and other miners were carried to the surface in a cage on wheels which was drawn along an inclined shaft. They were in darkness on the way out and no one seems to know what happened, but Domich’s head and right shoulder came in contact with something with such force that he ivas thrown to the floor of the cage and rendered unconscious for a few minutes. In May, 1924, he made a claim for compensation which Avas heard before a referee on July 29, 1924. Further testimony was taken on September 23 and 25, 1924. The referee avrarded compensation for temporary disability from August 28, 1923, to November 5, 1923, and found that Domich had fully reC0ATered from his injuries on the latter date.

In March, 1926, Domich was adjudged insane and committed to the hospital for the insane at Fergus Falls. Thereafter his wife made this application to set aside the aAvard and for a neiv hearing, claiming that the injury had affected her husband’s brain and that his insanity resulted therefrom. She presented affidavits of his friends and associates to the effect that before the accident he had been unusually strong, vigorous, cheerful and sociable; and that after the accident he lost strength and Aveight, and became weak, dull, sullen, irritable and given to delusions. She also presented an affidavit of the doctor attending him at the hospital at Fergus Falls, Avho stated that Domich was suffering from a chronic syphilitic infection and from a mental disease knoAvn as general paresis which in the doctor’s opinion was due to the syphilitic infection. This doctor makes no reference to the accident or the injuries sustained therein. She also presented the affidavit of another doctor Avho, so far as appears, had never seen Domich, but AAdio says that he has read the transcript of the testimony in the case and has examined the affidavits submitted and from the information thus obtained is of opinion that Domich at the time of the accident was suffering from latent syphilis and that “an exacerbation of his syphilitic infection resulted” from the accident which in turn led to the insanity. The matters above recited constitute the shoAving for a neAv hearing.

The original hearing Avas not concluded until more than a year after the accident, and Domich’s condition as shown by the affidavits above mentioned Avas knoivn and considered at that time. He insisted that he was still disabled as a result of the injury. That he was far from normal Avas apparent, but whether his condition re- suited from the injury or from other causes was the question. One of the doctors who attended him for the injury and had observed him thereafter stated that Domich exhibited “a very high degree of neurosis, close to psychosisthat in his opinion this condition resulted from an infection; and that Domich had diseased teeth and tonsils which might have caused the infection. The referee appointed a neutral physician to make an examination of Domich. This doctor seems to have made a very thorough and complete examination. He testified that Domich was suffering from syphilis; that the condition of Domich indicated the beginning of locomotor ataxia brought about by syphilitic infection; and that the ailments of which Domich complained were all accounted for by the infection and in his opinion were not referable to the injury. He also stated that the condition of Domich would grow progressively worse and would develop irrespective of the injury. The referee, after finding that Domich had fully recovered from the effects of his accidental injuries, on November 5, 1928, further found:

“That whatever disability said employe has suffered from since said date is in no way connected with or due to said accidental injuries or caused by or aggravated by his employment and are due to causes foreign thereto and in the nature of disease.”

There was no appeal from the referee’s decision. We find no ground for questioning the action of the commission in denying a new hearing. There was no abuse of discretion, and the order is affirmed.